Be Cool Reviews

Page 2 of 211
½ September 30, 2015
"The Rock Gave A Rock Solid Performance"
("Holy [Cow] -- It Is The Rock!")

*** 1/2
½ January 1, 2011
Perhaps the biggest crime of "Be Cool" is that it isn't nearly as good as its predecessor "Get Shorty". However, in its favor: a huge cast of all-stars, a witty writing style and characters we fell in love with in the first installment. Vince Vaughn hilariously steals the show from John Travolta (who is still great as Chili Palmer), Uma Thurman & The Rock make great additions and Cedric the Entertainer displays a surprising skill at acting; a better-than-you've-heard film coming from the mind of Elmore Leonard. 11/19/9
August 29, 2015
this movie has it all, the plot unfolds humorously and is well fit together. vince vaughn and the rock - omgosh awesome! everyone plays a great role. wife and i actually agree on this movie which is rare, great movie!
½ August 25, 2015
Who could the anticipated audience possibly be? Only numb-nuts that would watch American Idol.
½ August 10, 2015
To cool for school phoned in movie sequel.
Super Reviewer
½ May 28, 2015
Based on the Elmore Leonard novel, Be Cool is a satirical crime thriller. After hearing a promising young singer at a night club movie producer Chili Palmer decides to go into the music business and producer her album, but first he'll have to get her record contract from a rival company and settle a debt with local gangsters. Starring John Travolta, Uma Thurman, Vince Vaughn, Cedric the Entertainer, Harvey Keitel, and The Rock, the film features an all-star cast. However, the characters are a little too lighthearted and silly. In fact the tone of the entire film lacks Leonard's typical edginess, and goes more for farce than satire. Still, Be Cool is fairly entertaining and delivers some good laughs.
½ May 3, 2015
Disappointing, but the original will always be around and that can only be good news.
April 6, 2015
It has a talented cast, But Be cool aims too much for typical gags and celebrity cameos than developing memorable characters and story.
½ November 10, 2014
Well acted and interesting, but no funny for this genre, weak argument and a little predictable.
½ November 10, 2014
Well acted and interesting, but no funny for this genre, weak argument and a little predictable.
½ July 21, 2014
Hate this movie, i remember how pissed off i was, boring af
December 1, 2009
Unwatchable despite fine cast
½ August 9, 2007
Just awful. Pointless sequel has none of the charm of "Get Shorty." Only James Woods is worth watching in this, and he's dead after the first five minutes.
January 23, 2014
If this movie stood alone I think it would have fared better. However it followed Get Shorty which in my opinon is a classic. This sequel didn't have the same flare and Coolness to even be in the same park as the original. An A list cast is the only thing that saves this dud.
½ November 20, 2013
ok fine the script is weak but this movie is very character driven also survives on its cameos and there isnt anything wrong with that at all its a blast to wattch and is hilarious every character does there role just simply perfect
September 29, 2013
Add a Review (Optional)
October 24, 2008
As I remember, it didn't compare to Get Shorty, but that doesn't say much. Cliched and poorly cast against Leonard's novel.
½ August 17, 2013
So much for sequels, you can throw this out right out the window, but I have to say the Gay version of The Rock, really had me for a load of laughs.
August 4, 2013
It's never a good sign when Brett Ratner pulls out as a film's director. "Get Shorty" was kind of an R-rated, family friendly version of "Pulp Fiction." This sequel to "Get Short" plays more like a waterbed down TV spinoff (with a great cast). Where "Get Shorty" had a great energy to it and was darkly funny, this film is just dull and only manages a few funny moments. What's worse is this film tries to focus solely on comedy and wastes a terrific cast. John Travolta and Uma Thurman, nowhere as cool as they were in "Pulp Fiction," can't even generate much energy with this dull story of Chili Palmer getting into the music industry as he did the film industry in the first film. Chili helps a Beyoncé Knowles-like singer get out of her Destiny's Child-like contract with a crooked record company. However, if anyone survives this mess, I'd say it was Vince Vaughan and Dwayne Johnson who consistently provided laughs during their scenes. Elmore Leonard only had a handful of successful film adaptations of his books and Scott Frank wrote two of them, "Get Shorty" and "Out of Sight." This film sorely misses Frank and director Barry Sonnenfeld.
Super Reviewer
July 27, 2013
It has a dynamic cast of actors, musicians and entertainers, but Be Cool can't deliver from the amount of starpower it possessed. The film is bland and has a giggle every now and then, but otherwise, just flat. 2/5
Page 2 of 211