The Caller Reviews

Page 1 of 13
Super Reviewer
February 3, 2015
A movie that tries to be too much! A frustrating but interesting moviem that doesn't leave you with answer. You are left thinking 'what on earth was happening! '
Super Reviewer
April 4, 2014
Enjoyed this. Really quite creepy. Rachelle is actually a better actress than i gave her credit for. She is very convincing as a recently divorced woman who has started over and starts to receive strange phone calls from a woman named Rose who may, or may not be from the past.
Rose was also surprisingly menacing for a character you only see briefly in this, who sounds like a sweet old lady.
Very interesting idea for a horror. One of the better ones I have seen in quite some time.
Super Reviewer
½ May 4, 2013
two and a half stars
Super Reviewer
September 18, 2011
Well, I watched it all. At first it seemed like an interesting premise, but then things just seemed to get more and more "out there". I feel like I just watched an episode of Twilight Zone....Rachelle Lefevre, Stephen Moyer, and Ed Quinn were good, but good actors aren't always enough. Not a terrible movie, just ok..
Super Reviewer
½ September 17, 2011
Cast: Stephen Moyer, Rachelle Lefevre, Luis Guzmán, Ed Quinn, Lorna Raver, Gladys Rodríguez, Alfredo De Quesada, Brian Tester, Grace Connelly

Director: Matthew Parkhill

Summary: This spooky thriller tracks the private nightmare of Mary Kee, a divorcée who begins receiving disturbing telephone calls from a woman she doesn't know. After engaging the stranger initially, Mary tries to extricate herself -- with horrific results.

My Thoughts: *throwing hands up in the air stomping feet*

"I don't know how I tend to keep on picking such craptastic films. A scary film is not suppose to PUT YOU TO SLEEP! Where are the good old scary films gone? Doesn't anyone put any effort into these films anymore?
OK. So this may have a few spoilers.
I don't understand the ending what so ever. Why didn't Rose kill the younger Mary Kee in the past instead of coming to the future to kill the grown up Mary Kee? How come Mary Kee never called the cops on her ex who was obviously not abiding by the restraining order? It is just a mess of a movie that made not whole lot of sense and that took too damn long to get anywhere. Definitely skip this one."
Super Reviewer
½ September 18, 2011
If you liked Frequency and/or Stir of Echoes but wished that the plots could be in the same movie AND...wait for it.... be produced and shown on Lifetime, then this is your film. Nothing beats (lol) domestic abuse. Red Box it baby! For $1 I wasn't too disappointed.
Super Reviewer
½ March 7, 2013
Decent horror thriller. When a young, recently divorced woman called Mary moves into a new apartment to start a new life it isn't just her stalker-ish ex-husband she needs to be scared of. Not long after moving in, the woman gets a call from what seems like a wrong number at first but the more Mary talks to the lady on the other line she realises this woman appears to be calling from the past. This sets up a chain of events and Mary has to start questioning everything/everyone around her. An interesting film with a good twist to, The Caller is well worth a look.
Super Reviewer
May 14, 2012
It doesn't really make any sense and it's really not scary either. There were no redemptive qualities to it.
Super Reviewer
½ September 17, 2011
"The Caller" has an interesting premise, though it is not unique, it manage to be intense and spooky at times. It is a slow burning movie where there is not one boring moments and It is thoroughly engrossing and thrilling.
½ October 19, 2012
Better than I expected. I didn't know where the story was going. It's not considered horror, but there was enough to make it horror in my opinion.
½ July 10, 2012
The Caller initially sounds like one of the most tired plots in horror film history, a plot that has been rehashed from Black Christmas through When a Stranger Calls to Scream, but The Caller diverges almost immediately from its set-up to create a surprising, well-made and well-acted film that explores the traumas that connect two women.
½ August 6, 2012
Confusing movie but creepy. Good cinematography but couldn't understand it clearly. The script needed more work.
July 15, 2012
Basically, the writer of this film decided it was a good idea to create some stupid hybrid of Frequency and your typical teen slasher flick. It just doesn't work. It comes across as nothing more than a second-rate ripoff, which is too bad considering there are some great actors in the cast. I couldn't sit through all of this.
January 22, 2012
Pretty decent little VOD movie. Worth the dollar from netflix....or at least an illegal torrent download.
January 14, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. It was suspenseful, creepy, crazy, heartbreaking...just so good. Very interesting premise. I kept trying to think of how it was going to end and kept coming up blank. Rachelle Lefevre was perfect in this role, never overacting the scenes. I believed her performance. Stephen Moyer impressed me here as well, as I tend to find that he falls flat on movies done outside of True Blood. Great movie
Super Reviewer
November 21, 2011
I didn't expect to like this movie 1 bit after reading what it was about.After watching other movies just like it, I thought it would be like all the rest but The Caller was interesting & I was hooked on finding out what was gonna happen next.I also loved the ending because I was hoping it was gonna happen but I really didn't think it actually would
½ November 6, 2011
So the vampires of Twilight and True Blood get together and talk about time travel. Ok so this kind of movie isn't unique. Frequency did it as a thriller then Lake House came along and made it as a romance. This time around a very cool concept is made into another thriller but more of a horror style. Some great character drama with amazing build up. I have watched a lot of horror films. Where the genre has gone has gotten me jaded with a lot of the torture porn. Now I consider Saw to be on the excellent side of that sub-genre, I easily put Hostel on the bad side of it. This is refreshingly not one of these kind. While being fairly solid throughout the entire movie it isn't until the last third when the movie really takes off. The final confrontation is especially well delivered and scary. Overall, The Caller is a good supernatural thriller with some genuinely creepy moments. I can understand if you kind of get turned off by the trailer since it does look cheap and poorly executed. Don't. It's worth giving a chance. It takes a while to really get interesting but it ultimately does have some good moves.
October 8, 2015
The Caller is film I wanted to rate higher since I liked the premise, the setting, and found the female lead to play a sympathetic character. I did not have any problem following the plot points, and was going to rate the film up, but it unraveled as it approached the end. The ending was disappointing and what I would consider a deus ex machina. But all-in-all, The Caller was a decent film (and more thriller than horror).
June 11, 2015
It has twists, unfortunately they're almost all substantially weak.
Page 1 of 13