Any Questions for Ben? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Any Questions for Ben? Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
April 27, 2012
The Working Dog writing group's collaboration feels so organic. This is searching, vulnerable, dramatic, comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Cameron Williams
The Popcorn Junkie
March 8, 2012
It's a film made for the 1% who question their sweet life while sitting on a gold plated toilet.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Tim Martain
The Mercury
February 11, 2012
While the film does have its flaws story-wise, the killer dialogue with its uniquely Australian style of wit makes it a true joy to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Julie Rigg
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
February 10, 2012
Any Questions for Ben? is watchable enough. But it could have been so much more.
Peter Galvin
sbs.com.au
February 10, 2012
It's full of the kind of fake insights and sanctimonious crap to be found in magazine self-help columns. Pity, because that's a real fun killer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
February 10, 2012
The problem with the film, apart from it being only sporadically funny, is the character of Ben himself, there's too little development and a lot of repetition. But there's a lot to enjoy here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Sandra Hall
Sydney Morning Herald
February 10, 2012
The whole thing made me nostalgic for Working Dog's sharper days when they would surely have perpetrated all sorts of wickedness at Ben's expense.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
February 10, 2012
I sense that others who similarly fell hard for the soulful sincerity of The Castle and The Dish will feel a little quizzical about the comparative slickness of Any Questions for Ben?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jenny Casablancas
FILMINK (Australia)
February 10, 2012
The talented bunch of actors ably cut through the surface gloss, but it's tough to remain invested in the plight of the self-absorbed lead.
Anthony Morris
The Vine
February 10, 2012
It's a slick, lightweight feel-good film about a bunch of characters who happen to be sharing their glamorous, hard-partying lifestyle with you for a couple of hours.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Glenn Dunks
Trespass
February 10, 2012
It's slight and rarely laugh out loud funny-pleasant and occasionally chucklesome is an apt way to describe its loose style-but in the end I found myself smiling along to the proceedings, so I guess that's a win.
Matt Neal
The Standard
February 9, 2012
It's far from perfect, but it's damned funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
February 9, 2012
Although this third film from the Working Dog team is their weakest, Any Questions for Ben? is still a funny and insightful look into Gen X pressures in an increasingly fast paced world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
February 8, 2012
Even though Any Questions for Ben never really produces any unique answers to make it a revelatory rom-com, it has an easy, low-stakes charm, and is buoyed by its very talented cast of performers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
January 31, 2012
At last, an Australian film that's as sophisticated and slick as its cities, yet down to earth and in touch with our sardonic sense of humour.
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
January 31, 2012
The film is blessed with a sharp cast ready to tread the fine line between comedy and drama that works like glue to hold the film together
January 29, 2012
this graceless comedy has been made by middle-aged dags trying and failing to capture the mannerisms and lifestyles of people decades their junior.
Top Critic
Megan Lehmann
Hollywood Reporter
February 9, 2012
Frank Hatherley
Screen International
February 2, 2012
Page 1 of 1