Armageddon Reviews

Page 1 of 1694
Super Reviewer
½ June 11, 2008
Back in 1998 after the first asteroid disaster porn flick, we got this second very different take on the same idea. The first movie 'Deep Impact' had been a very serious sensible realistic angle on what would or could happen. This film was helmed by the one and only Michael Bay...hence it went down the over the top action packed cool gadget exploding set piece rammed popcorn fireball with enough gloss and shine to decorate Buck Palace.

What is so funny about this is the plot for this movie is exactly the same as 'Deep Impact', admittedly there isn't much scope for originality when an asteroid is heading to Earth but bloody hell! So yes an asteroid is heading to Earth and its a whopper! NASA are befuddled about what to do so they devise this plan to drill into the asteroids core (or near enough) and plant one of those ever handy nukes we have strewn around our planet for just such an occasion. For this they are gonna need Bruce Willis and his team of beer swillin' fist throwing womanising drunkies to save the day, thank God for Bruce Willis.

So the initial hook for this movie is the bunch of grimy grunts that are handed the job of saving the world. In the other film the team of astronauts were clean cut slickass all Americans (apart from the Russian) that all probably sat down to pee, this time the team are so utterly shabby and rebellious you tend to wonder how the hell they ever manage to get anything done without squabbling drinking or having random brawls. Willis' character shows how unstable he is in the first ten minutes by going after Batfleck's character with a shotgun! a grown adult is falling in love with his grown adult daughter...yeah sure that isn't too overly protective to worrying proportions.

I can't deny that this hook is a winner and Bay nurtures it perfectly. The gathering of the team montage is fun and badass as each member is brought in by officials from their own individual seedy locations, Buscemi's being the best. The casting for this team again is admittedly sheer brilliance, Buscemi is the...errr well he's virtually a seedy prostitute using Lothario that makes you wonder if age ever comes into it. Will Patton is the all round sense of reason for the team, Michael Clarke Duncan is basically the gruff muscle (could he really be anything else?), Batfleck is the handsome young guy who is bonking the romantic angle Liv Tyler and Owen Wilson in one of his first major roles plays a Texan cowboy type because...errm he comes from Texas in real life and has a Texan drawl.

Next to the D-team of heroes you have Keith David playing the gruff US military General who naturally hasn't revealed the entire plan, Fichtner plays the gruff golden boy US astronaut who also hasn't revealed the entire plan because he's in cahoots with the US military, Billy Bob Thornton is the good guy NASA controller who is the sense of reason on the ground and finally Peter Stormare naturally plays a Russian astronaut who comes across as drunk for most of the time. Yep so the cast line is pretty darn sweet no doubt, a solid ensemble.

As I've already explained and as I'm sure you're all aware of the other hook for this movie was the firework display show more commonly known as the special effects. The movie is ridiculous yes, we know this, but at no point does the movie ever try not to be ridiculous, Bay and co know what they are aiming for and they strike with lethal efficiency. The set pieces all look like something from a comicbook superhero flick, the gadgets are big bold and badass, the action is wild and furious with people getting killed off in various obligatory space-like ways and in general it all does look very good even to this day. Add to that the now known Bayisms such as mighty lens flares, mighty low camera angles, mighty explosions...even in space, sunsets, that specific colour palette he seems to regurgitate, slow motion close ups and his military fetish. The only things he doesn't manage to cram in here surprisingly are car porn and hot girly soft porn (Tyler most certainly does not qualify here).

The film in short was a huge huge success mainly because it caters for us...the regular folk. The heroes in the movie are all average Joe's with average looks and various defects (mainly mental), this isn't about big lantern jawed super men with huge biceps and rippling six-packs. The entire premise of regular blue collar bums getting called up to save the Earth is a winning formula that most will get behind. This also adds to the nice array of semi adult humour that is spread throughout the movie plus it cranks up the tension and emotions massively when the guys get into big trouble and you approach the predictable weepy ending. Its genuinely great fun to watch this group of everyday schmoes trying to get through NASA training with their attitudes towards the preppy clean cut environment they are now in and their average everyday physical issues such as being completely out of shape. You also relate and feel for them when the shit hits the fan and they're stuck in this scientific hi-tech terror situation with lots of confusing buttons.

Yep back in the day Bay knew how to throw out a good heavily buttered popcorn flick...before he milked it out of existence. The movie was targeted for the wider audience and it scored in every department, even the God awful Aerosmith power ballad cleaned up as teenage girls everywhere trembled at the knees. The film moved with an incredible pace which I found acceptable given the style of the movie and the fact we already had a slower burning asteroid strike movie earlier in the year. Likewise the authenticity of the whole thing was kinda dubious in places but really? does anyone really need to even question that aspect of it? its quite obvious what could possibly be done in reality and what probably couldn't.

Both of the asteroid flicks that landed back in 1998 were essentially exactly the same thing, they offered the same and delivered the same. Each movie offered the same but from a different angle...and they both worked! amazingly. End of the day as I said in my 'Deep Impact' review, that first movie was the equivalent of a much slower sensible simulator videogame. This movie is the equivalent of an arcade videogame, big bold loud bad colourful and in your face, it should rock you, and honesty for me this movie actually did just that.
Super Reviewer
October 30, 2011
Michael Bay's mindless, brain numbing action extravaganza does it's job by entertaining but is a guilty pleasure at best.
Super Reviewer
July 24, 2013
Too melodramatic and out of place. Michael Bay's apocalyptic picture only provides somewhat-fascinating visual with a stale plot and uninspiring cast. This film is negative in so many ways, that's enjoyable and entertaining just to joke at. 3/5
Super Reviewer
½ March 24, 2012
HOW this got a bad rating from Rotten Tomatoes i will never know, as you would never expect Bruce Willis to sacrifice himself. This is as pure as an action drama film gets.
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
½ September 4, 2007
I love this movie! Its a brilliant movie, with a fantastic cast, you have Willis bringing his macho manlyness, Afflect bringing his nice guy act and then Stormare and Buscemi bringing the comedy! Its got everything that makes this movie fantastic, that added with the possible distruction of earth and the non stop action makes for a really good suspenful end of the world movie, that plus Aerosmiths amazing tune to go with it!! Awesome!
Super Reviewer
September 8, 2011
The only good scene in this movie is when Michael Bay destroys NYC but afterwards comes horrible dialogue, horrible acting, awful cinematography, and simply a boring story. It's funny cause this isn't even Michael Bay's worst movie
DreamExtractor
Super Reviewer
March 6, 2011
Armageddon is a 150 minute movie trailer, it brings only annoying explosions and I wish I hadn't seen it. No acting was good, special effects were lousy, the plot sucked, and Micheal Bay made it, enough said.
MANUGINO
Super Reviewer
April 16, 2008
No more taxes...ever.

Saw it again! One of my favorite movies of all-time! Love the soundtrack, great acting and great story!

It is just another day at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), a few astronauts were repairing a satellite until, out of nowhere, a series of asteroids came crashing into the shuttle, destroying it. These asteroids also decimated New York soon thereafter. Then, NASA discovered that there is an asteroid roughly the size of Texas heading towards the Earth, and when it does hit the Earth, the planet itself and all of its inhabitants will be obliterated, worse, the asteroid will hit the Earth in 18 days. Unfortunately, NASA's plans to destroy the asteroid are irrelevant. That is when the U.S. military decides to use a nuclear warhead to blow the asteroid to pieces. Then, scientists decide to blow the asteroid with the warhead inside the asteroid itself. The only man to do it, is an oil driller named Harry Stamper and his group of misfit drillers and geologists. As he and his drill team prepare for space excavation, the asteroid is still heading towards the Earth. When the crew are launched into outer space, they are determined to destroy this asteroid.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
August 24, 2011
Michael Bay's third feature is a loud mess of a film. What do you expect from a Michael Bay film, right? The surrounds a group of roughneck oil driller who are sent into space to destroy an asteroid the size of Texas. Like with every Michael Bay flick, aside from The Rock and Transformers, this film relies heavily on the special effects to tell its story. I guess all of Bay's films are like that, at least The Rock and Transformers had a few good elements for a story, and it worked. But with the case with Armageddon, the film doesn't work. I felt the acting was corny, the dialogue was poorly written and that some of the actors' performances were a bit over the top. The film was a disappointment and really hasn't stood the test of time for me. This is really a shame, because the idea of the film was good, and if it would've been helmed by some other director, it might have been a wonderful film. But it was helmed by Michael Bay, and he's really good for one thing, blowing shit up as my aunt says. You get just that with Armageddon, plenty of noisy explosions with little character development and below decent acting. Some actors here are plainly wasted, other not so much, as they suck. If you're looking for a similar film with an almost similar plot, give Deep Impact a shot, not this one. At least Deep Impact had genuine human emotion and very good performances, while this film suffered from over acting, a bad script and way, way too many special effects. When your film relies only on CGI, then you have a problem and it moist cases it works well, but in the case of Armageddon, it doesn't. Due to the fact that the acting and story aren't that excellent to begin with.
Super Reviewer
½ November 26, 2009
I happen to be a huge fan of Armageddon. In terms of disaster movies, it is probably the finest in terms of delivering a real threat, mayhem in the streets and an emotional core that will leave you in tears. Michael Bay's ability to juggle so many characters, subplots, and effects is crazy. Not only does this make time for each and every character, it does so with ease. Bruce Willis is at his finest here, with classic one-liners, having a personal vendetta against the asteroid, and his need to be the greatest American of all time. Ben Affleck is also at the top of his game here; this is when he did a great job of playing cocky-yet-lovable characters. Billy Bob Thorton delivers as Houston's greatest asset and just completely dominates the part of the movie centered in the control center. The rest of the cast is also incredibly talented with people like Steve Buscemi, Peter Stormare, Michael Clarke Duncan and Owen Wilson (but I could go on and on). What seems to be Armageddon's finest achievement is it's ability to contain such a rich storyline. Through all of it's characters and miniature plotlines, you get so much emotional connection to these characters and you're at the edge of your seats awaiting the outcome. While some people claim that Armageddon is an empty shell and flat out stupid, I can't help but severely disagree. To make that claim, you either haven't seen the movie, just hate all things Michael Bay or some other weird pre-existing distaste. This movie is presented on such a large scale and deals with some extremely important theories, but never manages to lose its emotional core and make you stop feeling for its characters at any moment. While this isn't as much about special effects as people claim, it certainly delivers on total destruction. The extremely realistic images of a decimated France and meteor showered New York are just a few examples. This fact helps you believe and accept the idea that a good portion of the movie takes place on the asteroid itself; with people oil drilling it. Now I would never claim that this doesn't have some goofy elements, but they are addressed within the movie and done in a way that just lets you accept them for the sake of enjoyment and a good piece of science fiction. At the end of the day, Armageddon is a ridiculously cool movie and easily the grandest and smartest of big-budget disaster movies. With a soundtrack almost exclusively from Aerosmith, you can't help but get amped up over this sci-fi action masterwork.
murphmann93
Super Reviewer
June 24, 2011
One of my favourite films of all time! A must see! A heartbreaking tearjerker! You will cry everytime you watch this.
Super Reviewer
January 9, 2011
Despite being a cheesy crowd-pleaser and the sheer stupidity of the plot, the film is rather enjoyable for its stylistic (and expensive) visualization.
Super Reviewer
April 20, 2011
The characters are fun, the story is fun, a lot of it is fun. But it is not perfect. It doesn't excuse the fact that it is entertaining.
Super Reviewer
January 14, 2010
Armageddon makes me want to call it one of my favourite films. The gripping emotion and the lovable characters give you a feeling of hope and strength of how thankful we should all be to be alive. This is without a doubt, Michael Bays best movie. Extremely underrated is not even saying enough. There was not one character who I disliked, and the fact that I actually cried in the end, just goes to show how powerful this movie truly is. I haven't been able to say this about any Michael Bay films, therefore, I congratulate him in making what I believe to be a masterpiece beyond belief. I may be speaking far to highly about this film in some peoples eyes, but I really could care less what other people think of my thoughts. This movie is jaw-droppingly brilliant! Michael Bay finally hit his mark!
Super Reviewer
½ June 20, 2008
You know the name and the story its either you like it or not is the question?
Its the end of the world Michael bay style and given that this was he's third feature movie its one of he's best(including The Rock). But like so many Michael Bay movies this is all dumb, but is a fun ride.The special effect are the stars of the show with how many city's can be destroy in one movie.And with some of the crappiest dialogue i have ever witness is just plain funny and that just makes this a easy watch even at 151mins .
Super Reviewer
½ June 24, 2010
C+
MeetMeinMontauk
Super Reviewer
May 24, 2009
Was.... was that fire in space? I think it was. Huh. Didn't think that was possible.
It had some really great, pretty shots and edited like a music video. I really hate Liv Tyler and there were some moments that reminded me of Pearl Harbor... oh wait.... same director and a same actor. Huh.
I did like Billy Bob Thorton. :)
Super Reviewer
½ August 15, 2009
I liked "Armageddon" a lot, but it wasn't quite as good as "Deep Impact" in my opinion. Bruce Willis and some other astronauts take to the sky in order to try and stop a comet from hitting the earth and destroying the whole planet. In order to do so, the astronauts must drill a hole in the comet 800 feet deep and place a bomb inside it, and then detonate it. But it won't be as easy as it sounds.
I didn't like "Armageddon" as much as I did "Deep Impact" because I didn't think that it had as good of a storyline as "Deep Impact" had and it wasn't as exciting. "Armageddon" did have some good acting and some great special effects, just the storyline wasn't what it could've been. The best part of the movie is when the astronauts finally land on the comet and start doing their work after they settle some major arguments, that's when the great special effects come into place and last throughout the rest of the movie. Like always Bruce Willis puts on a spectacular performance, and that's what really kept this movie from being a flop. If you like good disaster movies, I would recommend getting "Armageddon." I also recommend checking out the Armageddon soundtrack if you'd like to hear some good music. NOTE: That was my Amazon review from the year 2000. I've always liked Armageddon but like the review said, it was always a little overrated to me, Deep Impact's better.
Super Reviewer
½ December 27, 2006
I'm not sure why people trash on this flick. It does a really good job telling a very large story in a short amount of time. All the actors pull of their roles and some even do a better job than I have seen in more lauded movies.
With such an epic story to tell, the end of the world and all, Bay does great work showing us a world that is worth saving.
The effects still hold up in most shots and the design of the asteroid is different than what we have seen before.
The music works really well in this film as well even though I do think there are a couple aerosmith songs that could have been left out.
All in all it's a fun and exciting movie that holds up to this day.
Page 1 of 1694