Opening

43% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
48% The Quiet Ones Apr 25
90% Locke Apr 25
79% The Machine Apr 25

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $25.6M
51% Heaven Is for Real $22.5M
47% Rio 2 $22.2M
19% Transcendence $10.9M
9% A Haunted House 2 $8.8M
62% Draft Day $5.7M
40% Divergent $5.6M
71% Oculus $5.2M
77% Noah $5.0M
89% Bears $4.8M

Coming Soon

75% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
—— Walk Of Shame May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16
—— X-Men: Days of Future Past May 23

New Episodes Tonight

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
—— The Middle: Season 5
36% Mixology: Season 1
83% Modern Family: Season 5
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Suburgatory: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

77% About a Boy: Season 1
—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Chicago Fire: Season 2
—— Faking It: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
40% Glee: Season 5
36% Growing Up Fisher: Season 1
86% Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 1
80% The Mindy Project: Season 2
56% The Originals: Season 1
100% Supernatural: Season 9

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
86% Mad Men: Season 7
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

Silent Night Reviews

Page 1 of 9
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

May 30, 2013
The remake of Silent Night, Deadly Night is a much darker update of the 1984 controversial classic Slasher film. Although at times the dialogue is a bit cheesy and awkward, the kill sequences are purely nasty and make up for the so-so dialogue. Let's face it, Slasher films are not known for great script writing, but they deliver in great kill scenes, most certainly gives genre fans enough gory kills to satisfy the most demanding genre fans. The original film was quite good for what it was and it was a much underrated film. However by today's standards, it's quite cheesy and it looks dated. With this remake, the filmmakers deliver a gory thrill ride that is one of the better Slasher remakes since My Bloody Valentine 3D. This is only a film for genre fans. Go into this film expecting a mindless splatter film, and that's what you'll get. Like I said, the gore is standout and it more than makes up for the lack of story, which is decent, but the filmmakers could have been reworked because killers in Slasher films usually have a motive for their spree. This Santa doesn't seem to have a motive, and it would have been interesting to develop a more in depth story to the character. I recommend this film for any horror fan looking for a Slasher film with effective kill sequences. Although not a great movie, Silent Night is one of the better films in the genre that has come out lately, and it should at least be seen for its hints of old school Slasher elements. This is a worthy update to the original film, and it is an entertaining film that manages to give horror fans what they want. Although some parts are questionable, there is enough here to enjoy if you're a fan of this genre of horror.
themoviewaffler.com
themoviewaffler.com

Super Reviewer

December 10, 2012
This purports not to be a remake of the controversial eighties slasher 'Silent Night, Deadly Night', but it certainly owes that film a large debt. There are scenes which are practically lifted from the older film, such as a girl staked on antlers and a monologue about the dark side of Christmas delivered by a geriatric. The eighties film was fun thanks to it's clever use of black humor but this movie can't decide what tone it's after. For the most part it's played like a straight cop drama and when it does interject humor it fails to raise even a snigger.
The only interesting thing about this non-remake is the fact that it's characters are all named after former players of Leeds United soccer team. I don't think Johnny Giles would approve.
Darik H

Super Reviewer

November 4, 2012
The original Silent Night, Deadly Night had a kernel of a genuinely decent psychological horror story that was mostly only cheesy because of its low budget and exploitative leanings. The new semi-remake, Silent Night, is a slickly-produced, higher budgeted film that is trying desperately to be a dumb B-movie slasher, but out of an obvious love of the genre. Which is the better film? Honestly, it's just a matter of taste-- but I think they're both equally entertaining in opposite ways.

Unlike most remakes these days, the new Silent Night film is very much its own animal. It inverts the structure of the original, swapping out the protagonist-killer for a more traditional tale about cops tracking a costumed psycho on a major holiday. You'd think that would make the film a lot more bland and boring-- after all, the unique perspective of the story was one of the most creative elements of Silent Night, Deadly Night-- but director Steven C. Miller manages to bring a wonderfully retro flavor to the film, milking every single cliche for all its worth. (more to come)
David S

Super Reviewer

December 19, 2012
I couldn't tell if this film was deliberately trying to spoof itself or if the acting in it was just plain awful. Either way the mix of horror and comedy really doesn't work here. McDowell is hammy as the town sherrif but also looks permanently annoyed throughout (with his Agent, maybe?). King is playing the whole things straight but therefore looks out of place alongside some of the more 'looser' acting styles. The worst culprit is the actor playing the priest who is so over the top I kept expecting him to look at the camera and give us a wink! The kills are more fun than other recent remakes though and if you like your gore you won't be disappointed here. Forget about trying to justify the plot too as it doesn't make a whole load of sense. A bit of a mess then but some decent horror moments.
April 13, 2013
A rather loose remake of the notorious 80s slasher Silent Night, Deadly Night, Silent Night is an unrelentingly brutal return to 80s slasher violence and griminess. Well crafted and genuinely twisted, Silent Night features numerous sly nods to the original but also develops its own unique plot complete with unforgettable death scenes. Fans of 80s slashers should definitely check it out...
April 9, 2013
new take on "Silent Night, Deadly Night" if you have seen or know anything bout the controversial original you may feel this is lack luster storywise but gore and cheap thrills its still the same
December 25, 2012
Definitely a re-imaging more than a re-make of the 1984 original, which is fine. However, some impressive splatter moments (and some callbacks to the first movie - and one from Part 2) aside, the execution is lacking anything terribly impressive. Too much "shakey-cam" and too little invention. And it's glossy in a way that is generic; the original was hardly a tour-DE-force of film-making, but it has a certain grimy grindhouse charm that this desperately lacks. There's genuine opportunity here for something inspired here but it just comes off as lazy.
December 13, 2012
As a remake of the first Silent Night Deadly Night, I don't think this worked all that well. But as a modern-day sequel to a franchise that's been silent for well over a decade, it would have made a lot more sense. The kills were gruesome and cool to watch, the visual style was oversatured and dirty looking like Hobo With A Shotgun, and Malcolm McDowell gave his most entertaining performance in years. I thought this one was good, but just good. Not great, and not nearly as memorable as the original or its sequel, though this one did have a throwaway line referencing Garbage Day.
December 8, 2012
Thought this was fun. Not as bad as it could have been. Not amazing but not bad either. Liked the few nods to the original.
December 2, 2012
If your a fan of the Original Silent Night Deadly Night from 1984 you will probably enjoy this movie, although it doesn't take much from the original, I would call the movie more of a re-imagining than a remake. The only really similar things are the Grandfather is in a catatonic state and talks to the kid when he's alone. You have the famous Linnea Quigley topless deer horn death scene, The killer Santa seems to leave little kids alone, giving them candy canes and gifts after he's killed their parents. I like what they did to his face, using those creepy white see-through masks attached to the Santa beard, that was original. The movie follows a similar storyline (the Santa killer) being the little kid in the car at the beginning seeing his father die). I still think the original is more put together though, and more shocking. This "remake" doesn't go into details about the kid going nuts, his identity is a total secret until the end, and you don't feel half as bad because you don't see a crazy Santa killing both of his parents when he's watching. I'm surprised they didn't have as much backstory. But I do like what they did to the movie overall. Malcolm McDowell tends to get on my nerves, I don't know why he plays an arrogant asshole in movies, he's basically being himself in real life, I know i met him LOL I am very turned off by the man. Jamie King was good in the movie too.
August 17, 2013
Not scary, not gory, not good. Even the presence of Malcolm McDowell can't elevate this garbage into "watchable" territory. The villain makes no sense and seems to have no purpose, and when the end hits the filmmakers throw out as many cliched smash cuts as they can think of. One of the worst horror movies I've seen all year.
July 27, 2013
This is really not a Silent Night Deadly Night remake, there are little nods to the movies, but really it acts more like a retelling because the major focus of the film isn't even the killer. Most of the film focuses on a female police officer who feels like she is not ready for this job. Then there is a nut killing people in a Santa outfit and there isn't much character for him which is the worst part. I actually find the original Silent Night a good movie mostly thanks to the focus it gave for the killer. I really want to see more movies with the main character being the killer as we can get some interesting psyche moments from them. Maniac was like this as well, but Silent Night Deadly Night did it better I will say. So with the biggest element gone in a remake, I already feel like disliking the movie. Really this movie acts more like a Christmas Evil remake which was a bad Santa slasher movie (I can't believe that's a little genre on it's own). Then the whole movie is a sleazy slasher film with girls who have no dignity at all, a creepy priest, porn directors, stupid cops, and really dumb people dressed up as Santa Claus. This movie could have done better if they actually remade the original movie.
July 18, 2013
Pleasant surprise that this remake of the 80s cheesefest is far superior and damn entertaining! The kills are straight-up brutal and one scene involving a woodchipper was as gnarly as it gets! Malcolm McDowell is reaching Christopher Walken territory with his bizarre acting and line delivery these days, but he's clearly having fun. Basically a typical slasher elevated by great kills and solid production!
June 30, 2013
The first hour of SILENT NIGHT is mean-spirited witty fun--how can you not like a film that begins with a bratty spoiled kid killed by a cattle prod? There's a lot of anti-holiday cheer here and unlike the 80s original, SILENT NIGHT takes place in a far bleaker America where the unemployed are either making porn or getting jobs as Santa. After about an hour, the film peters out but still a terrific watch on a snowy holiday evening.
Blondie
June 24, 2013
So I woke up and turned on my TV to see people getting killed by Santa Claus. I turned on the guide to see it's name was Silent Night. I was SO surprised that they remade Silent Night, Deadly Night without barely anyone knowing about it. It's gory and violent with a sense of humor abut it. It's probably one of the better horror remakes to come out as of late.
June 20, 2013
One of the worst films I've ever seen. Hilariously horrible. The acting is terrible, completely unrealistic script, the director needs to go read a Directing for Dummies book.
June 17, 2013
Loose remake of cheesy eighties horror cult classic. Enjoyable if you enjoy the genre (which I do and I saw/enjoyed the original when I was younger). Not a bad movie, just not great either. My biggest gripe was that the way the story moved along, the director (or writer?) made it seem like the Santa character was some all-knowing supernatural being. A lot of over the top, campy lines from Malcolm McDowell's character as well. Oh, and Knives Chau was in this movie.
April 20, 2013
I actually quite enjoyed this movie, it's by no means a master piece but it was surely entertaining. However I only recommend it if you're a fan of the original Silent Night Deadly Night. Also don't go in expecting a serious movie.
Page 1 of 9
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile