Opening

90% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
81% Get On Up Aug 01
88% Calvary Aug 01
0% Behaving Badly Aug 01
36% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

59% Lucy $43.9M
63% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
24% Tammy $3.5M
91% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
88% Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
87% What If Aug 08

The Killing

—— The Killing: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

100% The Almighty Johnsons: Season 1
61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Because I Said So Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net

Because I Said So seems like it's supposed to be a paean of sorts to motherhood and the enduring love that entails, a love so strong that it inevitably drives its possessor somewhat batty. But what it is, is muddled crap.

Full Review Source: ComingSoon.net | Original Score: 5/10

January 7, 2011
Jason Zingale
Bullz-Eye.com

Whatever you do, don't go see this movie. Why? Because I said so.

Full Review Source: Bullz-Eye.com | Original Score: 0.5/5

February 3, 2007
Tyler Hanley
Palo Alto Weekly

Ultimately, even a vivacious Diane Keaton can't make a familiar film feel fresh -- no matter how hard she tries.

| Original Score: 2.5/4

February 2, 2007
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies

Are there not... Two points in the adventure of the diver: This movie manages to be offensive and yet dull and predictable, as phony as a Kate Spade sidewalk knock-off bag and as unoriginal as the ready-for VH1 soundtrack.

| Original Score: D

February 1, 2007
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The whole movie feels pushy.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 1.5/4

February 1, 2007
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic IconTop Critic

As almost everyone knows by now, the early part of the year has become a dumping ground for dreadful movies. Still, Because I Said So constitutes unusually toxic waste.

Full Review Source: Wall Street Journal

February 2, 2007
Ted Murphy
Murphy's Movie Reviews

BECAUSE I SAID SO is undone by its uneven screenplay

Full Review Source: Murphy's Movie Reviews | Original Score: C

February 2, 2007
John P. McCarthy
ReelTalk Movie Reviews

On screen or in real life, meddling moms don't get more neurotically ebullient than Diane Keaton's dessert maven in the regrettable 'Because I Said So.'

Full Review Source: ReelTalk Movie Reviews

February 10, 2007
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star

Avoid the movie so you won't waste 90 minutes of your life on an unfunny, derivative mess.

Full Review Source: Arizona Daily Star | Original Score: 2/4

February 1, 2007
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review

...appears to have been made from the parts of other films...

Full Review Source: Nolan's Pop Culture Review | Original Score: 2/4

January 31, 2007
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion

Like steel pins poking through the eyes

Full Review Source: CinePassion

August 28, 2009
James Rocchi
Cinematical

I don't think anyone actually wrote Because I Said So; I think that some Hollywood artificial intelligence think-tank instead fed DVD box sets of The Gilmore Girls and Sex and the City into a computer, along with Pottery Barn catalogs for roughage. ...

Full Review Source: Cinematical | Original Score: 1/4

March 2, 2007
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My motherly advice is: Skip it.

Full Review Source: Houston Chronicle | Original Score: 1.5/4

February 2, 2007
Tom Meek
Boston Phoenix

The ensuing cycle of miscommunication is endless and trying.

Full Review Source: Boston Phoenix | Original Score: 1/4

April 23, 2009
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly

There are chick flicks and upchuck flicks. The movie Because I Said So is an upchuck chick flick.

Full Review Source: Fayetteville Free Weekly | Original Score: 1.0/5

February 2, 2009
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I hated this movie. I think it's the worst performance of Diane Keaton's career.

February 20, 2007
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press

Diane Keaton deserves so much better.

Full Review Source: St. Paul Pioneer Press | Original Score: 1/4

February 1, 2007
George Palathingal
Sydney Morning Herald

It's a lame duck of a film.

Full Review Source: Sydney Morning Herald | Original Score: 1.5/5

May 4, 2007
Kam Williams
NewsBlaze

Fairly annoying from start to finish, primarily because Keaton is still relying on that ever less-endearing assortment of addlepated antics which won her an Academy Award for Annie Hall back in 1978.

Full Review Source: NewsBlaze | Original Score: 1/4

February 6, 2007
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com

The film contains no laughs, no purpose, and no entertainment.

Full Review Source: EricDSnider.com | Original Score: D

February 1, 2007
Page 1 of 8
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile