All Things Fair (Lust och fägring stor) (Love Lessons) Reviews

Page 2 of 3
½ January 20, 2015
The movie puts strong characters and thematic setting behind and focuses on the story and emotions. Not particularly as unique issue, but how relationships develops and protagonist get mature is beautiful.
October 31, 2013
Different from Ingmar Bergman's alienation and grimness, this film by Bo Widerberg is more colourful, passionate and lustful. However, the controversial subject is only a focal point of studying the dimensions of love. All Things Fair is more about coming of age and maturity as it will drag your mind back to the high school days of innocence and tenderness. Featuring Handel's sorrowful Lascia ch'io pianga and brave performances from Widerberg's son and second wife, All Things Fair is an absorbing bittersweet melodrama about adolescents on the verge of adulthood.
September 18, 2013
A coming-of-age story from Sweden. I guess I would like it more if I had watched it decades back.
½ February 16, 2012
great character and feel. bit long but heh
½ June 1, 2011
Meaningless.
I like the church scene.
Super Reviewer
December 17, 2010
This is a wonderful film with intriguing script, good acting, and playful yet serious story with consequences for all. Johan Widerberg as the young man Stig is outstanding. You can watch his maturity, adult wisdom, and general sensitivity blossom as the movie progresses. This movie is rather long, and at times rather slow, but I was really taken in by the whole drama. Nice piece of work...
November 1, 2010
A Coming of Age Tale for the Characters and the World
Super Reviewer
September 5, 2008
nominated for best foreign film at the oscars
½ October 12, 2006
This movie had potential, but fell through the cracks. To bad.
½ November 14, 2007
I really don't like it. At all.
August 15, 2007
This is a good swedish movie about love between a teacher and a student of hers. That is as much as i remember must see it soon again. :)
½ June 13, 2007
im lucky to own a copy of this peice of gem.
½ March 1, 2007
this swedish film has a scene where they talk none stop about 'anomalies' and im drawn too it
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
April 27, 2006
[font=Century Gothic]"All Things Fair" takes place in 1943 in Malmo, Sweden where Stig(Johan Widerberg) is a high school student from Stockholm who works at the concessions of a movie theatre. His older brother, Sigge(Bjorn Kjellman), is in the navy and an aspiring boxer. Amongst his classmates, Stig is not alone in being infinitely curious about sex while having very little knowledge about the subject.(The boys and girls are educated separately.) He does form a bond with his new teacher, Viola(Marika Lagercrantz), who is also from Stockholm but they go beyond propriety during a makeout session in the map room.[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"All Things Fair" takes on a controversial subject in a provocative manner. The film gets off to a promising start; features some good relationships and character development but drags on too long towards at least a few promised endings before coming to a halt. It best serves as an argument against single sex education.[/font]
Page 2 of 3