American Grindhouse Reviews

Page 2 of 5
January 11, 2015
A fascinating look into cinema's notorious genre, 'American Grindhouse' is a must-see for movie and pop culture lovers. From obscure titles to more mainstream releases, filmmakers and historians discuss this (for better or worse) essential contribution to the art of filmmaking.
½ May 18, 2014
a colourful study of the low-brow films and filmmaking archetypes that shaped modern movies, incredible footage and anecdotes tell a tale of hucksters that challenged societal conventions, illustrative in the extreme
March 21, 2014
Fascinating. Should be seen by anyone with an appreciation for low-brow cinema.
November 23, 2013
"Nobody ever went broke underestimating the taste of the American public." - H.L. Mencken.
Super Reviewer
March 4, 2011
Perfect for those interested in film history, "American Grindhouse" takes a look at American exploitation films from their start in the early 1900's to present-day with director's like Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez bringing the classic nature of the film back. Focusing on giving the audience what they want, like sex, violence, and special effects, these films took on a life of their own. What will surprise you from this film are certain films that are considered exploitation films, like Hitchcock's "Psycho" and Spielbergs' "Jaws" as well as how popular many of these films were, even the ones completely considered smut. With many interviews with film historians, directors, and actors, "American Grindhouse" feels like a quick starter course for anyone interested in the subject, showing many clips from the films it talks about, creating one of the most well put together film documentaries I've witnessed in a long time.
½ October 4, 2013
Some interesting history but way slower than I expected.
September 2, 2013
What is grindhouse? This has all the answers!
July 3, 2013
Decent documentary about the history of Grindhouse flicks.
June 16, 2013
expected more from this documentary
½ June 16, 2013
A great documentary for anyone interested in film history or learning about 20th century fringe culture. Some of it was too gory for me, but it comes with the territory of exploring exploitation films. Overall, well-made and engaging.
March 29, 2013
Good doc ont he history of Grindhouse.
January 31, 2013
As long as film has existed, filmmakers have found a way to exploit it, as Elijah Drenner shows us in this shocking look at the cinematic underground, AMERICAN GRINDHOUSE. Drenner presents a complete and fully informed history of the Exploitation genre, from its early beginnings in films like Thomas Edison's TRAFFIC IN SOULS to the more recent trend in so-called "Torture-Porn" pictures like HOSTEL. Few realize just how outrageous and scandalous the films of the pre-Code era truly were, with a proliferation of sex and violence that Drenner brings back to the surface for a startling effect. The evolution of Exploitation is then documented in great detail, traveling through the stages of the early sex films, educational pictures, horror and the grand guignol, Film Noir, burlesque, teenage delinquency, Sexploitation, and gore (and that's just in the first half!). However debatable the content of these films may be, the cultural impact that filmmakers like Russ Meyer, Samuel Arkoff, and Herschell Gordon Lewis had on cinema is unmistakable. Robert Forster's dry narration often seems out of place given the sensational subject matter, but the colorful commentary of the Exploitation genre's most knowledgeable historians and filmmakers help to liven things up. An excellent ensemble of classic film trailers and vintage posters also accompany this informative look into filth, with key editing attributed to Andy Goldenberg, Dan Greene, and Drenner, himself.
January 31, 2013
Decent documentary about the history of Grindhouse flicks.
½ November 24, 2012
Awesome documentary on grindhouse filmmaking and spectatorship.
November 9, 2012
Successfully got me hooked on the subject. I saw Tarantino's Grindhouse several times and loved it. I knew it was supposed to be done in a old, cheesy, B-movie style, but I had no idea what exactly that was. As a designer, I am deeply, deeply fascinated with grindhouse art/style. While I have yet to develop a taste for the sort of movies they advertise (I'm not in any big hurry to see "Slave Girls of the SS") I love their posters, title sequences, logos...I love the tone they convey. For the documentary itself, it isn't anything new; it's pretty vanilla and to the point and it's set up in neat sections that go from Thomas Edison in the 1920's to present day. I will admit that the ending of the American Grindhouse was rushed. I wish they would have more greatly explored the direction 'Grindhouse' and exploitation is taking today. Is there modern exploitation films? What do they think will be the next big thing that makes the masses squirm? They made a great point in saying that the graphic, independent essence of the style as been fully absorbed into popular culture; in 2012, we have seen everything and for the most part, are pretty numb to the bells and whistles that once made these exploitation movies a hit. Maybe the style is dead, maybe it will take a new form soon enough.
Super Reviewer
October 2, 2012
A very entertaining documentary! The talking heads have fascinating things to say. The stills, audio, and video clips illustrate so well the history this movie is trying to share. A couple American International pictures are mentioned, but the biggest surprise for me is that Roger Corman's name is never uttered. Besides this exception, this doc covers a wide range of exploitation genres and the filmmakers who were happy to oblige the public. The "chapter" headings are: In the Beginning: From Edison to Freaks, Let He Who Is Without Sin... See Our Movie, It's Not Vulgar... It's Educational, Perversion... For Profit, Teenage... Rampage, Sexploitation: From Nudie Cuties to Roughies, Gore- Galore, The Times... They Are a Changin', Blaxploitation: You Dig?, They Caged Their Bodies... But Not Their Desires, The Schlocky... Seventies, Send In... The Nazis, Porn-O-Copia, and The Final Grind... Or Is It?. It is out on DVD, but I watched it free on Hulu.
August 26, 2012
An interesting documentary on grindhouse and exploitation films and how they developed and progressed over the decades into the modern era.
Super Reviewer
July 28, 2012
Informative, entertaining and unforgettable, American Grindhouse it's a great study about exploration movies, U.S. modern pictures inspirations, the fight to adapt "cinema fashion" and win money. A trip into remarkable and 'bad taste' films. Criative and inspired, dispite doesn't mention some important people in underground low budget industry cinema. Fresh.
½ July 15, 2012
Good documentary even though I think they focused only on the idea that grind houses were just a place to promote sex in the USA.
June 29, 2012
Informative and wildly entertaining history of American B-movies with a number of engaging clips and much great commentary from its various talking heads. Right up my alley.
Page 2 of 5