Opening

21% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
50% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
—— Bears Apr 18
62% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
49% Rio 2 $39.3M
72% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
14% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
79% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Discuss Last Night's Shows

77% About a Boy: Season 1
—— Chicago Fire: Season 2
40% Glee: Season 5
36% Growing Up Fisher: Season 1
86% Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 1
80% The Mindy Project: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 11
—— NCIS: Los Angeles: Season 5
93% New Girl: Season 3
56% The Originals: Season 1
100% Person Of Interest: Season 3
100% Supernatural: Season 9

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

Because I Said So Reviews

Page 1 of 1161
Wildaly M

Super Reviewer

February 27, 2007
Not funny. Not romantic. Just sappy and superficial. Not worth watching.
Nicki M

Super Reviewer

January 4, 2008
This is just a really nice chick flick about 3 sisters, (Lauren Graham, Mandy Moore and Piper Perabo). They have a slightly controlling mother, Daphne, (Diane Keaton), who has been single herself many years and has become worried about Millie (Mandy Moore) and the bad choices she keeps making in men (her sisters are happily married). Worried that Millie will end up alone like herself, Daphne secretly writes an online personal ad and then interviews all the men. Her choice is Jason, a slightly arrogant professional guy (lawyer maybe? Can't remember), but she also meets a charming musician and single dad, Johnny, by chance.
Daphne sets it up so Millie and Jason can meet, without Millie realizing her mum set it up, but Johnny fixes it so he also "Accidently" meets Millie. The rest of the movie is Millie trying to figure out which guy she wants, and the fury when she enevitibly finds out what Daphne did. Okay, it's a no brainier, but I enjoyed this and Millie is a likeable, though flawed character, digging herself into a mess by sleeping with both the guys.
Daphne is also likeable, and sympathetic in her way. A nice story about female relationships with a few laughs and some beautiful looking cakes.
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 23, 2011
I really liked this film. Diane Keaton is always the best type of actress to play a mother as she's extremely funny. Both of the guys were good to look at and even though you genuinely knew
Jennifer X

Super Reviewer

May 26, 2007
I was so, so surprised to find that a) this was not directed by Nancy Meyers, and b) it was directed by the same guy who directed The Truth About Cats and Dogs. Oh well, you win some, you lose some. And this one is definitely a loss - I watch my fair share of bad and really bad movies, but there was something about this one that just made me not sad but angry. The cheese music that had to play every couple seconds a quasi-emotion showed up, Diane Keaton acting a damn fool, the stupid slapstick trips and falls and oh my god gag gag gag. Bland mixes with bland mixes with bland. This is upper crust suburbanite at its very, very worst.
Spencer S

Super Reviewer

December 13, 2008
Just plain boring. Diane Keaton, though lovably neurotic throughout the seventies and eighties, has become a bit of a typecast in roles better suited for lesser actresses. This one in particular, that of a nosy mother who blatantly meddles in her daughters' lives, is meant for someone without the chutzpah that Keaton is so well known for. Her supporting cast is seasoned for these sort of films, meant for them. It's that difference in talent that truly makes the film sad to watch.
arashxak
arashxak

Super Reviewer

August 2, 2008
Just a few bearable moments otherwise a ridiculous & predictable movie, And Keaton & Moore are really annoying, why? Because I Said So
Luke B

Super Reviewer

June 17, 2008
Diane Keaton plays the overbearing psychotic mother that only exists in Hollywood, but when women sit round with their own mums they are quick to point out how "true" it all is. Keaton a fine actress but this character needs to be shot in the fucking face. Scratch that she needs to be tortured, maybe a movie cross-over with Saw. Not only is she the most irritating character since Chris Tucker in The Fifth Element she is painfully stereotyped. Watch her struggle with technology it's a hoot. Luckily in the second half she calms down a lot, one scene is even quite sweet where she doesn't talk. HURRAH. Mandy Moore is just outsstanding, it's a great performance for a naive and broken young lass who could have come across as slutty had it not been for Moores awesome cuteness. The two male love interests are...well one's an absolute arse and the other's cool and sensitive with a hyperactive son. Ooh I wonder who will make the final lovey speech in front of strangers at the end. (It's the cool one). Annoying, adhering to a strict formula and occasionally funny. Yep it's a rom-com.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

January 30, 2007
So funny, charming and romantic with Diane Keaton and Mandy Moore as the mother and daughter that made me laugh so much. I see Diane Keaton has never change in her latest comedy movie, still wearing glasses and long sleeves all the times and I really like her.
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

June 14, 2007
Fantastically cute...
Rachel F

Super Reviewer

May 18, 2007
I loved this movie. The guy Mandy ends up with is very likeable.
Jeff B.
Jeff B.

