Apartment 1303 3D Reviews

Page 1 of 7
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
November 28, 2013
This movie is truly awful, exceptionally bad acting, directionless and fails to even make you blink little lone jump, likely to die of boredem rather than scared to death!
YodaMasterJedi
Super Reviewer
June 8, 2013
three stars
Hawaiianguy2991
Super Reviewer
½ October 23, 2014
Describing this film as horrendous is a compliment.....
½ September 2, 2013
Perhaps seeing it in 3D would have made a difference, but I doubt it. A tired, hackneyed haunted apartment film that has some promise from its cast but fails to deliver on the scares.
½ June 26, 2015
I absolutely adore this movie...... well the orginal Japanese screenplay.
½ June 6, 2015
Probably the worst movie ever made. Worse than porn level acting.
½ March 17, 2015
Don't waste time watching this it's trash
½ January 17, 2015
This movie is a train wreck. I think it could've been a decent movie but the acting is truly terrible, like hard to watch terrible.
January 3, 2015
First of all I want to make a point about Rebecca De Mornay. I really like her and I think she is a great actress and I kinda feel sorry for her in relation to this movie, because all the scenes she is in are the only good scenes, but every other scene is crap, so she probably didn't know what she was signing up for. Luckily she still manages to deliver a solid performance, however that is where the good points end.
Every other cast member is a bad actor, especially the actress who plays Janet (who appears to be the main character but randomly dies half an hour into the movie). Julianne Michelle, who plays Janet, has got to be one of the worst actresses ever and the scene where her character dies was one of my favourites; not because it was good but because I didn't have to listen to her utter another damn word.
Anyway, on with the other bad things... the screenplay is absolutely stupid, the story is one of the most un-original i've ever heard (ooh, someone died in an apartment and now makes new residents commit suicide, where have I heard that before). The characters are uninteresting and one-dimensional (except for Rebecca De Mornay's), the CGI is awful, and there is so much of it , even when it's unnecessary e.g. the apartment building, the view from the balcony of 1303, the bath water (grrrrrr). I dread to think what the 3D version of this movie is like. This movie has no redeeming qualities.
Finally, after watching this movie, I tried to think of things in it that allowed me to be glad about the fact that I watched it. All I could come up with was that I now know that Rebecca De Mornay can sing (and is great at it) and that she can still deliver a great performance when under the worst direction and working with the worst supporting cast/screenplay. 2/10. [Do Not Watch This Movie]
½ October 31, 2014
This movie was so horrible, even before it was over it gave me a headache!! Bad writing & horrible acting = garbage.
Hawaiianguy2991
Super Reviewer
½ October 23, 2014
Describing this film as horrendous is a compliment.....
½ October 3, 2014
Il Trash più totale , mamma mia , è proprio vero che allo schifo non c'è mai fine , solo il mio masochismo per film trash me lo farebbe rivedere per crepare dalle risate ahahahahah!!!
August 22, 2014
It is worth mentioning before I write my review of "Apartment 1303" 3D that I state that I have watched the 2007 Japanese film (Totally enjoyed that film), however I will try view the 2012 redo based solely on Michael Taverna's intended vision.

"Apartment 1303" stars Mischa Barton, Rebecca De Mornay, Julianne Michelle, Corey Sevier, John Diehl, Kathleen Mackey and Jessica Malka. The story is set in Detroit and follows Barton's character Lara Slate, who searches for answers to her sister's untimely death that is chalked up to depressed 20-something suicide after "jumping" from the balcony of the new apartment she had just leased. The older Slate sister soon realizes the true state of things in the apartment and building where her sister had planned to call home. Janet looked to leave behind an alcoholic washed-up singer/song-writer mother's home to make a new independent start.

The story of "Apartment 1303" is classic and still modern enough to set up a really good horror story, paranormal or otherwise. It just works because humans are standard in how they direct their lives in society. We all break the chains of or beginnings to make a new, hopefully better, start in life and that often has us dealing with both horrors and joys, so you would think that Taverna's film would be tight. It isn't, but it should have been. Something in the chemistry of this paranormal vision is just not mixing write.

The acting is pretty B-level, with some a couple of actors giving a better performance, unfortunately the good performances didn't come from the ones that the film needed to carry this story into a real, and spooky place that would have made this film a proper ghost story. Mischa's performance was pretty standard Mischa but Julianne Michelle's acting seemed fake and the gods only know what character Rebecca De Mornay was channeling. It came off to much of a caricature and theatrical for what the overall atmosphere of this film was going for- unless the director asked for camp. Then I guess... I had to make amends with that element of "Apartment 1303" to watch this film completely. Don't get me wrong the performances were not atrocious, they just didn't come together (or mix well) to bring the chemistry and plausibility of the characters where they should have been to draw me in.

As for the effects and soundtrack in "Apartment 1303" I can't say anything bad because it was all pretty well done and should have, or could have rather, made this film pop chillingly. However it was set up, predictable - copy/paste scenarios that fill almost all paranormal horror films that aren't found-footage. There was no real sudden shock moments that thrilled me, well twice I did jump but mostly I just sat, very frustrated, waiting for the film to end and bitching that it wasn't as thrilling as it could have been. It just all fell flat.

The practical effects and spook tricks were nice, so kudos to the FX team on this one-too many to mention in this or I would. The sound department did okay, overall the sound effects walked the line between cool and cliché but it did more to help the film than hurt it. The music is pretty standard but it gave the film it's only real since of emotional communication between story and me. I personally did not get enough out of "Apartment 1303" to find it entertaining or scary but by all means if you see it in the discount bin or get a good deal for renting it and just wanna check it out-go for it-just don't expect much.
½ August 12, 2014
Una completa basura, perdida de tiempo absoluta.
½ July 22, 2014
Weak plot. Really bad special effects. Almost funny.
June 13, 2014
This is a horrible movie, bad acting!! The director must have taken the first take of every single shot. Don't waste your time.
½ May 26, 2014
Monday, May 26, 2014

(2013) Apartment 1303
HORROR

A very shallow and bland remake from the Japanese horror film made in 2007 from the story by Kei Ôishi, starring Julianne Michelle as Janet Slate leasing the perfect apartment only to find out later that it could be haunted. Mischa Barton also stars as Janet's older sister Lara, as she's trying to get along with her alcoholic mother, Maddie (Rebecca De Mornay) who's a rock singer.

Some of the existing problems is almost immediate such as how come if both daughters hated the mother so much, how come they don't live with their fathers or friends? What's preventing Janet from getting her older sister to move in with her if she's so scared being alone in the apartment? What's the deal with the only two ghostly people living in the same floor as Janet? Where are the other renters, and who're the other renters? How come the super suddenly became a creepy person to converse with? Does the little girl, Emily ever exist or is she really a ghost? It is these questions and more which is why this film has got to be one of the worst haunted ghost films ever made.

Bomb
May 23, 2014
Bad bad acting....bad sound effects....I can't believe I even watched this.
½ May 18, 2014
A completely inept horror film.
Page 1 of 7