• R, 1 hr. 26 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Roman Coppola
    In Theaters:
    Feb 8, 2013 Limited
    On DVD:
    May 14, 2013
  • Swan Design Studios

Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
37% The November Man $7.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

25% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III Reviews

Page 1 of 6
MANUGINO
MANUGINO

Super Reviewer

June 11, 2013
Handsome. Brilliant. Heartbroken.

The movie obviously had a lot of potential but the execution is horrible. It has a few funny moments but they're way too few and far between. It would be easy to blame all of the movie's failings on it's star, Charlie Sheen, but it was mostly, most likely, it's writer/director's fault. When working with Anderson Coppola has shown some skill but he obviously wasn't ready to helm a movie like this. I truly hope his next project is much better than this.
Christian C

Super Reviewer

May 24, 2013
Pathetic. Is Sheen still high?
Kevin C

Super Reviewer

January 17, 2013
Feels like the first draft of something that could be really great; receives extra points for a terrific (arguably too smug) ending.
Dann M

Super Reviewer

August 5, 2013
Beyond awful, Roman Coppola's A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III is an atrocious piece of garbage. The tragedy of it is that the film has a great cast that features Charlie Sheen, Jason Schwartzman, Bill Murray, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, and Aubrey Plaza; who are all exceptional comedic actors. But, the story's monotonous tripe and the characters are dull and uninteresting. A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III is a vapid and senseless film that seems to drag on forever.
August 9, 2013
It would take little more than a "glimpse" of A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III to determine whether or not one will enjoy or even 'want to watch' this odd quirky cinematic bauble that is being disguised as an art house drama starring a struggling-to-be-credible Charlie Sheen ("winning!") as a man going through a midlife crisis when it is actually nothing more than a muddled, pretentious, self-absorbed vanity project giving Sheen an opportunity to try to again fool the masses into believing that somewhere within that empty shell of a human-being lies an ounce of remaining talent. It is ironic (and unfortunate that he doesn't get it) that Sheen himself has overplayed the "fool me once/fool me twice" playroom scenarios that make up some of the plot of this film. Charles Swan is a successful graphic designer (read artist) whose love/hate relationship with his girlfriend has (again) come to its end ... and he doesn't know whether or not he should end it for good this time. Charles is supposed to be a fully-functioning adult but his problem-solving skills appear to be non-existent as he goes from one video segment to another. The major problem ... we just never care for him as he is aloof and detached and HE appears to never really care about anything going on around him. Roman Coppola -- Francis Ford's son and Sofia's brother who is also known as a producer of films (Somewhere), a Hollywood screenwriter (he was nominated for an Oscar for Moonrise Kingdom) and a random music producer -- directs the film with no urgency ... and it sadly shows ... although he has apparently lucked-out in the acting depart by calling in a few acting favors from his family and Dad's pals. Actors such as Jason Schwartzman and Bill Murray (Rushmore), Patricia Arquette (Ed Wood), Dermot Mulroney (Zodiac), Aubrey Plaza ("Parks & Rec"), Mary Elizabeth Winstead (The Spectacular Now), Katheryn Winnick (Killers), Colleen Camp (Clue) and Stephen Dorff (Somewhere) work the film's shots alongside world renowned supermodels Angela Lindvall, Bar Paly and Maxine Bahns. The film is just all of these things/scenes put together with little-to-no clarity. It is a mess and no effort is expended in fixing it. Fool us once ... fool us twice ... fool us a third time and a fourth etc.
March 7, 2013
Oh what could have been. A Glimpse Inside The Mind of Charles Swan III marks the feature film debut of screenwriter Roman Coppola (brother to Sofia, son of Francis), a frequent collaborator with Wes Anderson. It's hard to view anything on display in this film as original when so much of it seems cribbed form Anderson's aesthetic. The whole thing reads like a script Anderson would reject. Oh and it stars Charlie Sheen. Yea, that guy. Sheen is a guy mourning a break up with the women he loves (Katheryn Winnick). That's basically it. The rest of the film and how it goes about utilizing that premise is self-absorbed, and with Anderson regulars like Jason Schwartzman (Coppola's cousin) and the great Bill Murray co-starring, the whole thing just has the vibe of private party we only get to watch instead of enjoy. With one too many fantasy sequences. It's a dud.
January 20, 2013
I thought his first attempt as Writer/Director (2001's CQ) was brilliant, but this film failed on so many levels. It was like a poor attempt at pretending to be Wes Anderson with a washed up lead who's trying to channel Woody Allen. Sorry, Roman.
May 17, 2013
The movie is imaginative, but you don't find yourself caring for the characters too much. 20m in it felt like watching a tv show and I was looking forward to it finishing so I could continue on with my day. A better version of the movie would be The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. I like the idea of using our everyday day dreams for a movie. It's not done often.
August 5, 2014
It's a lot like what I'd imagine the first draft of an aspiring writer's screenplay always looks like - quirky, clever and ambitious, also arrogant, pretentious, silly and thematically lost up in the clouds to the point where simple MapQuest re-writes won't help it find its way back down. This movie's got the stuff, kids, but clearly no one knew what the hell to do with it.
May 22, 2014
A nice film to watch on a Sunday afternoon when you want some great actors in a decent movie.
May 2, 2014
A fascinating mess, Coppola's surreal dark comedy is an odd specimen. Its story and characters are paper thin and ludicrous, and yet, the dream sequences and visual style give the film a sort of entrancing watchablility.
March 16, 2014
Overall boring and pretentious? Yes, but the set pieces and the cutesy ending can't be dismissed.
January 8, 2014
Jesus, why did I bother?
November 21, 2013
Charlie Sheen plays a graphic designer who descends into utter misery after his girlfriend leaves him. There have been some arguments in favour of Roman Coppola's A Glimpse in the Mind of Charles Swan III that have called it a misunderstood tribute to seventies film. However, there is very little to admire in a film that is uncertain about whether it wants to be deadpan or childish - so in the end it is just cardboard. On top of that, its general humour is rather weak and filmmaker doesn't appear skilled enough to give the drama any relevant importance. The saddest element of all, however, is Charlie Sheen. Not only his perhaps premature casting in a role that feels like a surrogate of his own 'controversial' lifestyle often feel very uncomfortable, but it's even worse to see the embarrassing rare instances where the film requires him to act - particularly when we remember that this is the same man who once starred in Platoon.
mrmattfield21
November 10, 2013
This film is great fun, it has Charlie Sheen in a role he was born to play, which makes sense as he has lived that life.
Pablo Eterovic
July 19, 2013
Es difícil entender lo que Roman Coppola quizo hacer con esta tragicomedia. El director, conocido principalmente por sus trabajos con Wes Anderson, presenta a Charlie Sheen como Charles Swan III, un diseñador que entra en una verdadera crisis al terminar con su última novia. Buena banda sonora de Liam Hayes.
October 11, 2013
I don't get why this film was so torn apart. Charlie Sheen's performance is charming and honest. This is a wonderful, whimsical film.
Barthélémy C.
September 7, 2013
Sympa et drôle! J'ai aimé!
August 13, 2013
I really wanted to like 'Charles Swann III', but I couldn't bring myself to doing so. Being a fan of almost everyone behind and in front of the camera, including the controversial Charlie Sheen, it pained me that I didn't enjoy it like I thought I was going to. The film relies heavily on its idiosyncrasy and psychedelic quirkiness, but it never fully forms into a drama, comedy, or anything in-between.
Page 1 of 6
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile