As I Lay Dying Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Matt Donato
We Got This Covered
November 10, 2013
As I Lay Dying tries to adapt the impossible, but unfortunately it is bested by Faulkner's weighty source material.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Chris Sawin
Examiner.com
November 6, 2013
Some of the filming techniques are overused and the monologues are a bit too circuitous, but As I Lay Dying has the ability to be quite striking at times and its impulsive structure can be viewed as both an asset and a defect.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Justin Stewart
Film Comment Magazine
November 4, 2013
A qualified, perfectly respectable success
Witney Seibold
CraveOnline
October 30, 2013
Both brilliant and maddening
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Common Sense Media
October 24, 2013
What Franco came up with... is messy, bizarre, muted, and confusing, but it's also heartfelt and personal. It takes more risks than most movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
October 18, 2013
Franco may prove that he has a fresh visual eye, but the highly emotive story is oddly uninvolving.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 17, 2013
Comes across - whether it's Franco's intention or not - as a grossly self-indulgent project that will alienate some of his fan base.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
October 11, 2013
I don't pretend to have a clue how to adapt William Faulkner's "As I Lay Dying" for the screen, but unlike James Franco, I, at least, didn't try.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
October 10, 2013
As a whole ... "As I Lay Dying" conveys some of Faulkner's themes, and the details of the Bundren family story, with clarity and concision.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Sam Adams
The Dissolve
October 10, 2013
Franco doesn't answer the elemental question posed by any literary adaptation: Why does this movie exist?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
October 10, 2013
It remains to be seen whether James Franco can live up to his outsized ambitions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Rich Cline
Contactmusic.com
October 10, 2013
James Franco makes his directing debut with this ambitious adaptation of William Faulkner's notoriously downbeat novel. No surprise: it's extremely grim!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
October 10, 2013
Like Franco's other directorial efforts, it ends up coming across as an academic art object, somewhere halfway between a graduate thesis and a video installation-interesting, but only in context.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Catherine Bray
Time Out
October 9, 2013
Faulkner fans... need not be up in arms about this version of his Nobel Prize winner.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
David Fear
Time Out
October 8, 2013
The past may never be done with us, but Lord, do we wish Franco was done with our literary heritage.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Chris Packham
Village Voice
October 8, 2013
Franco adapted a book that often reads like joyless homework into a film that feels the same way.
Wes Greene
Slant Magazine
October 7, 2013
James Franco's readiness in approaching famously abstract source material certainly doesn't translate well into his directorial formalism, or, more appropriately, lack of formalism.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Dominic Mill
We Got This Covered
September 25, 2013
Whilst undeniably pretty, As I Lay Dying never amounts to the kind of significance its source material, cast and portentous stylings would imply.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Anton Bitel
Eye for Film
September 25, 2013
an extraordinarily well made film that, in keeping us at a distance and failing to engage our sympathies or antipathies for its characters, remains more toothless in the end even than old Anse.
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
September 23, 2013
If this isn't a deliberate parody of furiously solemn, self-conscious artistic pretension, it's an accidental one.
Page 1 of 2