Away We Go - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Away We Go Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Top Critic
Hank Sartin
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 26, 2011
While the rest of us have been sitting around contentedly with 3-D glasses on our faces, Sam Mendes has been quietly redefining the American family drama.
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
June 26, 2011
Really deserved to have a bigger following.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
February 3, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Nick Rogers
Suite101.com
September 25, 2010
"Away We Go" shared the similarly episodic flutter of familial comedy with "Flirting with Disaster," but evolved to something more than a screwball finish. Ultimately, home represents only all that we can control of the sadness that surrounds us.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
July 19, 2010
Delicado, inteligente e sensível como o casal principal, este talvez seja o mais coeso dos trabalhos de Mendes ao substituir seu cinismo e pessimismo habituais por uma visão doce e otimista da natureza humana.
| Original Score: 4/5
William Goss
Cinematical
December 17, 2009
Nails the melancholy state of being both unsure about living in this world and essentially hopeful about it.
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
December 13, 2009
Despite his reputation as a visually stylish director, Sam Mendes has taken a very low-key approach to Away We Go and by doing so has made his best film since American Beauty.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Giles Hardie
smh.com.au
December 9, 2009
Sam Mendes' Away We Go is two thirds of a good film. Many good laughs. A decent concept. No follow through.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Colin Fraser
FILMINK (Australia)
December 9, 2009
An unconvincing premise is turned into a must-see heartwarming romantic comedy.
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
December 9, 2009
Away We Go is merely a bemused sigh of relief. It is not the most memorable film of recent times, but does little wrong as it goes about its business.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
December 7, 2009
This story of a couple searching for connection and finding in the main grotesques, should be a touch more charming that it actually is. A hint of smugness mars the tone of the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Des Partridge
Courier Mail (Australia)
December 7, 2009
It's the sincerity of the performances by Krasinski and Rudolph that makes you want to see how the journey will end for the couple they play.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
November 28, 2009
Parenthood, relationships and belonging are the themes of this occasionally endearing road movie on which acclaimed director Sam Mendes puts his stamp.
Jeffrey Chen
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
October 4, 2009
The good acting provides an example of what might make this kind of formula work, but it's quite an uphill battle when one can see the scripted situations acting as comic fallbacks.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
October 1, 2009
The result of this odd mix of elements is a film that is both genuinely funny and moving.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Ellen E Jones
Little White Lies
September 18, 2009
Away We Go is the cinematic equivalent of Innocent smoothies: it appears to talk like 'us', while all the time reducing us to another consumer demographic.
| Original Score: 3/5
Olly Richards
Empire Magazine
September 18, 2009
While cynics may find it twee, Mendes fans should greatly enjoy this (gently) surprising change of direction. Go in with the right frame of mind and you'll leave with a big, goofy grin on your face.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
September 18, 2009
Away We Go has an easy, no-particular-place-to-go looseness that doesn't bear too close a scrutiny, but has a certain likability.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Dennis Harvey
Variety
February 23, 2012
Top Critic
Christine Champ
Film.com
May 6, 2011

Dark Horizons
December 26, 2010
Page 1 of 9