• R, 1 hr. 26 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:    Michael Tiddes
  • In Theaters:    Jan 11, 2013 Wide
  • On DVD:    Apr 23, 2013
  • Open Road Films

A Haunted House Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Russell Hainline
Movie Mezzanine
February 6, 2014

Neither worthy of my laughter nor capable of inducing sleep. No, this is one of those rare films where its badness turns the cogs of your brain.

Full Review | Original Score: F
Richard Haridy
Quickflix
November 25, 2013

A Haunted House is technically inept, monotonous, and stiflingly cheap-looking. How this cost $2.5 million dollars to produce is beyond me.

Full Review | Original Score: .5/5
James Luxford
The National
October 18, 2013

Too banal to be offensive, it's certainly one to miss

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
June 27, 2013

Frustratingly, there's actually talent on-screen that hints at what could have been a cleverly comical take on the found-footage genre.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Donald Clarke
Irish Times
June 21, 2013

Heck, worse films starring Robert De Niro have been released this year.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Rich Cline
Contactmusic.com
June 21, 2013

Yet another spoof from Wayans and Alvarez, this movie isn't nearly as bad as it could have been (they also produced the resolutely unfunny Scary Movie 2 and Dance Flick).

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
June 20, 2013

There's just an odd recurrence of homophobic humor in the entire movie that compensates for lack of actual humor.

Jennifer Tate
ViewLondon
June 19, 2013

This send up of the Paranormal Activity films provides a few laughs here and there, but for the most part its crude and clichéd script is ridiculously stupid, embarrassingly over the top and occasionally offensive.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Eddie Harrison
The List
June 18, 2013

This Haunted House needs a KEEP OUT sign nailed to the door.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Will Salmon
SFX Magazine
June 17, 2013

Just another in a long line of mercilessly unfunny spoofs.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jim Schembri
3AW
June 2, 2013

Clearly what the world needs right now is another low-rent horror movie spoof. And this one's not bad. Sticking to Paranormal Activity for its premise, it actually produces some pretty funny moments.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Ed Gibbs
The Sun Herald
June 2, 2013

A painfully unfunny, overly familiar send-up of recent horror franchises.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Simon Foster
Screen-Space
May 30, 2013

Sporadically misogynistic, homophobic and grade-school puerile in equal measure, it is also not without the occasional laugh-out-loud moment.

Emma Morgan
Total Film
May 29, 2013

The moments where you feel the cast are off-script and riffing are fun if not actually funny, but the most horrific thing on offer here is misogyny.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Joe Cunningham
Empire Magazine
May 27, 2013

Dreadful.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
May 27, 2013

Somewhere between a spoof on Paranormal Activity and crazy fun, film gathers pace and comedic momentum as it goes. The cumulative effect, especially if enjoyed in a group of relaxed friends, is likely to be hilarity ... black dude jive kinda hilarity

Margot Harrison
Seven Days
May 22, 2013

This is the first film I've seen that depicts rape perpetrated by a bisexual, weed-smoking ghost, and probably the last.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Paul Chambers
Movie Chambers
April 17, 2013

Truly one of the worst horror spoofs of all time, and there have been some hideous failures over the years. Poorly written, repetitive and offensive on every level without being funny. Wait, I'm just getting started.

Full Review | Original Score: F
Dave White
Movies.com
March 11, 2013

I thought coming down with the flu would be the worst thing to happen to me this week. But that was a few days ago when I was still sweating it out in bed and coughing up my lungs... before my immune system was further compromised by A Haunted House.

Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
A.A. Dowd
Time Out Chicago
January 25, 2013

You know a fright-flick craze is in danger of running its course when Marlon Wayans comes along to broadly, belatedly spoof it.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 3