Battleship Reviews

Page 2 of 479
June 9, 2015
Have we gotten spoiled? Or did some of these folks not even see the movie. Just sat down and watched it again today, and I have to rank Battleship as one of my ALL-TIME favorite movies. It has action, love , humor, courage (some natural, some ?aquired?, and attention to detail that makes this a VERY enjoyable and entertaining movie. And to be able to encorporate some real naval vessels, especially the Missouri....well, appreciate the work that went enter making this movie. Cudos to Peter Berg and Hasbro for bring this work to the screen. Ignore the haters.....this is a GREAT film.
½ January 4, 2013
differant but keeps you watching
October 4, 2013
good effects, less acting.
May 23, 2015
What an amazing film! Poorly written? If your film preference is along the lines of Alien/Si-Fi with an additive of Action and Comedy, i cant offer a reason why not to watch this. There has been speculation as to why this film is a 'flop', including the proposition that it doesn't have many 'big stars' (what is Liam Neeson if not an amazing actor?).
I would like to believe that the only reason that this film hasn't scored as big as it should of, is because its release was close to the release of many other great films (such as Avengers) which may of partially shrouded the deserved praise this film should receive, and not that the 'Top critics' have gone blind.
I am an avid film fan, with a varied range, and can honestly say that this is a fantastic film, with a great cast, top quality effects and a story line that successfully and cleverly integrates a board game with an alien film, WHAT IS NOT TO LOVE?. Please Peter Berg, give us what we crave; a sequel as good as the first film! But what do i know, im just a film fan ;)
May 16, 2015
A lot better than heard/expected.
½ May 5, 2015
What does Liam Neeson care he got paid! Rihanna isn't an actress, and Taylor Kitsch is lucky to even be an actor. That said I won't criticize the acting, instead I'll criticize, the writing. Starting with, "I gotta write a movie called battleship? Based on the game? So a WW2 navel warfare farce..." Okay someone shot down that ideal in favor of an alien invasion set in an era when the USN doesn't use battleships. So to get a battleship even in the movie they have to recommission a decommissioned one to battle aliens who already defeat our most modern warships. It would be much more entertaining to actually play battleship than watch this film.
½ December 14, 2011
Over the top ridiculous...but still a good time if you like watching things blow up.
½ March 27, 2015
The only thing amazing about Battleship is that it took four people to write the script. The computer opponent from the Battleship PC game could write a better story.
April 14, 2015
Great action, story and the CG effects are outstanding.
½ March 24, 2015
The movie was on TV last night. Fortunately, I missed the first hour. I had to solicit my FB friends for the title of the film. My post sums it up:

I secretly enjoy hating on bad sci-fi movies, so last night was epic! Except i never figured out what the movie was called. Big budget blockbuster. Military recruitment porn. Light skinded black pop star weapon specialist hottie (Rhianna? Is that a thing?). Mean aliens. Cultural stereotypes of Asians. If I had to guess the name of the movie... id have to say something like "Attack on Cliche' Island" or "Super Pow Man Navy Guys and Army Guy and also Hot Girl Defeat Technologically Advanced Alien Invaders". And there's a Science Nerd. He does something too. Does anyone know what movie this is?

...and yet I watched it. I watched it because I have insomnia and it was on, and I can't look away when I see a total train wreck. Like if a train wreck and a porno movie had a child - and the child supported racist cops who shoot unarmed black teenagers... then that child would be this movie.

Seriously. This movie is so bad, it will give you Ass Cancer if you don't already have it. All those fat, middle Americans who gave it 5 stars? They already have bad-movie ass cancer...
½ March 23, 2015
Battleship suffers from thin scripting, predictability and outright awful acting.
½ February 26, 2014
Crazy Transformer-esque (but pretty cool) action, coupled with terrible acting, especially by Rihanna. Brooklyn Decker sizzles though.
March 16, 2015
A contender for the title of the dumbest movie of the century. Top Gun mixed with Independence Day mixed with Transformers mixed with (the board game) Battleship. But not as good as any of those things. Incredibly stupid, with some dialogue and acting (Kitsch, Decker, Rihanna) so bad that it becomes almost offensive. But some casting (the Japanese Cap'n, Vampire Eric, Neeson (of course) and the gooddamn BISCUIT as the Secretary of Defense)
makes this partially redeemable. And some sequences - a spin on the actual GAME of Battleship, and the old timers in the Arizona - are kinda rousing and kinda fun. Stupid ain't always a bad thing. But here...it comes close.
March 13, 2015
So terrible. An atrocity. One of the worst movies I have ever seen.
March 11, 2015
Yes this movie was not marketing properly. And yes it feels like Transformers when Transformers' movies carry a mindless stink with them.

After you get past the grueling first 45 minutes it's actually a solid action movie. Pits man vs alien. Rivals uniting to over come a common enemy and a blend of brain/brawn. It does have a ridiculous grid scene, but the movie is called Battleship; and that's part of the cheesy entertainment.

I understand there needs to be some character set-up to help you care for these people during their conflict. But it took so long to get going you stopped caring before the action started.
February 28, 2015
Battleship was such a disappointment for me because the plot is "drained" as in bad. It's not good, it's more of a comedy, very cheaply made its nothing like transformers so for that I'm going to give battleship 1/5 stars
June 3, 2012
(35%)
As far as the writing, acting, along with everything else that matters this is a pretty poor, hollow, forgettable, overly-long sit. But if it must be compared to Transformers 2, which it can quite easily, then this is a borderline masterpiece. First of all it has a sliver of a plot that can at least be followed without ever wanting to chew your own lips off to distract from the sheer awfulness. Then there's the overblown action that thankfully Michael Bay didn't direct so there is at least some enjoyment to be had from simply knowing what the hell is going on. There's also none of Bay's PG-13 pushing ogling of the female cast like a randy teenager, plus the fact that this may be over-long by about 50 minutes, but the running time is still under three weeks. With all that said though once this is put along-side a good film it's a poor watch, and I'm certain that I'll never watch it again as it's just yet another dull modern-day mutiplex filler with a goal of clawing cash and nothing really more.
February 17, 2015
Battleship gets points for trying to be fun, but unfortunately the final product fails to justify any effort at all.
February 16, 2015
great graphics and a good story
February 9, 2015
They actually filmed on the USS Missouri and actually VETS in the movie, they had a 94 year old as part of the crew! So it's a great film about past and current military, those who have given their lives and have been injured in the line of duty. The cast is really cool and the first 20 minutes were kinda slow but pay off at the end of the movie. So cool Navy stuff and Aliens!
Page 2 of 479