Opening

64% The Maze Runner Sep 19
56% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
92% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
69% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film for Theatres Reviews

Page 3 of 5
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It's inconsequential, potty-mouthed, extremely silly, and -- the worst sin of all -- dead boring.

Full Review Source: Boston Globe | Original Score: 1/4

April 13, 2007
Kevin Carr
Film School Rejects

I honestly feel that the filmmakers and Ted Turner owe me, my family and my future descendants for years to come reparations for this cinematic dog turd.

Full Review Source: Film School Rejects | Original Score: 0/5

April 13, 2007
Frank Ochieng
Movie Eye

Bottom line: consider the engagingly outlandish Aqua Teen Hunger Force as feisty food for incomprehensible thought.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4

April 13, 2007
Scott Von Doviak
Fort Worth Star-Telegram/DFW.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Sure to please its core audience of stoner cartoon enthusiasts.

April 13, 2007
Brian Orndorf
OhmyNews.com

It's this close to pure genius

Full Review Source: OhmyNews.com | Original Score: B

April 12, 2007
Erik Childress
eFilmCritic.com

I don't expect those coming in to a feature version of their adventures to understand why I was laughing so hard at times. But I did expect to laugh far more than I actually did.

Full Review Source: eFilmCritic.com | Original Score: 2.5/4

April 12, 2007
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Aqua Teen Hunger Force is clearly designed to appeal to fans of the show. For the rest of us, its appeal may be something of a stretch.

Full Review Source: Salon.com

April 12, 2007
Alex Markerson
E! Online

The low-rent, patchwork animation wears on the eyes really fast, and most of the comedic dead horses do exactly what dead horses usually do: lie there and rot.

Full Review Source: E! Online | Original Score: D+

April 12, 2007
Glenn Kenny
Premiere Magazine

I am tempted to call Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film For Theaters the most successful full-on surrealist film since Bunuel and Dali's 1930 L'Age d'Or.

Full Review Source: Premiere Magazine | Original Score: 4/4

April 12, 2007
Claudia Puig
USA Today
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Offers occasional laughs amid a jumble of pop-culture references. Despite its Borat-esque title, don't expect a coherent plot.

Full Review Source: USA Today | Original Score: 2/4

April 12, 2007
Dan DeLuca
Philadelphia Inquirer
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Daringly and surprisingly successfully attempts to hold viewers' interest in the (barely) animated triumvirate of Frylock, Master Shake and Meatwad for six times the length of a normal episode.

Full Review Source: Philadelphia Inquirer

April 12, 2007
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com

At one point there is a live chicken on fire, running around the room like, well, a chicken on fire, and that's when I thought: They have no idea what they're doing here.

Full Review Source: EricDSnider.com | Original Score: C-

April 12, 2007
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
Top Critic IconTop Critic

To think we laughed at Boston. Then. They knew a bomb when they saw one.

Full Review Source: Orlando Sentinel | Original Score: 1/5

April 12, 2007
Sean Axmaker
Seattle Post-Intelligencer

I found it intermittently funny, often weirdly engaging and utterly incomprehensible.

Full Review Source: Seattle Post-Intelligencer | Original Score: B-

April 12, 2007
Sam Adams
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A little of this junk-drawer fusillade goes a long way. It would have been interesting to see Maiellaro and Willis up the ante for their big-screen outing, rather than simply riffing at greater length.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times | Original Score: 3/5

April 12, 2007
Laura Clifford
rec.arts.movies.reviews

Boston's Mayor Tom 'Mumbles' Menino wanted this film banned in Boston and this is the first time I would heartily support that Puritanical ethic. The end would have justified the means.

Full Review Source: rec.arts.movies.reviews | Original Score: D-

April 12, 2007
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies

I like "Aqua Teen Hunger Force" as it's meant to be taken: in small, under-15-minute spurts.

Full Review Source: Mark Reviews Movies | Original Score: 1/4

April 12, 2007
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher

There isn't 'getting.' You don't 'get' Aqua Teen Hunger Force. You either accept its insanity, or it makes your head explode. It's, you know, a faith thing.

Full Review Source: Flick Filosopher

April 12, 2007
Josh Rosenblatt
Austin Chronicle

A massive collection of absurdist non sequiturs and deadpan pauses, which, depending on your tastes (and possibly your affinity for mind-altering drugs), are either the stuff of comic genius or proof that the world has stopped making sense entirely.

Full Review Source: Austin Chronicle | Original Score: 2/5

April 12, 2007
M. K. Terrell
Christian Science Monitor

Crudely animated, tasteless, and totally pointless, which I'm sure the filmmakers would say is the point.

Full Review Source: Christian Science Monitor | Original Score: F

April 12, 2007
Page 3 of 5
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile