The Adjustment Bureau - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Adjustment Bureau Reviews

Page 2 of 515
½ February 4, 2016
Stylistically, this is a very interesting movie to look at. Storywise, it dabs into a favored conspiracy theory; the shadowy collective trying to shape the world in their specific way for whatever their reasons are.
Trying to crack through the collective's motivation is the main slowing point in the film, and while Damon has been down this road with Jason Bourne, this one seems a little more stilted and harder to get into at points. A good conspiracy film requires the viewer to catch a potential line of logic to follow, right or wrong, but this one has a hard time allowing the viewer to do that, as it flits between the conspiracy and the love story throughout.
When the film pushes towards its end, however, it starts to gather steam and pushes the characters along their lines almost to the point where they crack the Bureau's door open to the big chair, but they opt to keep that particular notion off the table in the end, which is not necessarily bad.
The acting is good, the chemistry between Blunt and Damon is solid and carries the movie, and ultimately it overcomes its sluggish points to be a reasonably entertaining film.
January 21, 2016
"The Adjustment Bureau" may be a complicated story that talks about free will, chance and fate but none of these are just ideas when it comes down to Damon and Blunts honest chemistry between each other.
December 25, 2015
Provoking topics like free-will verses determinism, The Adjustment Bureau scores both with the on-screen chemistry between its characters, and a non-stop flow of entertaining storytelling.
½ August 18, 2014
Touching movie BUT USA president determined by God it's just too much
Super Reviewer
½ March 2, 2011
A brilliant, thought-provoking blend of romantic thriller and science fiction developed from a simple but very well-conceived idea and with a couple of characters that are so easy to relate to. Even if only loosely based on his story, I guess Philip K. Dick would have been proud.
½ January 28, 2011
This is all a bit strange and unfortunately can't be saved by the brilliant central pairing of Damon and Blunt who are both fantastic throughout. I imagine that Nolfi thought he was creating a modern day fairytale in the vein of 'It's A Wonderful Life' but unfortunately it feels more like a lame episode of 'The X Files'...the concluding 10min finale is literally Damon opening lots of doors in a hat that's too small for his big head.
November 3, 2015
84%
The Adjustment Bureau is a fun, tense fantasy-thriller with great performances and an interesting message.
½ October 29, 2015
No one's ever been as charming as Emily Blunt is in this movie. The rest was not any good.
October 14, 2015
I forgot how good this film was until I just recently watched it. If you have never seen this film then check out some of Damon's Bourne like work in this great action thriller.
½ October 14, 2015
a very flawed adaptation of Philip K. Dick's short story. Works maybe halfway through, it was okay. Would I miss anything if I didn't see it, nah...!
½ October 13, 2015
Y tenia que verla Ahora...La ciencia ficción y el romance no siempre van de la mano pero con un guión inteligente y giros sorpresivos. casi no cae nunca en situaciones melosas o sentimentalistas.
½ October 10, 2015
A very enjoyable film based on the tangent of an idea contained in a Philip K. Dick short story that I really liked. Matt Damon and Emily Blunt were fantastic in the film. The supporting cast was quite good too. It was engrossing until the end.
October 2, 2015
Adjustments from the planet Hell. Based on a true idea.
September 14, 2015
No chemistry at all between the leads, and a typical election-campaign storyline, i.e. the cool young candidate who gets high fives from voters. Horrible. If anyone wants a slightly used copy of this DVD, let me know. Otherwise it's going under a crooked table leg.
September 11, 2015
Reasonably coherent.
½ August 15, 2015
Not really sure how to see this film.
August 11, 2015
Um candidato a senador é afastado de uma mulher pelos agentes do destino, pessoas estranhas de chapéu que controlam o destino das pessoas e lhes retiram o livre arbítrio, porém Matt Damon acaba desafiando seu destino e vai atrás de seu amor.
August 6, 2015
Strange modern fairy tail. And a good one too.
Page 2 of 515