Before Sunset Reviews

Page 1 of 9
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
July 22, 2013
...a superior sequel that accomplishes everything that one might've hoped...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
October 1, 2012
A stone-cold masterpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
August 8, 2012
It's a lovely, beguiling little film a rare treat during this overheated season of blockbusters. It's also an unusual example of a follow-up that doesn't seem forced, but expands effortlessly on the original.
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
August 8, 2012
The reunion has some lively moments, but a great deal of slow walking and fatuous talking about love, married life and sex.
Top Critic
Scott Tobias
AV Club
August 8, 2012
Shooting in long takes, Linklater and his actors (who get co-screenwriting credit) allow the conversation to curlicue effortlessly from literate banter to matters of the heart, and sometimes to places in between.
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 22, 2010
Charming, talky romance for older teens and adults.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Nick Rogers
Suite101.com
September 25, 2010
As a romance streaked with regrets, obligations and fears, "Sunset" builds to a wistful, perfect conclusion - a fadeout infused with the idea that a memory's never finished as long as you're alive and one of the loveliest last-line exchanges of all time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Dan Jardine
Cinemania
January 17, 2010
the film takes a miraculous healing turn at the end, and the characters rise above their ruefulness, and use it as a springboard into hope
Full Review | Original Score: 91/100
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
Well acted, very well written, well told, and bears yet another ending that will keep audiences wondering.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
Linklater, Hawke and Delpy have collaborated on the script, resulting in an enthralling snapshot of life from the point of view of two like souls who spark by just being in each other's presence.
Keith H. Brown
Eye for Film
December 7, 2007
Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy have reconvened to bring us this belated, yet very welcome sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
August 25, 2007
Before Sunset retains most of what was engaging about the first movie: it has its gentleness, its romanticism and, most importantly, its idealism. What it has lost is the sense of mystery.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Philip French
Observer [UK]
August 25, 2007
I was charmed, engaged and moved by the delightful Before Sunset, and without having re-seen the earlier picture, it has been upgraded in my mind in the light of the new one.
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
July 23, 2007
A gemlike minimalist triumph -- deeper and more provocative than its predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jordan Hiller
Bangitout.com
August 17, 2006
However, between Delpy, Hawke, and Linklater, a script was born and once again the couple meets, this time in Paris, this time for far fewer hours (and in real time).
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic

Time Out
February 9, 2006
At the risk of overhyping 80 minutes of intimate real-time, this is the soul of generosity, a beautifully vibrant and big-spirited film.
Uri Lessing
www.kcactive.com
July 25, 2005
The dialogue captivates without ever feeling forced or cinematic...
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
February 3, 2005
The characters eventually manage to get beyond their existential ennui and incessant talking to something approaching romance.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Gabe Leibowitz
Film and Felt
January 20, 2005
The final 25 minutes of Before Sunset, starting with excruciatingly honest admissions from both parties in a car backseat, are the best filmmaking I've ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 97/100
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
January 18, 2005
Of course I liked it a lot, I almost loved it. I mean, I often felt like I loved it, but I'm not sure I really did or I'm not sure why. It's, like, a hard movie to argue with.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 9