Avenue Montaigne - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Avenue Montaigne Reviews

Page 2 of 23
October 19, 2015
one of our all time favorite movies. life Co sensed to one block in Paris. incredible
½ August 28, 2014
Watchable but why bother. Much ado about nothing.
June 10, 2010
Wirklich einer meiner französischen Lieblingsfilme! Tolle Cast und super Musik vor kulturellem Hintergrund! (Nach mehrmaligen Schauen verdient er doch 5 Sterne!) (Juli 2014)
-----
french comedy with great soundtrack and lovely stories in a cultural background (theatre play-classical concert-art auction). really enjoy watching this. (June, 2010 / 4.5 stars)
July 1, 2007
Perfect for trist gloomy raining saturday afternoons... Allows you to cheer up!
March 23, 2007
this movie seems like it could be a good one so i think i'd at least give it a try.
May 10, 2013
An enjoyable Parisian montage of the vivid lives along the Avenue Montaigne (a chic blend of 5th Ave, Ginza & the Lincoln Center). the sprightly waitress brings the show together with fluid elfin glee, but 'twas the midlife pianist who was most touching in his performance. overwhelmed by his tight schedule and stiff collar, he threatens his livid wife/agent/secretary/promoter with a secluded life in a log cabin, but as he loosens his collar and rediscovers his passion for music, and what good he can do through his talent, so too do they learn to rediscover their love and warmth.
½ April 21, 2013
"Avenue Montaigne" is one of those films that manages to warm your heart and make your day, even if it isn't grande cinema. For me, there's always that once in a while where you get a film that's entertaining and funny, and "Avenue Montaigne" is just that. It has the vibrancy of a Technicolor Godard movie from the '60s, along with a sweet sense of humor that sets an artistic but frothy tone (which isn't a bad thing at all). The stories, all intertwining, are enjoyable and simple. It's like a Robert Altman ensemble comedy minus the irony or complicated dialogue-- and it's a lot breezier. You could say "Avenue Montaigne" is as lovely as the city it takes place in: Paris.
The film revolves around Jessica (Cecilé de France), an optimistic young woman who moves to Paris from the small town of Mâcon, hoping to get a fresh start. While the first few days are hard for her (she doesn't manage to find a place to live or a job), she eventually gets a job at a stylish café. Because her new job is in the heart of an artistic community, through her job she meets a handful of people that are going through big changes in their lives.
There's Jean-François (Albert Dupontel), a celebrated concert pianist who wants nothing more than to quit big, classical music concerts; there's aging actress Catherine (Valérie Lemercier), who's stuck doing a soap opera and a limiting play when she wants to be a film actress; and then there's Jacques (Claude Brasseur), an art collector that's dying while also trying to reconnect with his son (Christopher Thompson). By the end, everything is resolved, and it makes us feel happy that everything works out.
The cast of "Avenue Montaigne" seems to be having a good time-- whether or not their character is shallow or nice, everyone gives it their all with a lot of pay off. If we didn't have a cast as dedicated and charismatic as this one, would the film be the same? I don't think so. But it's a delight to watch everyone bustling around, just figuring out life; and while this could be boring, none of the stories every sag. In films with multiple stories like this one, there always should be one that isn't as good as the other ... but that isn't the case here. All of them are equally entertaining and fun, and it's great how something so good-natured and sweet can be predictable without being cloying.
Much of it is enjoyable; I loved seeing the goofy, slight bonkers but old Claudie (Dani) lip-synch to old French songs while reliving her past, and when Catherine defies her play director and changes the play she's starring in into the way she wants to-- on opening night. But there are also quite a few poetic moments, as when Jessica stands with melancholy in the rain, looking into the atmosphere, or when Jean-François plays the piano for a group of sickly hospital patients. "Avenue Montaigne" hits the combination of dramatic and funny perfectly, to the point where it's sincere and quite touching.
The key to the film though, is France. Though there are certainly a few standouts here, especially Lemercier, France carries the movie. I've always really liked her-- her pixie hair, crooked smile and curious eyes make her an intriguing beauty, and she maintains to be lovable in nearly all her films. This one shows her at her best. Her spirited and likable characterization of Jessica serves not only as a connector to all of the stories involved, but as the most winning part of the film.
"Avenue Montaigne" may be fluffy, but it's good fluff. It's never sappy; it moves along with energy and slight wit that amuse us more than it should.
April 2, 2013
We really enjoyed revisiting this. It's witty, observant, and explores themes of money, art and love. Especially, love. Characters are well-drawn and plausible, and the tale is played fairly straight with the comedy incidental rather than being the intention.
December 7, 2012
Would like to get round to seeing!
July 17, 2012
i did not get to see this movie it was not in the files in here so i don,t no if i would go see it
June 29, 2012
This is a really fun French comedy-drama. Thoroughly engaging and funny without being crude or stupid.
½ June 11, 2012
Absolutely wonderful picture following some quirky characters in an imaginary quartier in Paris. Intensely human-but never soppy-a lot of cheap wisdom is spilled throughout. We recognize it all too well as advice we've either dispensed ourselves or have been at the receiving end. Career goals get muddled, objectives cross paths and love interferes with paralyzing and exhilarating normalcy. Seen through they eyes of a young girl who has just arrived, this movie takes a top place in the genre of feel-good movies, and I do not mean this pejoratively.
June 10, 2012
A different twist on a moulin rouge type of movie? Could be interesting...
May 6, 2012
Wonderful movie about the love of art, and the art of love.
April 3, 2012
Forgien films also go WAYYYY over my head!!
October 27, 2011
A beautiful affirming movie- do yourself a favor and watch it
April 16, 2011
C'est embêtant quand le personnage central est insupportable...
Elle a beau venir de Mâcon, c'est pas une raison pour être complètement dà (C)bile. Heureusement qu'il y a plusieurs histoires dans l'histoire (Brasseurs et Dupontel sont tres bons).
April 12, 2011
Enjoyable to watch; not overly deep. I will watch Cecille de France in anything. Favorite character is Valerie Lemercier's character - so funny!
January 22, 2011
I adore this movie. Then again, it probably helps that I'm in love with Paris generally and the 8th arrondissement in particular.
March 29, 2008
Yet Another French Slice-of-Life Flick. Ho-hum. I suppose it's capably written, directed, and acted, but this just seems like a francophonic attempt to draw connections between the disparate lives of urban-dwellers. It's a fantasy for the isolated individuals of a post-modern society - that they'll find common ground, companionship, maybe even love somewhere in their social circle, or perhaps beyond it.
Page 2 of 23