Superheroes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Superheroes Reviews

Page 2 of 2
½ January 4, 2016
Humorous and well-rounded. More about the problems of the world ... that lead to the necessity for these [superheroes] to pop up
½ June 22, 2014
Really seems to go nowhere... seems to suggest the people that spend their time fighting crime as superheroes are interesting characters, but the movie never seems to achieve that depth with its characters (and to be honest, whenever that depth is approached I would get uneasy that the individual had mental health issues)
June 20, 2014
This was an interesting look at people around the country (and in Canada) who dress up in costume not to "play" superheroes, but to actually be superheroes. They don't have any super powers, but for the most part they work to make life better for the people around them. They have mixed motives and, sometimes, foul language, but are intriguing nonetheless.
½ June 13, 2014
Mike Barnett's humorous documentary is biased, but the way we're introduced to these people as somewhat silly to leave them with the impression that under their costumes they are just compassionate people wanting to make a difference is truly uplifting.
½ June 11, 2014
Interesting idea, but I really wanted to see some of these guys try and fight some crime.
June 10, 2014
really interesting documentary
½ May 11, 2014
Loner people caring for others while dressed in cosplay. Could have been interesting and heartfelt. But seeing as nothing ever happens, it's my theory the filmmakers were also bored with their subject(s).
April 21, 2013
Very funny and also touching; Barnett does a good job portraying his subjects in an unbiased light, and they come across as very weird people with some questionable methods, but also sincere, likeable people who clearly have a passion for what they're doing.
Super Reviewer
½ January 27, 2013
It's quite an interesting documentary about people who dress up as superheroes to "protect the innocents". I think despite their attempts at trying to be cool and do something for the society, they should really take care of themselves first. Don't let larping goes out of control! I liked the editing of the film, the use of narration and comic sans were quite well done. It's both entertaining and insightful, highly recommended to be watched for a good laugh.
December 1, 2012
More talk than heroism going on here.
November 25, 2012
they might not be the best and the brightest, but they do what they can to help people
September 20, 2012
"The world is a dangerous place to live, not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it"


I enjoyed this movie as a super hero fan and some one who strongly dose not trust the corrupted cop force. It was nice to see people (some do seem crazy) trying to make a difference in this messed up world....a must see

BUY
September 15, 2012
schräg, aber wir brauchen sie :*)
August 31, 2012
A documentary about people who dress up and patrol the streets "for real". A well-meaning bunch, most of whom have psychological problems. Funny in places, but a bit worrying in others.
July 25, 2012
Superheroes is an interesting documentary on real-life people who genuinely consider themselves super-heroes. However, one simple cannot shake the feeling that the director and the editor are having a laugh at the expense of the "superheroes", which is not necessarily a bad thing. As a result, the documentary becomes a comedy more than anything, and a good comedy at that. The characters are cringe-worthy and definitely need professional help. This is very much like Kick-ass, minus the entertainment, and replaced with awkwardness and cringe-worthiness.
½ July 23, 2012
At times I disliked both the police' and superhero's perspectives. However, it was pretty interesting to see people who live like superheros.
July 11, 2012
Interesting and sad, so very sad.
½ June 24, 2012
That's it decided, if the motor trade doesn't work out i'm going to America to be a real life superhero....
June 5, 2012
You will feel like curling up into an embarrassed little ball at the beginning, but you will be cheering the heroes of the film on by the end and looking at your own life wondering if maybe you're doing all you can for your fellow man.

As a documentary you might be more expecting the shaky cam of such films as Cloverfield and Chronicle but as it's not fiction it's direction is actually steady and accomplished and exceptionally processional.

The subject matter is handled with honesty and dignity, and it's a fine line with some of the characters that never gets crossed into demeaning the real life superheroes. At first they do seem a little sad and pathetic, but this is never the emphasis of the direction. The genuine selflessness of the people in the film is ALWAYS evident and their desire to help is not just heart warming but strangely compelling, again this is never the emphasis of the direction but that's a testimony Mike Barnett who maintains a professional stance throughout.

It's a good, solidly made documentary and the perfect antidote to all the horror on TV these days.

Now where's my cape?
May 14, 2012
A well made documentary about real-life superheroes.
Page 2 of 2