Bean Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
September 30, 2010
Slapstick, but gross-out humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Lisa Alspector
Chicago Reader
April 7, 2010
Rowan Atkinson's recalcitrant TV character is the hub of this 1997 feature that will disappoint fans and nonfans alike.
Rob Nelson
Boston Phoenix
September 5, 2009
Atkinson's reactive brand of bug-eyed and near-silent comedy has always been more akin to Jacques Tati--plus a lecherous pinch of Jerry Lewis, the better to invade the viewer's personal space.
Michael Dequina
February 15, 2009
Atkinson is able to hit the comic jackpot through grunts, gestures, body movements, and, most of all, facial expressions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Judith Egerton
Courier-Journal (Louisville, KY)
June 25, 2004
Atkinson's genius at portraying a pesky, childish adult is reminiscent of the great comic stars of silent movies, Buster Keaton and Charlie Chaplin.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
John R. McEwen
Film Quips Online
February 8, 2003
The film is little more than a showcase for Atkinson's broad slapstick comedy, overdone facial contortions, and bathroom humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
December 8, 2002
I'm pretty sure that I can say it's not a great movie; I'm not so certain I can say it wasn't a funny one.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Widgett Walls
January 1, 2000
Okay, Rowan Atkinson is a funny guy. So what the hell happened with this?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Susan Wloszczyna
USA Today
January 1, 2000
Goes beyond awful to surreally awful.
| Original Score: 2/4
David Bartholomew
Film Journal International
January 1, 2000
Not only do we not care about Bean, we want him to just go away and not bother us anymore.
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: B
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
April 9, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: C
Dragan Antulov
February 9, 2004
| Original Score: 3/10
Susan Tavernetti
Palo Alto Weekly
May 20, 2003
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Peter Stack
San Francisco Chronicle
June 18, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic

Globe and Mail
April 12, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 24, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Guy MacPherson
Apollo Guide
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 19/100
Madeleine Williams
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 3