Away We Go - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Away We Go Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Will Leitch
June 22, 2013
This movie lives in a bubbleland of its main two characters' heads, who shamble along to and fro, never really engaging the planet or stepping outside themselves in any noteworthy way.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
June 26, 2009
...takes the boorishness of conventional Americans as a given and valorizes nonconformity for its own sake.
Full Review | Original Score: 79/100
Pete Hammond
June 7, 2009
This hapless and annoying episodic comedy is one road trip you'll probably wish you hadn't taken.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Adam Lippe
November 9, 2009
Krasinski and Rudolph have nothing to play. They are a stand-in for the audience in the same way that Styrofoam peanuts protect the contents of your package; lifeless, breakable, malleable, and totally unrelated to what they are assigned to protect.
Brett Ashley
September 18, 2009
This is a feelgood movie that will make you want to break up with your significant other, head for the nearest, seediest strip joint and get very, very drunk.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Tom Hutchinson
Filmstar Magazine
September 18, 2009
Although Away We Go doesn't sum to the icon of loveliness that the filmmakers might have hoped for - it is too tonally fractured - the movie does suggest avenues that Sam Mendes might consider exploring in the future.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Toby Young
Times [UK]
September 18, 2009
Away We Go is a reminder that being a successful author does not mean you can dash off a screenplay without learning the craft.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Martyn Pedler
Triple J
December 7, 2009
The fact that director Sam Mendes always gives off the impression that he's oh-so-much-smarter than his characters doesn't help.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Fernando F. Croce
August 25, 2009
Away you go
Chris Barsanti
June 5, 2009
A finely pedigreed comic road film that, when all is said and done, is too finely-tooled for the NPR set to have much life left in it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Christian Toto
What Would Toto Watch?
June 12, 2009
The quirky meter hits red early and often in the disappointing Away We Go
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Katey Rich
May 31, 2009
Away We Go feels like a short story, an overwritten exercise, a twee idea dragged to feature length.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Christopher Orr
The New Republic
June 16, 2009
You may very well enjoy Away We Go more than I did. But rest assured that you will never love this movie as much as it loves itself.
Victoria Alexander
June 25, 2009
Indulgent bore about a freeloading confused couple who visit friends. Nothing happens.
Full Review
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
November 28, 2009
The film is a bit too sentimental and rather flat, despite some amusing scenes
Prairie Miller
June 4, 2009
Too much information bedrooms, and vibes that may encourage skipping parenthood altogether for those who haven't quite made up their minds yet. And a pro-isolationist impression that the grass is always greener on one's own side of the picket fence.
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
June 18, 2009
Full-up with caricatures... fails in the most dire way to make any comments on the state of parenting and coupling in America rooted in actual observation.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
June 5, 2009
Director Sam Mendes fails to make them as beautifully fragile as he wants to.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Cole Smithey
May 27, 2009
The movie almost works as a cautionary tale about global overpopulation by imbecile parents, but even that would be a bridge too far for this pathetic navel rub that comes with the same sense of entitlement that it pretends to skewer.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
June 12, 2009
Away We Go is dead-end Quirkville, penned by real-life couple Dave Eggers and Vendela Vida, successful authors taking an unfortunate wrong turn into movie writing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Christine Champ
May 6, 2011
Top Critic
Dennis Harvey
February 23, 2012

Dark Horizons
December 26, 2010
Page 1 of 9