Basic Instinct 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Basic Instinct 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Michael Dequina
January 26, 2014
We actually don't see very much killing at all--except, maybe, that of the careers of Morrissey and Stone.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Tom Meek
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
Silly, shock-pandering lines like that nearly sink the film to Showgirls level.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Cole Smithey
April 20, 2009
In spite of Sharon Stone's hearty encore performance as the ultimate femme fatale, "Basic Instinct 2" falls unbearably flat.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Dragan Antulov
June 21, 2007
jedan od rijetkih primjera kada je publika pokazala kako, za razliku od Hollywooda, ipak ima pojma o nekim stvarima
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
David Noh
Film Journal International
March 1, 2007
Sadly, nothing following lives up to the prurient promise of this sequence, as the film becomes a monotonously talky, gloomy affair.
Peter Bradshaw
January 27, 2007
Poor Sharon Stone. She's still big; it's the erotic thrillers that got small.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
December 13, 2006
...a script that is so full of cliche's that I actually knew the end of the film 10 minutes before it ended.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
October 3, 2006
full review in Greek
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Linda Ruth Williams
Sight and Sound
September 28, 2006
This is psychoanalytic fable rewritten as pulp fiction. Perhaps that's why it's so ludicrously entertaining.
Top Critic
Nigel Floyd
Time Out
June 24, 2006
As a stand-alone film, this doesn't work; but viewed through the prism of the original, it offers some twisted, self-conscious pleasures.
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
May 15, 2006
I won't say I didn't enjoy it; this is the kind of film that begs to be talked back to, that satisfies our highly developed taste for schadenfreude.
Full Review | Original Score: 69/100
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
May 12, 2006
Michael Caton-Jones directs with bland disinterest, but Stone hams it up with the campy relish of a drag queen doing Faye Dunaway in Mommie Dearest.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Philip French
Observer [UK]
May 6, 2006
With her raunchy innuendo and near-parodic sexuality, Stone seems to be coming on as the Mae West of film noir.
Matthew Turner
May 6, 2006
Morrissey's performance is much better than the film really deserves - he pulls off a complex blend of pride and barely suppressed rage whilst still remaining sympathetic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kim Newman
Empire Magazine
May 6, 2006
You've been here before when it was fresher.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Shlomo Schwartzberg
Boxoffice Magazine
May 6, 2006
It's left to David Thewlis as a know-it-all cynical cop to walk away with the whole film. He brings a mischievousness and wit to a movie sorely lacking in both and offers a fine example of what this sequel should have been.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Stina Chyn
Film Threat
May 6, 2006
We're not in the 90s anymore.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Brie Beazley
May 6, 2006
Everything about this movie is bad.
| Original Score: 1/4
Matthew Leyland
May 6, 2006
A veritable cold shower of a sequel to 1992's softcore spectacular.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
May 6, 2006
[A] garish, deliciously awful sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Page 1 of 8