Super Reviewer

August 10, 2010
Because the premise had great potential?because the cast was highly acclaimed?because the whole she-bang smacked of an intelligent comedy?because the sum of these parts only amounted to one hell of a mess, Because I Said So is a giant lesson in disappointment. Disjointed, long, and formulaic to the point that the audience could watch it blindfolded, this movie cannot not even decide what type of comedy it wanted to be. What should have been a witty romantic comedy quickly descends into a wit-less slap-shtick, reducing the legendary Diane Keaton to a pratfall-prone buffoon in the process.

In the PG-13-rated comedy Because I Said So, Keaton plays an overzealous mother hell-bent to find a proper suitor for her youngest and unmarried daughter (Moore), all the while unknowingly searching for love herself.

Keaton works best in an ensemble comedy (Something?s Gotta Give, for instance, garnered her an Oscar nomination) and Because I Said So stacks the deck with the talented roster of Moore, Lauren Graham, and Piper Perabo to play her impossibly gorgeous daughters. If this reviewer could qualify a film based solely on it including a scene of the cast exchanging one-liners in their panties, the film would be a 4-star affair, but alas: Everybody here seemed game for a good comedy, but the story works in so many I Love Lucy-esque bits for Keaton to sell through that the ensemble could only stand by and wince in pain?not at the clowning, but at the fact that they signed off on the ridiculous script.

Bottom line: One giant lesson in disappointment.
Dannielle A

Super Reviewer

February 10, 2007
First of all, sex jokes aren't funny. ESPECIALLY the ones in this movie. They were cringingly awful. (I hung my head in embarrassment for the makers of this movie.) Most of the characters besides Moore and Keaton's character were stereotypes and didn't seem real to me. The only good part of this movie is the relationship between mother and daughter. The rest of the movie was just terrible.
Fascade F

Super Reviewer

May 11, 2007
The connections between mothers and daughters run so amazingly well between this mother and her daughters. It is a wonderful wholesome endearing flick tha tyou can watch over and over.
Joseph E

Super Reviewer

April 11, 2007
Oh, Please quit acting "Mandy Moore". Your movies are lifeless,undeniably boring, and seriously unromantic melo-dramas, such as "
Because I Said So" or, Um , I mean "Becasue We Know So...!"
Nicolas K

Super Reviewer

October 18, 2007
Really sucks!
ashley h

Super Reviewer

June 16, 2007
This was cute,but Daphne kept shoving to the point of being annoying. I liked the family dynamic and the girls interacting.Cute friday night movie
zeravenyoej
zeravenyoej

Super Reviewer

July 6, 2007
I watched this for two reasons: it was on my friend's ipod and we were on a long distance car ride and because I freaking love Lauren Graham. Actually she gets the most amusing bit in the movie: defending the joys of the uncircumcized man's dramatic entrance. While watchable, almost all of it is pretty lame. Diane Keaten accidentally watches porn and the dog gets horny. Clever. The main thing that bothered me was the existence of Piper Perabo's third sister. It's kind of sad that her best role remains Coyote Ugly. She barely has any screen time here and when she is she comes across as sex-obsessed and disinterested in her family. Mandy Moore fairs decently. Diane Keaten. Talk about a hit and miss actress. She can do great things with the right role. but this isn't it. If you want to see her in better material, check out Somethings Gotta Give or even The Family Stone.
Yinalí R

Super Reviewer

July 3, 2007
Tremendous movie!
William G

Super Reviewer

May 8, 2007
One of the most severely grating and banal rom-coms known to man.
m h

Super Reviewer

December 5, 2008
It was a light-hearted movie, and it had it's funny moments, but it's nothing overly special. I think it would be good for a rainy day, or lit would be good to watch with your mom and sisters. Not too bad.
Page 1 of 1161
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile