Awake - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Awake Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Top Critic
Drew Toal
Time Out
November 16, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
June 5, 2008
Writer-director Joby Harold's debut is stylishly self-assured and suspenseful enough to quicken the pulse.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Brian Holcomb
CinemaBlend.com
May 2, 2008
Outlandish, preposterous, contrived,and implausible thriller which happens to be fun if you ignore the fact that it's outlandish,preposterous,contrived and implausible.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
March 19, 2008
Sex, Lies and Surgical Tape meets I Saw Mommy Killing Santa Claus!
February 28, 2008
much better than i expected
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
January 10, 2008
It becomes more and more fun as the twists pile up -- not entirely convincing, but diverting, like something concocted by a bright eighth-grader.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Michael D. Reid
Victoria Times Colonist (B.C., Canada)
January 10, 2008
Harold sustains an unsettling tone and the graphic depiction of what goes on under the knife is, well, a surgery-phobic patient's worst nightmare
Adam Nayman
eye WEEKLY
January 10, 2008
The twist-happy screenplay holds together, and the actors around Christensen are better than they have to be: not only reliable hands like Lena Olin and Arliss Howard, but also a perfectly cast Jessica Alba, smartly playing with and against her looks.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review
December 7, 2007
Engages the viewer from start to finish and boasts a handful of decent performances. Crazy but fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.75/5
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
December 3, 2007
I'm sure if I saw Awake again, I'd find plot holes you could drive a monster truck through but, on first viewing, I thought it was slick, goofy entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
December 3, 2007
Awake is a pleasing if negligible diversion.
Frank Lovece
Film Journal International
December 3, 2007
It's not a great movie by any means, but as a throwaway thriller with a terrific mid-movie twist, it's not bad way to spend 84 minutes.
Top Critic
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
December 2, 2007
Sometimes in their urgency to prevent critics from seeing their dreck, film companies throw out the baby with the bathwater. Such is the case with this nifty little thriller.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
December 2, 2007
Accuracy is not the point. Suspense is. And from the moment Clay realizes he is not fully under anesthesia and can hear and feel everything that is happening, the movie had me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
September 4, 2014
so far fetched that I couldn't swallow the story
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Emanuel Levy
EmanuelLevy.Com
October 3, 2012
| Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Nigel Floyd
Time Out
November 16, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Steve Heisler
Time Out
November 16, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Matt Glasby
Film4
April 25, 2008
Imagine it's a comedy and pray for the end.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5

Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
March 10, 2011
Page 1 of 4