Beach Girls and the Monster - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beach Girls and the Monster Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ December 20, 2010
This is a really bad movie. With 1965's "The Beach Girls and the Monster" you get a mess of a film that has your typical B-movie formula. Terrible acting, horrible music, and awful production values is certified bad entertainment. The film tries to present itself as one of those beach/horror movies that were popular in the 1960s, but fails at every level. With a movie that's just ridiculously bad, you must avoid it at all cost, unless you're really curious and interested in this stuff.

The plot of the movie follows the basics of the B-movie genre. A group of teenagers like to go have some fun near the local beach. But in a cave nearby lurks a monster that kills these teens without any warning. An investigation as to who is the criminal mind is behind the murders proves useless. Meanwhile, Dr. Otto Lindsay must try and create a perfect bond between his son Richard and his new wife Vicky. But Richard does not want to listen to his father, and Vicky is fed up with her husband leaving Otto in a jealous rage. Hmm, I wonder where this will go?

"The Beach Girls and the Monster" excels in everything that makes a bad movie what it is. The acting is atrocious and the direction is just terrible. The camera work is even worse. Because there is constant zooming and quick jump cuts in-between sequences, it gets irritating. This is especially true with the editing. Finally, the music is just horrible; most of the time the soundtrack does not fit with what is going on. And as a special bonus, the songs used are god-awful. With titles like Dance Baby Dance and More Than Wanting You, it's a shame that Frank Sinatra, Jr. even agreed to this project at all. That's right, Frank Sinatra, Jr. did the music. Let that settle in your minds people.

Overall, "The Beach Girls and the Monster" is a really poor excuse for a film. There is no entertaining value presented in the movie at all. My advice, stay away from this movie by all means necessary.
February 1, 2014
This is a band from Riverside, CA. During the surfing days (1963+) the band played around Riverside, San Bernardino and LA. The Beach Girls and the Monster was their first Soundtrack. Yep a late Chinese dinner was pretty much the major income from the movie.
½ May 14, 2013
Hilariously bad. At least it has some groovy music.
April 13, 2013
Boring. Really boring. I'd say i'm a pretty patient person but this was just an hour long soap opera with a man in a rubber suit thrown in for good measure that i didn't want to stick around for, i got half way through and that was that. I must admit that i liked the repetitive surf style soundtrack and i thought the mask on the monster looked great in a cheesy cartoon-y way but i wasn't interested in the characters, nothing seemed to be happening after a beginning that seemed to get straight to the point which i thought was an editing style in its favor. I still don't understand why the guy gave the dead girl's parents a sculpture of her as a mermaid, breasts bare and all. This could have been a bad but hilarious monster movie but it was decided to have been played serious much to its detriment,
Super Reviewer
March 11, 2012
A product of its time and the surf culture scene and those crazy youth wanting to forget life and have fun, the problem is the beach where the crazy youth hang out there is a monster killing them off, but why ??? one such crazy youth who is giving up on working with his father on scientific research gets mixed up in this. this film could annoy the hell out of you, the constant surf music adds comedic value to a degree you cant not like it, the crazy youth dancing also very funny, how times have changed, the film is total b movie and yes its bad but fun to watch, bad acting bad direction but never i believe ties to hide this, this is what they were, just beware.
½ October 28, 2011
All that Beach Girls and the Monster needed was a Great Dane because it's pulls the mask off the monster like it was a Scooby Doo episode. There is actually a lot of fun to me had w/ this movie but none of it is good. The monster costume is beyond cheap but what should I expect. He probably made it himself. I don't think you could have mail ordered something like that..maybe from Japan. The girls are cute though in a 60s kind of way as they dance on the beach in their bikinis to surf music. They're all pretty stupid as a friend on theirs was killed on the beach only to come back a couple days later to party there. Young cute & stupid.. that's how I like em
March 5, 2011
I do believe this is the best movie yet written
½ December 20, 2010
This is a really bad movie. With 1965's "The Beach Girls and the Monster" you get a mess of a film that has your typical B-movie formula. Terrible acting, horrible music, and awful production values is certified bad entertainment. The film tries to present itself as one of those beach/horror movies that were popular in the 1960s, but fails at every level. With a movie that's just ridiculously bad, you must avoid it at all cost, unless you're really curious and interested in this stuff.

The plot of the movie follows the basics of the B-movie genre. A group of teenagers like to go have some fun near the local beach. But in a cave nearby lurks a monster that kills these teens without any warning. An investigation as to who is the criminal mind is behind the murders proves useless. Meanwhile, Dr. Otto Lindsay must try and create a perfect bond between his son Richard and his new wife Vicky. But Richard does not want to listen to his father, and Vicky is fed up with her husband leaving Otto in a jealous rage. Hmm, I wonder where this will go?

"The Beach Girls and the Monster" excels in everything that makes a bad movie what it is. The acting is atrocious and the direction is just terrible. The camera work is even worse. Because there is constant zooming and quick jump cuts in-between sequences, it gets irritating. This is especially true with the editing. Finally, the music is just horrible; most of the time the soundtrack does not fit with what is going on. And as a special bonus, the songs used are god-awful. With titles like Dance Baby Dance and More Than Wanting You, it's a shame that Frank Sinatra, Jr. even agreed to this project at all. That's right, Frank Sinatra, Jr. did the music. Let that settle in your minds people.

Overall, "The Beach Girls and the Monster" is a really poor excuse for a film. There is no entertaining value presented in the movie at all. My advice, stay away from this movie by all means necessary.
½ November 23, 2009
This movie is fantastic! If you invite a load of mates round you can play "Spot the boom". It's not very challenging though. Not only can you see the boom mike in several scenes, you can actually see the pole holding the boom mike. I'm pretty sure in one of the scenes you actually see the hand of the person holding the boom mike.

Amongst the 10 worst films of all time. And deservedly so.
Page 1 of 1