The Adventures of Ford Fairlane - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Adventures of Ford Fairlane Reviews

Page 1 of 28
Clintus M.
Super Reviewer
½ October 17, 2012
Andrew Dice Clay basically plays himself in this comedy, a perfect representation of the glory days of MTV and the sunset strip in 1990. I was a fan of MTV and the haircut bands of that era, so Ford Fairlane is a guilty pleasure, to be sure. Its cheesy and offensive yet hilarious also. Check out "Aint Got You" by Ford (Clay); it is an awesome contrast between what used to be rock and roll and what is passing for it both in 1990 and now.

I love the all-star cast: Robert Englund, Priscilla Presley, Wayne Newton, Ed O'Neil, Gilbert Gottfried, and Lauren Holly. Holly excels in a small role as the vulnerable secretary with the knock-out figure. The Dice-man is exactly what you'd expect, for better or worse, and Maddie Corman is delightful as Zuzu, an MTV dance party-type. Has there ever been a greater groupie name than "Zuzu Petals?"

The plot is disposable; who cares about the mysterious CDs? Accept The Adventures of Ford Fairlane for what it is, and just laugh along. As Dice would exclaim, "Unfu*#ingbelieveable!"
Beefy
Super Reviewer
May 13, 2007
Indefensible trash. I love it!
deano
Super Reviewer
½ December 3, 2006
Andrew Dice Clay's so hilarious in this title role.
moviefan1725
Super Reviewer
½ February 12, 2009
Say what you will about Andrew "Dice" Clay, but I LOVE this movie. Clay was a one-note comic, but he milked his 15 minutes for all it was worth, never more on display than in this movie. As a "rock and roll detective", the movie is filled with then-famous music industry people which give the movie an extra quality. What surprises is there is an actual story here. A genuine mystery that provides Clay with something to do besides lift material from his stand up act. It helps that they hired an actual filmmaker, Renny Harlin, to helm Clay's leading man debut. Harlin is a visually gifted director that knows how to orchestrate an action scene, fill the screen with eye candy, and keep things moving at a lively pace. Music group Yello adds an original musical score that adds to the overall good feel of the movie. Watch for a great cameo by Married With Children's Ed O'Neil as a police detective with a personal gripe against Clay. Let's just say that disco will never be the same. A guilty pleasure, and one damn funny movie.
Super Reviewer
½ July 12, 2007
Hey they blew me.
chadroesti
Super Reviewer
June 15, 2007
Two words. "Disco Express."
Ford Fairlane: Disco Express? They blew dog. And that lead singer, he kinda looked like...
Lt. Amos: Like ME, right?
Ford Fairlane: Yeah. I was gonna say he looked like shit, but... he looked like you.
½ April 4, 2015
4/3/2015: A pretty cheesy, but mildly funny flick. It was funnier when it came out when Dice was at the top of his game; now it's just kind of dumb.
October 26, 2010
Not remotely funny. If Gilbert Gottfried's part was twice as long, my rating might have been exponentially larger.
July 3, 2010
The Diceman movie to end Diceman movies and unfortunately the Dice's career. Andrew Dice Clay plays Ford Fairlane the Hollywood Rock 'n Roll detective who though down on his luck moneywise finally gets the case he needs trying to solve a string of music industry murders. Many great musician cameos from Sheila E., Vince Neil, Tone Loc, and Morris Day. This movie is for Dice fans only and there is not alot of grey area. You either like it if you like Dice's brash ahead of it's time brand of humor or you hate it if you are ruled by political correctness. Women & gay activists unfairly demonized this film when it came out and picketed it. 1990 America wasnt quite ready for the gross out comedies that would come out years later like the American Pie & Farrelly Bros. franchises produced. Ford, you were ahead of your time baby! Whoaaaaaaaaaaa!
½ October 17, 2009
This comedian was never funny and to think...someone gave him a movie role. Retarded movie and idiot playing in it"
½ September 6, 2009
Great flick. Even if you hate Dice. There is a koala bear puppet. Renny Harlin? I fucked 'im!! Oh!!!
½ April 11, 2007
A surprisingly decent movie featuring two of the most obnoxious people on the planet Andrew Dice Clay and Gilbert Gottfried.
February 22, 2009
Terrible? Awesome? Terribly Awesome? I all I know is that the whole thing was borderline retarded, but amazingly entertaining. They don't make them like this very often, a wonderful slice of 1990. Reminded me of Hudson Hawk kinda, tries to be action-y and comedic and ends up mostly being weird.
½ December 22, 2008
the dice man at his best. plus freddy kruger and wayne newton as the bad guys . . hell yeah. directed by geena davis' ex-husband
½ December 9, 2008
If like Andrew "Dice" Clay then check out this movie. A great 80's flashback movie complete with cameos from Gilbert Gottfried, Robert Englund, Wayne Newton, Morris Day, and Motley Crue frontman Vince Neil this comedy seemed written for "Dice's" stage persona. Too much "Happy Days" maybe. "Ehhhhh!"
May 14, 2008
Un-F-ing-believable!
Dice, Gilbert, Sam the Sleazebag, Kyle Troy, Lt. Anus, Zu Zu Petals, the flockin' koala bear....
This movie is a fountain of quotable lines. It's booty time.
April 13, 2008
Well it certainly lived up to it's awful reputation. There are a fair amount of laughably bad moments and one-liners, but not enough to recommend watching the entire film. It also serves as a good time-capsule for back when Dice Clay was popular. Regardless, it is just too all-around bad to be anything more than anything more than a slightly interesting failure.
December 31, 2007
soooooo bad in the '89-'90 fashion sense, but goddamn is Lauren Holly so effin hot in this one.
Dice's 15 minutes expired right after this film. still, the best surviving relic of this film is Billy Idol's [i]Cradle of Love[/i]
Page 1 of 28