• R, 2 hr.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    James Franco
    In Theaters:
    Sep 27, 2013 Limited
    On DVD:
    Nov 5, 2013
  • Millennium Entertainment

Opening

19% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
54% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
87% Bears Apr 18
55% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
48% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

44% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
73% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

—— Continuum: Season 3
100% Hannibal: Season 2
—— Hart of Dixie: Season 3
—— Last Man Standing: Season 3
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Anger Management: Season 2
92% Community: Season 5
55% The Crazy Ones: Season 1
100% Grey's Anatomy: Season 10
90% Parenthood: Season 5
100% Parks and Recreation: Season 6
100% Portlandia: Season 4
55% Reign: Season 1
0% Saint George: Season 1
100% Scandal: Season 3
73% Sirens: Season 1
68% Surviving Jack: Season 1
92% Vikings: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

As I Lay Dying Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Matt Donato
We Got This Covered

As I Lay Dying tries to adapt the impossible, but unfortunately it is bested by Faulkner's weighty source material.

Full Review Source: We Got This Covered | Original Score: 5/10

November 10, 2013
Chris Sawin
Examiner.com

Some of the filming techniques are overused and the monologues are a bit too circuitous, but As I Lay Dying has the ability to be quite striking at times and its impulsive structure can be viewed as both an asset and a defect.

Full Review Source: Examiner.com | Original Score: 6/10

November 6, 2013
Justin Stewart
Film Comment Magazine

A qualified, perfectly respectable success

Full Review Source: Film Comment Magazine

November 4, 2013
Witney Seibold
CraveOnline

Both brilliant and maddening

Full Review Source: CraveOnline | Original Score: 7.5/10

October 30, 2013
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Common Sense Media

What Franco came up with... is messy, bizarre, muted, and confusing, but it's also heartfelt and personal. It takes more risks than most movies.

Full Review Source: Common Sense Media | Original Score: 3/5

October 24, 2013
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall

Franco may prove that he has a fresh visual eye, but the highly emotive story is oddly uninvolving.

Full Review Source: Shadows on the Wall | Original Score: 3/5

October 18, 2013

Comes across - whether it's Franco's intention or not - as a grossly self-indulgent project that will alienate some of his fan base.

Full Review Source: HeyUGuys | Original Score: 2/5

October 17, 2013
Kyle Smith
New York Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I don't pretend to have a clue how to adapt William Faulkner's "As I Lay Dying" for the screen, but unlike James Franco, I, at least, didn't try.

Full Review Source: New York Post | Original Score: 1.5/4

October 11, 2013
A.O. Scott
New York Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

As a whole ... "As I Lay Dying" conveys some of Faulkner's themes, and the details of the Bundren family story, with clarity and concision.

Full Review Source: New York Times | Original Score: 3/5

October 10, 2013
Sam Adams
The Dissolve

Franco doesn't answer the elemental question posed by any literary adaptation: Why does this movie exist?

Full Review Source: The Dissolve | Original Score: 2/5

October 10, 2013
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It remains to be seen whether James Franco can live up to his outsized ambitions.

Full Review Source: New York Daily News | Original Score: 2/5

October 10, 2013
Rich Cline
Contactmusic.com

James Franco makes his directing debut with this ambitious adaptation of William Faulkner's notoriously downbeat novel. No surprise: it's extremely grim!

Full Review Source: Contactmusic.com | Original Score: 3/5

October 10, 2013

Like Franco's other directorial efforts, it ends up coming across as an academic art object, somewhere halfway between a graduate thesis and a video installation-interesting, but only in context.

Full Review Source: AV Club | Original Score: C

October 10, 2013
Catherine Bray
Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Faulkner fans... need not be up in arms about this version of his Nobel Prize winner.

Full Review Source: Time Out | Original Score: 3/5

October 9, 2013
David Fear
Time Out New York
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The past may never be done with us, but Lord, do we wish Franco was done with our literary heritage.

Full Review Source: Time Out New York | Original Score: 2/5

October 8, 2013
Chris Packham
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Franco adapted a book that often reads like joyless homework into a film that feels the same way.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

October 8, 2013
Wes Greene
Slant Magazine

James Franco's readiness in approaching famously abstract source material certainly doesn't translate well into his directorial formalism, or, more appropriately, lack of formalism.

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: 1.5/4

October 7, 2013
Dominic Mill
We Got This Covered

Whilst undeniably pretty, As I Lay Dying never amounts to the kind of significance its source material, cast and portentous stylings would imply.

Full Review Source: We Got This Covered | Original Score: 4/10

September 25, 2013
Anton Bitel
Eye for Film

an extraordinarily well made film that, in keeping us at a distance and failing to engage our sympathies or antipathies for its characters, remains more toothless in the end even than old Anse.

Full Review Source: Eye for Film

September 25, 2013
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher

If this isn't a deliberate parody of furiously solemn, self-conscious artistic pretension, it's an accidental one.

Full Review Source: Flick Filosopher

September 23, 2013
Page 1 of 2
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile