Opening

65% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
20% Two Night Stand Sep 26
81% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
44% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
89% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
87% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— Left Behind Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— Chicago Fire: Season 3
—— Faking It: Season 2
—— Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 12
64% NCIS: New Orleans: Season 1
—— Person Of Interest: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Brickleberry: Season 3
56% Forever: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
75% The Mindy Project: Season 3
100% New Girl: Season 4
85% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
80% The Blacklist: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
56% Forever: Season 1
94% Gotham: Season 1
36% Scorpion: Season 1
100% Sleepy Hollow: Season 2
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

All About My Mother Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
Top Critic IconTop Critic

For me it felt like a good many weeks at a politically correct summer camp.

Full Review Source: Chicago Reader

August 12, 2008
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews

After a while, I just got tired of all of the overly cute twists and turns in the plot. Some of the acting is good, but that's about it.

Full Review Source: Internet Reviews | Original Score: 2/4

January 1, 2000
Roger Ebert
At the Movies
Top Critic IconTop Critic

One of the best films of the Spanish director, whose films present a Tennessee Williams sensibility in the visual style of a 1950s Universal-International tearjerker.

Full Review Source: At the Movies | Original Score: 3.5/4

January 1, 2000
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
Top Critic IconTop Critic

An exquisitely constructed melodrama.

Full Review Source: ReelViews | Original Score: 3.5/4

January 1, 2000
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Gay filmmakers like Almodóvar may be providing a last refuge for decent parts for women, and for wholehearted melodrama in our hyperironic age.

Full Review Source: L.A. Weekly

October 3, 2002
Ted Murphy
Hollywood.com

This film is as close to a masterpiece as the director has ever produced.

Full Review Source: Hollywood.com | Original Score: A-

December 13, 2009
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com

Succeeds in a number of gentle, gratifying ways.

Full Review Source: EricDSnider.com | Original Score: A

January 1, 2000
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid

A weepie movie with a brainy sensibility, an open heart, and a wicked sense of humor.

Full Review Source: Combustible Celluloid | Original Score: 3.5/4

May 26, 2006
Peter Brunette
Film.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Nothing short of a triumph.

January 1, 2000
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound

All About My Mother is a wonderful Mother's Day card, in any language.

Full Review Source: Big Picture Big Sound | Original Score: 4/4

July 14, 2007
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee

Well-done gook.

Full Review Source: Sacramento Bee

January 1, 2000
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It displays a depth and maturity lacking in Almodóvar's earlier work.

Full Review Source: Time Out

February 9, 2006
Gabriel Shanks
Mixed Reviews

Both an expansion of Almodovar's famous candy-colored vision and a maturation of his ingenious directorial style.

Full Review Source: Mixed Reviews | Original Score: A

January 1, 2000
Rob Blackwelder
SPLICEDWire

By the time I'd left the theater, I was in love and wanted to see it again.

Full Review Source: SPLICEDWire | Original Score: 3.5/4

January 1, 2000
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews

One must give Almodóvar credit for getting his voice heard in the mainstream while keeping his artististic integrity intact.

Full Review Source: Ozus' World Movie Reviews | Original Score: B+

January 1, 2000
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews

A satisfying emotional journey.

Full Review Source: Reeling Reviews | Original Score: 9/10

January 1, 2000
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice

A salute to the enormous fierceness, resolve, and strength it takes to be a nurturing person.

Full Review Source: Spirituality and Practice

March 4, 2002
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Few melodramas with such tragic underpinnings have ever made me feel so intensely happy.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: A

January 1, 2000
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

All About My Mother is the achieved synthesis of the whole Almodovariety show, a new genre -- part farce, part weepie, low camp and high melodrama, caustic yet heartwarming, humanist and programmatically gender-blurring.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

January 1, 2000
Wesley Morris
San Francisco Examiner

[Almodovar's] expressionism and his screenwriting have always had fun together, but now there is a kind of faith and spirituality that sexcapades like Laws of Desire and Kika only laughed at.

Full Review Source: San Francisco Examiner

January 1, 2000
David Stratton
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic
February 23, 2012
Susan Granger
rec.arts.movies.reviews

It's 1999's best foreign language film.

Full Review Source: rec.arts.movies.reviews | Original Score: 10/10

January 1, 2000
Jeff Millar
Houston Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Almodovar has called his near-unique creations 'screwball drama.' This finds him working at his best.

Full Review Source: Houston Chronicle

July 21, 2005

Sight and Sound
June 18, 2012
Page 1 of 5
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile