• PG-13, 1 hr. 35 min.
  • Drama, Romance, Comedy
  • Directed By:    Marc Webb
  • In Theaters:    Jul 17, 2009 Wide
  • On DVD:    Dec 22, 2009
  • Fox Searchlight Pictures

500 Days of Summer Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
July 16, 2009

For all its ambitiousness, (500) Days of Summer feels synthetic and derivative, a movie that's popping with perceptions while searching for a style.

Paul Chambers
CNNRadio
February 10, 2010

Gimmicky love story that's not saved by its bittersweet ending. Acting is more than just cooing with your eyes. It seemed like 500 days allright. Paul Chambers, CNN.

Full Review | Original Score: C-
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 25, 2009

The couple's fluctuations between amorous rapture and wounding are matched by the film's own seesaw of poignancy and irritation

Tony Macklin
Bright Lights Film Journal
August 12, 2009

The independent film 500 Days of Summer is as refreshing as hot air. It's as formulaic and calculating as the Hallmark greeting cards to which it feigns superiority.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
July 24, 2009

Watching (500) Days of Summer feels like being forced to sit still while someone you can't stand tries very hard to charm you.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Karina Longworth
SpoutBlog
September 3, 2009

The Fox Searchlight house style perfected and taken to the brink of self-parody.

Jason Di Rosso
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
September 17, 2009

500 Days of Summer never quite convinces, despite the charm of the leads. This is wannabe indie, and these two Hollywood names are too 'big' to play beautiful nobodies navigating a heart-wrenching misunderstanding.

Robert Davis
Paste Magazine
July 16, 2009

The film bounces between the relationship's winning uplslope and its mopey descent, and the intercutting eventually kills the momentum, even though the film's rousing final minute reclaims some of the early spunk.

Full Review | Original Score: 51/100
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
July 16, 2009

Grazes on the fields of Gen-Y trends and '80's nostalgia to fatten itself to such a degree, it would be impossible to notice the material is only a few menopausal jokes away from your average Nora Ephron film.

Full Review | Original Score: C-
Richard Brody
New Yorker
Top Critic
February 10, 2014

Forcedly cute, clumsily mechanical, overdetermined, and undernourished, this ostensibly soulful romance is a plastic void.

Hannah Forbes Black
Film4
September 4, 2009

A new take on romantic comedy that doesn't quite live up to its ambitions.

Mike Ward
Richmond.com
July 31, 2009

Sometimes love is a battlefield; but in (500) Days of Summer it's a pillow fight in which the Posturepedic puffballs have more personality than the protagonists.

| Original Score: 2/4
Anthony Quinn
Independent
September 4, 2009

I've read somewhere that (500) Days of Summer is being called the Annie Hall de nos jours; that's a slur on a great movie, not to say on nos jours.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jeremy Heilman
MovieMartyr.com
July 19, 2009

Every moment of this sub-Annie Hall routine confounds not only audience expectation of a balanced feminine perspective but the very notion of romance itself.

Full Review | Original Score: 44/100
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
August 20, 2009

Awkward offbeat summer to autumn romance.

Full Review | Original Score: C+
Rubin Safaya
Cinemalogue.com
December 6, 2009

The film revels in the hip witticisms that swim mostly inside a writer's head but never come forth in the real world with the timing and execution seen here.

Full Review | Original Score: D+
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
July 21, 2012

Tom and Summer may not be the most emotionally stable people on the planet, and if they were my friends, I'd have little sympathy for them.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Richard Corliss
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
July 17, 2009

I guess maybe I'm not Tom but Summer. I like your looks, and heaven knows I appreciate the energy you put into wooing me, but I don't want us to be a couple.

Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
July 24, 2009

I feel for Tom, I commiserate with him for his tragedy but, for me, 300 days of Summer would have been more than sufficient.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies
July 26, 2009

The film seems constructed to short-circuit your attempts to invest anything in it.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 11