Battleship Reviews

Page 1 of 11
March 4, 2013
An assault on reason, logic and complex characterisation, but in an enjoyable way, like a slightly less camp dramatisation of the Village People's finest ship-based sing-song.
Jason Gorber
TwitchFilm
January 9, 2013
We should celebrate the explicit nature, the unabashed and unapologetic chutzpah of a film that dares to be stupid, yet does so with so much intelligence.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Kofi Outlaw
ScreenRant
October 2, 2012
Battleship is a movie that is enjoyable beyond expectation, but doesn't offer much more than the fast-food-style fun of a summer movie spectacle.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
September 24, 2012
Watch the movie for its spectacle and nothing else.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Brian Holcomb
CinemaBlend.com
September 13, 2012
Believe it or not, no one ever says the game's signature line. So, lets say it here, all together and with enthusiasm, "You sunk my Battleship!"
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
William Bibbiani
CraveOnline
August 22, 2012
Battleship is to chicken burritos what The Avengers was to shawarma.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
May 30, 2012
I am a sucker for these kinds of big, dumb action movies (I liked "John Carter" and "The Green Lantern" too), particularly if they have a good deal of science fiction in them, and this one does.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Mark Ramsey
MovieJuice!
May 28, 2012
The best part of Battleship's lackluster opening is that it immediately puts other game-based projects into turnaround: Easy Bake Oven: Apocalypse and My Pretty Pony: Rise of the Lycans, I'm talking to you.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Michelle Alexandria
Eclipse Magazine
May 27, 2012
Peter Berg delivers his love letter to the military in a movie disguised as an Alien Invasion board game.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
May 20, 2012
I never thought I'd be saying this, but I enjoyed it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kam Williams
AALBC.com
May 20, 2012
The epitome of a summer blockbuster: a dizzying display of derring-do, patriotism and fearlessness in the face of an overwhelming alien invasion on the high seas. And the guy even gets the girl!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Eugene Novikov
Film Blather
May 19, 2012
I had considerably more fun watching Berg destroy Michael Bay at his own game than watching Joss Whedon try to please everyone in the universe with 'The Avengers.'
Full Review | Original Score: B
Tony Medley
Tolucan Times
May 19, 2012
Terrific! Fantastic special effects highlight this high-tension film of ordinary mortals who can die if things go wrong in a fight to the finish against aliens.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Joshua Tyler
Giant Freakin Robot
May 18, 2012
It's everything that's wrong with modern science fiction and also a lot of fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Sean O'Connell
CinemaBlend.com
May 18, 2012
The whole movie feels like Roland Emmerich's sperm and Michael Bay's sperm fertilized an egg Tony Scott cryogenically froze back in 1986, producing a "baby" with qualities of all of its "birth" fathers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Gary Wolcott
Tri-City Herald
May 18, 2012
Battleship may be based on the popular Hasbro game, but it's more like Transformers. Only Battleship can claim a better plot. But "better" is always a relative term.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Matthew Razak
Flixist.com
May 18, 2012
Battleship is a movie where even benign satellite messages sent from NASA to distant worlds are giant laser beams that shoot through space causing lens flares and surround sound action.
Full Review | Original Score: 63/100
Andrea Chase
Killer Movie Reviews
May 18, 2012
the film adds space invaders to the traditional maritime conflict, yet never forgets its humble roots as a board game played with pegs and increasingly educated guesses
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Sandie Angulo Chen
Common Sense Media
May 18, 2012
Over-the-top sci-fi action with great special effects.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Brian Juergens
AfterElton.com
May 18, 2012
A deafening, seizure-inducing, patently ridiculous full-length military ad co-directed by Michael Bay and a trash compactor. Worst of all, it's also a hell of a lot of fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Page 1 of 11