Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
30% As Above/So Below Aug 29
36% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
76% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
37% If I Stay $15.7M
21% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
45% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
19% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

New Episodes Tonight

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
39% Intruders: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
46% Reckless: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Anniversary Party Reviews

Page 2 of 12
January 14, 2014
This film is more engraved in my mind because of the girl i took to which it than the actual movie itself. Marine & i went to watch this film & boy we were so young back then & as the film went on we touched hands & had a shy kiss if i remember correctly... i might have been 15 or 16 and it was the beginning of dating and all that for me.... so yep i remember the film but it wasn't a great film, just a nice comedy about a bunch of friends going through phases and drama during a party when everyone is high on drugs.... Interesting but not tremendously indispensable.
April 25, 2013
Another self-indulgent film about a Hollywood house party gone wrong; this time with the 28-50 year old "slightly neurotic" friends and neighbors. Are there any other kinds in tinsel town? Once you get half-way through the film, it starts to work. Adequate ending, woof.
December 7, 2012
Could be very detailed and a good story there by the synopsis.
May 8, 2012
While the story leaves much to be wanted. The actors at this anniversary party are what makes this film.
July 31, 2007
i thought Phoebe Cates retired after Drop Dead Fred. After you marry Kevin Kline, who needs to act to make money.
August 4, 2011
I remember being very impressed by the characters, and thus the acting, but only mildly enamored with the story itself.
June 10, 2011
Great cast and a lot of drama ...
samanthaseaotter
July 13, 2010
Great cast, weak story
Zeppo1
January 1, 2010
**1/2 (out of four)

This is partly a fun dialogue film and partly overly annoying. It borders on both for too long that it sinks beneath its own pretentions.

Sally and Joe, played by Jennifer Jason Leigh and Alan Cumming have recently reconciled after a separation. They decide to throw a huge party to celebrate their sixth wedding anniversary. All their friends arrive and the couple's differences begin to show throught the celebration.

Some decent stuff here, but a lot of the moments feel thrown in just to make things worse between the couple. It doesn't feel like a real couple.
Joseph E

Super Reviewer

December 23, 2009
This is what happens when you let just anyone direct films...films like these.
Ed K

Super Reviewer

November 28, 2009
Don't let the fact that the title contains the word "party" fool you.
eavilli
December 28, 2008
Shows very different people meeting up and conflicts are interesting to be acknowledged (in the 90s these seemed more like novelty though) but it seems there is too much effort to show them. Not bad though.
Sunil J

Super Reviewer

April 12, 2008
There's something quite unusual about this movie. It's like the Big Chill for the new millenium.
October 5, 2008
It was okay. Great cast..but it was a bit odd.
January 4, 2008
My favorite screenplay of all time.

*Review coming soon*
July 13, 2008
Need to see the entirety of this
SaintFrancisofAssisi
June 10, 2008
Not at all interested
339z
June 6, 2008
wow i have just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie...this is nothing special but its pretty good 2 see..i think that its nice 2 see alan cumming (who played nightcrawler in X-Men 2, the tv show tin man as the man without a brain, the mask part 2 the baby 1..nd some other tv shows n movies)...both him n jennifer jason-leigh both do a good job of directing this Drama movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie because it gives you shocks, twists,turns throughout this movie...this is a good movie, its nothing special but its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie...
absolutnormal
May 31, 2008
I love Alan! this movie was a little weird tho :)
April 11, 2008
The Anniversary offers up a great cast, sadly most of the cast is pushed aside for Alan Cummings and Jennifer Jason Leigh. Kevin Kline and John C. Reilly are virtual onlookers there for scenery. The things i found hardest to understand with this is how homosexual Alan Cummings wrote himself a straight role but played it like he was so openly gay, it just made viewing hard.
Page 2 of 12
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile