Opening

41% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
42% If I Stay Aug 22
18% When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
9% Are You Here Aug 22
96% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
15% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
34% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
32% The Giver $12.3M
21% Into The Storm $7.9M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
64% Lucy $5.5M
39% Step Up: All In $2.7M
61% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
85% The Congress Aug 29
—— The Calling Aug 29

Premieres Tonight

17% BoJack Horseman: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Babysitter Wanted Reviews

Page 2 of 14
blackcecily
March 23, 2010
Well first of all I have to mention how bad the soundtrack is in this movie. Soooo BAD! The amount of religious undertones was annoying at time and i definitely went in a direction I wasn't expecting. Over all pretty cheesy. Had a good amount of gore though an the guy who plays the boys father is probably the best one in the whole movie. Meh
January 31, 2014
What a steaming pile of S**T!!! For anyone to think this is a good movie is mind blowing to me. The only thing remotely scary about this movie is the horrendous "acting" and awful everything else! JESUS!
January 12, 2014
Takes the Horror Movie back to school--Great horror flick!!!!
September 11, 2013
Babysitter is probably one of the average horror film that I thought it was tamed in gore, but not necessarly a bad thing, thin script, cliche plot (it's been done before), performance was ok, and fairly suspenseful. Overall better then a lot of average horror films.
April 26, 2013
nice horror movie with pretty good plot :)
May 30, 2012
This film is truly watchable, edge-of-your seat horror movie...
toxiemite
March 4, 2013
I've had Babysitter Wanted sitting on my desk for months and recently I read an article about 20 horror films you might not know about but should.... Babysitter Wanted was one of them. And so I fastlined the movie and watched it tonight and I have to say it is not the movie I was expecting. The poster art and trailer set it up as another torture porn and yet the synopsis suggests that its a typical slasher. It carries both of those suggestions but takes a really fucking weird, yet oddly cool, turn and becomes something entirely different. To reveal too much is to spoil it. The movie starts off shaky and there are a few improbabilities (even for the genre) but a forgiving mind will cast them aside and enjoy it for what it is. The acting is decent and the themes are grotesque... there is a lot of gore but it's often restrained and I would love to have seen more. I recommend it... suspend your disbelief and approach it with no expectations and you'll be surprised.
November 10, 2012
Babysitter Wanted really isn't a bad little movie at all. It's fresh, enjoyable and at times rather gross. I'd definitely recommend this one to the more serious horror fans.
September 15, 2010
A pleasant surprise! Low budget horror may tread familiar ground but, does so in an effective and entertaining manner. The familiar story of the imperiled babysitter is treated with spooky atmoshphere, suspense and a good splattering of blood and gore. The film also has some amusing twists and a demented sense of humor at times. A fun little horror flick that deserves some attention.
October 2, 2012
It's official: this is the worst movie I have seen so far.

PLOT:A religious college student (Sarah Thompson) wants a job to make extra money and get away from her rude, stoner roommate (Nana Visitor) so she finds a babysitter job on the college bulletin and takes it. A task as simple as watching a kid sleep is what the parents leave her with, but this kid is kind of strange. He wears a cowboy suit all the time (even in bed), is on a strict diet of buttermilk and diced red meat, and keeps appearing and disappearing. Attatched to that, there's been a killer roaming the streets for young girls and she thinks he may be outside. It's pretty generic altogether, even when the climax when you find out what's up with the kid appears-it all turns generic.

ACTING:Decent for an awful film. Some actors actually try, but are weighed to the floor with a weak and stupid script.

SCORE:Typical horror movie jump-score. It almost sounds like it copies "Saw" and "Friday the 13th" and mashes them together.

EFFECTS:I think a chicken just gave birth because these effects are nothing but cheap cheap CHEAP!

OTHER CONTENT:With all this bad stuff said, you'd think there'd nothing left to critisize, right? WRONG-O! This movie is so cliched it's painful, with the unnecessary fake-outs when you pull a shower curtain and there's nothing there and the bad guys dying and then returning. And the script has painful lines, such as "He only likes female flesh". This movie does try to be something, though, in some way. It tries to be one of the most controversial movies with over-gratuitous and hard-to-watch flesh chopping. Well, it falls so flat on it's face, that it bored me and even made me laugh at times. But no, this movie is not even laughable. It was an overall unnecessary movie. I do have to admit though, even when it is not laughable, I believe every oce in a while that it is fun to watch a ba dmovie because it's fun as hell to either make fun of, or bash it in a review. And believe you me, this is fun as hell to bash.

OVERALL,a horrible, cliched, and unnecessary horror with a generic plot, attempted acting, generic jump-score, cheap-cheap effects, painfully cliched script, panfully stupid lines, gratuitous bflesh-chopping that falls flat on its face. Why'd I watch it? I don't know, but it is THE worst movie I've ever ever seen.
October 2, 2012
i dont care if any super reviewer or anyone says it's shit, they obviously have terrible taste and must like the shitty horror films they can't make like scary movie.
This suspense makes my strong stomach jump, startled, leaped out of how amazing the fright the fact you try in real life to get a job as a babysitter, this one can show the best example how it can be wrong if the family are either evil or just psychopaths like this film shows a prime but not exactly 100% primitive but how it shows the fright, scare and blood since like Halloween maybe?
I recommend watching this film but IF YOU HAVE A WEAK STOMACH i say pass.
People who dislike this movie will like gnaw.
September 23, 2012
Pretty good horror B-flick with a twist in the middle.
September 2, 2012
Features more stingers than all of the Halloween movies combined. Its a silly mish-mash of horror cliches but there's enough energy and blood to keep the film from sinking into full-suck territory.
August 25, 2012
I stumbled across this film while looking up a list of "25 great horror films you wont have seen". I have to say I rather enjoyed it. While at first it seems like its the old clique of church girl goes to college and gets terrorised by demons, then you'd be right. But that's not a bad thing. Packed full of good characterisation and lots of gore, the film avoids just being another horror movie and stands out because of it. The film is pretty predictable but it doesn't matter since the action in the middle is great fun and actually quite scary at times (watch out for that horse!) Definitely worth a look if you get the chance.
July 19, 2012
this was such a great film and great acting . Must see for horror fans of creepy films.
June 7, 2012
Sobresaliente obra de terror cristiano (?) que se destaca debido a su no tan predecible guion y solida dirección
May 8, 2012
Babysitter Wanted opens with a fairly standard premise: a young woman raised by overly protective, hyper-Catholic mother moves away from home to go to college. Needing money, she answers an ad for a babysitter at a house way outside of town. But then the film takes a fairly original turn that I won't spoil for you. Funny, twisted, and somewhat surprising, Babysitter Wanted doesn't fully develop its premise in a completely satisfying way, but is a fun little horror film that differentiates itself from the pack.
March 2, 2012
One of the most brutal, scariest best films i ever seen that won almsot 10 awards ever, if you ever had a weak stomach please do yourself a favor either close your eyes or just pretend you didn't see it all.
This film is nothing but survival against someone who pulled the phone wire which will show the scare and the biggest fright of your life.
The first time you watch this film this will give you nightmares. Trust me.
February 18, 2012
Babysitter in peril variant, which transcends the clichés of the first half, with a few genuine surprises in the second. Hardly essential, but performances, script and direction are all above average and genre fans are unlikely to feel cheated by the rental cost.
Nukleopatra
January 26, 2012
Tries too hard with the twist, which is predictable from the start, and even goes as far as trying to pull you into a ''whodunit,'' which again, is predictable from the start.

Go with ''House of The Devil'' instead.
Page 2 of 14
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile