American Pie 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Charlie Lyne
Ultra Culture
April 29, 2012
Our second encounter with the Class of '99 is unashamedly similar to (but way slicker than) its predecessor.
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
April 18, 2012
just doesn't have the story and character charm behind it that the original film did
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 21, 2010
Better than #1 but still raunchy. Teens love it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
January 7, 2005
While it delivers a decent number of laughs, this second serving of Pie still tastes too much like the first.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Brian Mckay
March 19, 2003
I'll keep coming back for the ride until it stops being fun. I just hope it doesn't go as far as AMERICAN PIE 9 - THE MIDLIFE CRISIS.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Harry Guerin
RTE Interactive (Dublin, Ireland)
January 23, 2003
Fans of the first one will come away tasting soggy reheat, not this year's new improved recipe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ross Williams
Film Threat
December 8, 2002
I'm ecstatic to report that American Pie 2 did not disappoint.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Ernest Hardy
L.A. Weekly
October 16, 2002
Had director J.B. Rogers simply stuck to the sex jokes and not tried to redeem them, he'd have made a more honest film.
Margaret A. McGurk
Cincinnati Enquirer
October 15, 2002
There is a bright side. None of us will live long enough to hear a future historian say, 'And that's how a civilization was doomed by a warm apple pie.'
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
September 25, 2002
...even though the majority of the jokes fail completely, the movie still manages to be entertaining enough to be considered an inoffensive time-waster...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
July 12, 2002
It's all about sex again, but, like the first movie, it handles it with a sense of balance between the lewdness and the awkwardness of the subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
James Sanford
Kalamazoo Gazette
June 9, 2002
too much of "Pie 2" seems stolen from the day-old bin. ...We learned just about everything we needed to know about these kids two years ago...
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
May 30, 2002
Uma pálida sombra de seu antecessor...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
February 26, 2002
The gags are rude and crude, but they never bail out in fear of offending, and frankly, it's funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Bill Chambers
Film Freak Central
January 6, 2002
[The] jokes...ain't built for repetition, nor is the film's malnourished narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Scott Weinberg
October 10, 2001
I'd trash the sequel for treading on the same ground...if it weren't so damn funny!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Ben Falk
September 24, 2001
Writer Adam Herz has an uncanny knack of turning even the most predictable scenarios into slices of comedy magic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Eugene Novikov
Film Blather
September 5, 2001
If only the rest of the movie had the wit and wisdom of Levy's performance.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Michael Dequina
September 1, 2001
There's no shortage of overbaked sex gags--and laughs--in this follow-up.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
August 28, 2001
I went into "American Pie 2" with low expectations and was disappointed even at that.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 7