Argo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Argo Reviews

Page 3 of 15
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
May 13, 2013
A superior effort in which Affleck seldom fails to maintain suspense.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Michael Dequina
March 31, 2013
The film, for all its ample smarts and solid academic craft, is just a great time at the movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Sean Axmaker
Parallax View
March 24, 2013
... a terrific piece of filmmaking.
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
March 21, 2013
Ben Affleck is one of this generation's best directors and "Argo" is a tight, engaging thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Jeremy Lebens
We Got This Covered
February 23, 2013
Argo is director Ben Affleck's weakest effort by far, but still a well-made, performance-driven historical drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
William Bibbiani
February 19, 2013
The only reason to watch Argo is because it's heavily padded, and while it works pretty well regardless, I wouldn't hold that up as an example of high quality filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
February 11, 2013
Ben Affleck is a director who appreciates the art of storytelling and masters the rare virtue of restraint...
Sam Bathe
Fan The Fire
January 20, 2013
The sky's the limit for Ben Affleck right now, and its nothing less than he deserves.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Norman Wilner
NOW Toronto
January 8, 2013
Affleck spins the absurd true story into an engrossing espionage thriller that would be utterly ridiculous if the stakes weren't literally life-or-death.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out Chicago
January 8, 2013
After Gone Baby Gone, The Town and now this directorial-best, Affleck is establishing himself as a major craftsman.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Tom Charity
January 4, 2013
Affleck himself turns in a quietly impressive movie star performance. Tony Mendez is a kind of anti-Bourne, comfortable with his anonymity, living off his wits, not his fists.
Kirk Baird
Toledo Blade
January 4, 2013
Affleck inserts such thoughtful commentary and ideas unobtrusively into his film; there's no ideological ball-peen hammer from the filmmaker to drive his beliefs into the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Charles Ealy
Austin American-Statesman
January 4, 2013
Argo expertly builds tension and makes you wonder whether the mission will succeed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Peter Keough
Boston Phoenix
January 4, 2013
There are many heroes in Ben Affleck's spunky, polished political thriller. But the biggest hero is Hollywood itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
January 2, 2013
A strong yet uneven effort...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jordan Hiller
December 31, 2012
We are invested in this rescue mission not simply because these are fellow Americans in peril, but also because Argo takes the time to make each person behind enemy lines unique and authentic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Kam Williams
December 29, 2012
An edge-of-your-seat thriller not to be forgotten at Oscar time!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Clay Cane
December 28, 2012
'Argo' only clocks in at a two-hour running time and tells a much better story than the films that over-stuff audiences with nearly three-hours.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 26, 2012
Second billing to unabashed jingoism
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Rob Gonsalves
December 17, 2012
This may be the most geek-friendly movie that never did the rounds at Comic-Con.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 3 of 15