Opening

20% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
46% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
—— Bears Apr 18
64% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
49% Rio 2 $39.3M
72% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
14% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
79% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Discuss Last Night's Shows

77% About a Boy: Season 1
—— Chicago Fire: Season 2
40% Glee: Season 5
36% Growing Up Fisher: Season 1
86% Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 1
80% The Mindy Project: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 11
—— NCIS: Los Angeles: Season 5
93% New Girl: Season 3
56% The Originals: Season 1
100% Person Of Interest: Season 3
100% Supernatural: Season 9

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

A Belfast Story Reviews

Page 1 of 1
February 12, 2014
a must see film for anyone from Belfast. you need to have been raised with the stories of the past to realize how deep this film really is.
October 5, 2013
I don't know how anyone can rate this film as being even passable. The plot, which could have had merit dependent on your personal political opinion, was stretched and finally shredded. Too many insignificant, meaningless but pompous characters with banal drivel for lines and all the emotion of a gutted cod. I felt genuinely sorry for Colm Meaney who, I am sure, will sincerely hope this offering is consigned to the wastebin of time very quickly. here are a few points:
1. As far as i am aware Poles or Lithuanians did not engage in an armed struggle in Northern Ireland never mind get to the heights of First Minister.
2. The Primary School which designed the uniform and badge doesn't even deserve credit.
3. There is probably more than one sole plain clothed officer within the Northern Ireland Police Service.
4. Chief Constables would not tend to meet informants whilst dressed in full uniform, never mind attending murder scenes.
5. The police badge is modelled on the UPS logo.
6. If a gibbering idiot hid a 'burn' mobile phone in a flower pot in a general office they wouldn't be high on the list of recruits for any terrorist organisation.
7. One particularly ridiculous murder, can anyone tell me how it occurred?
8. Platitudes never go down well with audiences so the 50 or so contained in here embarrass and then annoy in equal measure.
9. If a police force/service have enough sense to search a house and plant listening devices they might actually have the sense to search the garages 30 feet away.
10. Why oh why didn't someone who actually had a brain take the idea to a professional film company with a competent cast, good cinematographer and above all a sensible script writer. I am actually ill with the thought that a wider audience, around the world, will watch this and think it bears any semblance to my country or the local 'talent' is indicative of what we actually have here.
Please, please , please take the financial hit and withdraw this dross immediately. I know that some films are so bad they develop a cult status but this goes way beyond that. The worst film I have seen in my lifetime, and i went to the cinema to see Hitman!!!
October 3, 2013
i did not realize that Colm meany was going to be in it. when i saw his name in the credits i was settling in for a cracker of a movie. i was hoping for something on a par with previous north of Ireland based movie ie some mothers son and in the name of the father. and even the recent hunger. Both these movies were excellent in many many respects. i find myself watching them again and again despite their age. A Belfast story is however one will be consigned to the dustbin of the deformed. it is comparable to a bumper long episode of a tv show like cracker. Whilst Meany cannot be faulted for the movies problem, i find his distinct lack of any ulster accent despite his character having supposedly grown up in east belfast to be very hard to swallow. whilst i am not expecting stereotypical colloquialisms ie "what abouts yez". if someone is trying to pull off a Belfast detective they might at least try to learn the accent. this smacks of laziness on meany's part which is unusual given his past acting experience or maybe the director did want to spend the money on electrocution lessons either ways a north Dublin accent in the middle of Belfast simply does not work. on the movie itself it opens with the typical political correct bullshit of the distinctly catholic uniformed copper and the apparently protestant semi retired jaded old ruc man working hand in hand. above them all is of course the sprightly British public school educated head of policing over seeing the unruly natives like some kindly benevolent grandfather, our "benevolent masters" from the "mainland" works with the castle catholic to spy on the old timer ex ruc. whilst a series of mangy characters appear out of the woodwork from all sides getting successively bumped off the climax if one can call it that is another exercise in political correctness gone mad. the strain to be all things to all people and not offend anyone results in a watered down everyone happy s but no ones excited movie. the internal monologue that goes on half way though the movie is reminiscent of a tv detective and smacks of the producers spending too many rainy nights in watching itv produced filler tv. this is fine if one is making a tv series but not for a movie. the apparent ease at which the the ex paramilitary men are getting bumped off is presumptuous egotistical and smacks of someone who has taken personal feelings into a movie in a effort to assuage his demons. whilst i understand the political sensitives if the producers of this movie are that afraid of offending people maybe they should stick to making cartoons
September 30, 2013
Probably one of the worst films I've seen in the last ten years. The plot was ludicrous, the script was just a series of cliches and what's this 'Northern Ireland Police Service' all about? The only good point was that there were some good shots of Belfast! I was very disappointed.
Timothy J.
September 25, 2013
An enjoyable film with some surprisingly good acting even by some of the lesser known actors. It mixes images of both local landscape and gruesome deaths nicely and is complemented by some good music and a story that I found interesting.
I don't get why some of the pretentious critics are ragging on it, I went to see the film despite the comments and found it to be a good watch with little of the complaints they mention.
September 23, 2013
This movie is only worth seeing for the hilarious First Ministers secretary who looks like she's about to break in to a porn scene at any minute and the IRA guards keeping watch for protestants sneaking over the Lagan or lurking about at City Airport
September 22, 2013
Watched it in Belfast last night, slow, unrecognisable local dialogue, wooden acting by some, fantasy fairy taale ending
Alex
September 20, 2013
I was skeptical about this one at first but I thought I'd at least give a local film a chance.
Expecting some sort of troubles rehash the first few scenes soon changed that as the film introduces a gritty sort of alternate reality. With a nice balance between familiar scenery and bloody murders it flows better than I'd have thought and haunting music gave the whole piece additional atmosphere.
Colm was good as always alongside a cast that seemed to be entirely Irish (which was nice, none of those awful put on accents American films are always using) with the exception of Malcolm Sinclair and the acting was overall pretty good.
The concept is daring and certain areas might struggle a little now and then from the sheer weight but having seen it for myself I'm surprised by the bad press it's gotten, especially for a local film which ought to get some support. I know I'll be recommending it at the very least.
September 8, 2013
Belfast detective Meaney is called to the scene of a grisly nail-bomb murder, the victim a former IRA leader. This is merely the first of a string of killings of one-time paramilitaries. Meaney is partnered with rookie cop Damien (Hasson), who is actually keeping tabs on him for a Chief Constable (Sinclair) who has his own reasons for hindering the investigation.
At press screenings, it's common to see the same old faces. At the Dublin screening of 'A Belfast Story', however, many critics were conspicuous by their absence. The writer-director, Nathan Todd, has come under fire in Ireland and the UK for an exceptionally tasteless press pack sent out to various media outlets across the British Isles, a pack that included a balaclava, duct tape and nails. Anyone with the merest knowledge of recent Irish history can see how offensive and misjudged a stunt this was. In response, many Irish and British critics have refused to give the film coverage. While I can understand their reticence, I've decided to "play the ball, not the man", as the old Irish saying goes.

Todd should be relieved at the lack of coverage as he's turned out the shoddiest film I've seen since last year's 'Charlie Casanova', sadly another movie hailing from the emerald isle I call home. The publicity stunt had me believing Todd must be an American, as surely no-one from Ireland or Britain could could be so insensitive to the recent politics of the area. The animated credit sequence, which features a left-hand drive car, cemented this thought in my mind. As it turns out, Todd is an Irishman, which makes the film all the more baffling.

Todd seems to set out to make a serial-killer drama in the mold of David Fincher's 'Seven', with Meaney, who struggles with the "Norn Iron" accent here, in the role of the burnt out detective who's set to retire. Todd is no Fincher. With the exception of Meaney, everything in this film smacks of an amateur production. The acting is atrocious, (unusual for an Irish production as it's generally our strength), and the horrifically written dialogue doesn't help matters. The soap opera style lighting is so harsh you can almost see the reflection of the camera crew in Meaney's forehead, and Todd's set-piece construction provokes unintentional laughter as he attempts to ape masters like Brian de Palma and Sergio Leone. The most hilarious set-piece involves a poisoned fish supper and has to be seen to be believed.
If you're distanced enough from the Northern Ireland situation, this could actually serve as a "so bad it's terrific" post-pub watch, as it rivals the productions of Ed Wood for unintended hilarity.
Page 1 of 1
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile