• PG-13, 1 hr. 39 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Phil Traill
    In Theaters:
    Sep 4, 2009 Wide
    On DVD:
    Dec 22, 2009
  • 20th Century Fox

Movies Like All About Steve

Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
37% The November Man $7.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

42% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

All About Steve Reviews

Page 1 of 407
Wildaly M

Super Reviewer

January 16, 2014
It really is a wonder how these scripts get a green-light. Mild laughs. Cooper is hot. Mostly offensive jokes though.
Nicki M

Super Reviewer

April 18, 2009
Okay, I am not going to say this was a good movie, but I still don't get the hate on it. I actually kind of liked Sandra's weird girl character here. It gets dull in the middle, and it's not the happy ending you go into a rom com expecting, but it had a message of self acceptance to it that I really liked. There is no big make over moment, and it doesn't matter, because she was cute all along - in her own way. I also liked DJ Qualls here and Thomas Haden Church.
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 23, 2011
Loved it! Don't understand why Sandra Bullock got a Razzie for this? Amazing film and so funny. She plays a bunny boiler extremely well and yet funny too. It's such a hard thing to do and she does it perfectly. Sends out a postive message and the end is magnificent. A must see! Ignore the bad reviews. A great film!
Thomas J

Super Reviewer

August 11, 2010
Not much to say... other than it takes 1.5 hours to get through it. To say it is a cute movie is strech.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

September 1, 2009
well this was kind of those romcom movies that you know is going to be rubbish and this film certainly doesnt disappoint!
Although i like its originality and its not like your typical jennifer aniston romcom it still doesnt interest you enough to watch it again or remember it!

Sandra bullock is amazing and i do like her character in this, she is vaguely amusing in this film, but when you have bullock who can do the comedy and bradly cooper who are both funny it makes you wonder why this isnt!

on the case it says what happens when the proposal meets the hangover ? two hilarious movies produce a poor and unfunny movie!
Richard C

Super Reviewer

July 29, 2010
only a few funny parts but overall a waste of my time. C-
movieguru12
movieguru12

Super Reviewer

August 26, 2009
Hilarious comedy that had me laughing the whole movie. I don't know why people didn't like this movie because it was great. Give this movie a try & you might like it, because I did.
Spencer S

Super Reviewer

July 28, 2010
Bad acting, bad script, bad ending, bad boots. I wish it could have worked, but it didn't. Points though for the last twenty minutes. Doesn't redeem the film, but makes the rest sort of worth it.
Alexis N

Super Reviewer

July 6, 2010
this movie found me when i was kinda mopey and made my day.. it's hysterical, cute and not your typical romcom about a bad blind date. it doesn't hurt that bradley cooper is nice to look at ether. i loved it!
KJ P

Super Reviewer

March 7, 2010
By all means, there is absolutely no humor anywhere! It is definately the worst film of the year, however, that being said: It is soo ridiculous that it is actually laughable. It is 100% a guilty pleasure, but a horrible one!
Chris G

Super Reviewer

January 24, 2010
Some people just don't take no for an answer. Or goodbye. Or go to hell. Sandra Bullock plays one of those people in All About Steve, a film about a newspaper crossword author whose mind runs a little bit too fast. When Mary (Bullock) gets set up on a blind date with Steve (Bradley Cooper, who is the recipient of this years "I'm In Every Movie Award") she feels a connection, a feeling that they just click as a pair and takes some of his "just being nice" suggestions as an offer to hit the road with him as he travels with his news crew covering story after story. As the movie flows, Steve gets more and more paranoid and aggravated by Mary's gusto for hooking up with him, mainly due to the star reporter (Thomas Haden Church) egging her on.

All About Steve is another in the line of road trip movies which seem to come and go in popularity as time goes by. Cooper just did sort of one with The Hangover. Last year's Miss March was probably the worst of the bunch. It follows the same plan of a quest. It could be The Lord of the Rings or it could be National Lampoon's Vacation, they all have one goal- to get where their going and what they're after.

The problem with All About Steve is that Mary just gets annoying after awhile. Instead of a quest movie, it turns itself into Smokey and the Bandit: we want Steve to get the hell away from her as soon as possible. We root for Steve as he rushes away sporting a fake porn star mustache. This is where the film fails. Fortunately the banter between Cooper, Thomas Haden Church, and Ken Jeong (who is also in every movie now) fill the gaps that are caused by the film not quite knowing what the hell it is.
ajaymuthecooldevils
ajaymuthecooldevils

Super Reviewer

August 7, 2009
Surprisingly funny, just like I predicted before after I watch the trailer.. Sandra Bullock is really funny and look so natural in this movie, just a little difference from the performance she already shows in 'The Proposal' before.. Bradley Cooper and Thomas Haden Church was OK, but the credits should be given all to Sandra Bullock... What a year for Bullock...!!!
sanjurosamurai
sanjurosamurai

Super Reviewer

March 31, 2009
the worst of two films in 2009 about people living in sacramento and working in the news industry. yes, there were two of those. my wife loves these flicks so i always end up watching them. to be honest, i laughed out loud 4 or 5 times in this flick at the surprisingly very funny moments. sadly, every moment but those 4 or 5 funny ones were absolutely awful. one of the worst films of what was a very busy year for sandra bullock.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

December 29, 2009
I just don't know what was trying to be achieved here. They dressed Sandra Bullock up in a ton of skimpy outfits and make-up. Well, great, but that doesn't make a movie. It was just a half wit rip-off of There's Something About Mary.
Dean L

Super Reviewer

December 28, 2009
I'm really not sure what to say about this movie. It is as you probably expected it to be.
Sandra Bullock is always so much fun to watch as she can go from tomboy to sexy to shrew (a la "The Proposal" which was no great fare). The common denominator between most of her characters is that they are always smart and usually quite strong.
Here she plays "smart," but only in the book sense. As for everything else-she gets it all wrong. She is a "geek," but takes it to the level of psychotic and it is actually painful to watch her in this role and not just because of the boots.
There is no chemistry at all between Bullock and her male lead played by Bradley Cooper (that was at least one redeeming point in "The Proposal"). Her character is simply unbelievable and I am confused as to why she took this role unless it was to try on some clown shoes for a change (and again, I don't mean the boots here either...ok the boots too).
Thomas Hayden Church is the only well-cast character in this movie and his talents are wasted here as well.
If you want to see Bullock in light fare go elsewhere for it because this one will only make you feel for her and perhaps taste the last meal you ate.
LWOODS04
LWOODS04

Super Reviewer

August 11, 2009
Sandra Bullock, Thomas Haden Church, Bradley Cooper

Convinced that a CNN cameraman is her true love, an eccentric crossword puzzler (Bullock) trails him as he travels all over the country, hoping to convince him that they belong together.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I of course loved this movie. Sandra Bullock, being one of my favorite actresses, can do no wrong in my eyes. I love everything she does. This movie was by far one of the funniest movies she has done. Thomas Haden Church, was hilarious. Bradley Cooper was funny as well (loved his 70's porno inspired disguise, so funny). Him and Sandra were good together. Love to see them in another romantic comedy. This movie wasn't only about the laughs, it has a really good message in it. Plus it doesn't have the normal romantic comedy ending that you are use to. So I really liked that. Not every story has to be a happy ending. But in this case it was a happy ending in its own way. People who are fans of Sandra Bullock, and her movies like I am, are going to love this movie and the message it is giving. Definitely wanna see this movie again.
Apeneck F

Super Reviewer

May 26, 2009
a very strange tale that begins as yet another summer romantic comedy but somehow turns into a weird kinda salute to uniqueness (read: nerdiness). ms. bullock endeavors mightily to make creepy-stalker-types okey-dokey (only if they happen to save a your run-of-the-mill everyday endangered child while they're out stalking), but still I left the theater shaking disorientation from my head.
cobaein
cobaein

Super Reviewer

July 18, 2010
I never like filling some crossword puzzle, but I think I'll try to fill in the blank now... ^_^
Jeff B.
Jeff B.

Super Reviewer

July 15, 2010
Sometimes, a script isn't worth the recycled paper its printed on. Within the first 2 minutes of a comedy, the audience should know WHO the story is about. Within the first 20 minutes, they should pretty much know WHAT hi-jinks they are going to get into. 20 minutes into Some Like it Hot-kapow, moviegoers know that Joe and Jerry are unemployed actors who have to disguise themselves in drag to escape the mob. With All About Steve, moviegoers get to know their screwball lead character and where the hell she's headed only after sitting through a tortuous 90 minutes. Worse, she really wasn't worth getting to know. Your reviewer gets the feeling that Billy Wilder, let alone first-time director Phil Traill, could not have passed this piece of shit off as the ice cream it pretends to be.


In this PG-13-rated screwball comedy, Bullock falls head over heels for Cooper's TV cameraman after one blind date and follows him and his crew (Thomas Hayden Church, Ken Jeong) around the country.

Sandra Bullock has officially made the worst movie on her CV. Her character is supposed to be a highly intelligent crossword puzzle writer who is mistaken for a kooky stalker. There is no mistake about it-the character IS a kooky stalker. And sadly, Bradley's Cooper's wooden cameraman is so uninteresting that he isn't worth a 'hello' let alone stalking. It is so awful that Rhonda Shear would have passed it up for bad movie showcase USA Up All Night back in the day.

Bottom line: All about nothing.
Dannielle A

Super Reviewer

May 12, 2010
I am a huge fan of Bullock but I think this is the first movie I've seen her in that I didn't like. My husband laughed a LOT in this movie and I can't really remember laughing. It's just not my type of humor. There were many scenes that were just too long and I didn't really see what the movie was saying... maybe be yourself?
Page 1 of 407
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile