Being John Malkovich Reviews

Page 2 of 583
Rob K October 13, 2014
No.

There is a lot of greatness in this movie. But don't make me root for the protagonist, just to poop on him in the final scene. That's unforgivable. Sorry, reader, if I ruined the movie for you. But whoever wrote that final scene ruined it for me. Take 2 stars off for the ending.
Sureshot P. Sureshot P. October 5, 2014
Funny and extremely unique and dark, Being John Malkovich is Spike Jonze at his best
Malik A September 27, 2014
fuck...this.........film
Channing Tatum Channing Tatum August 31, 2014
Being John Malkovich is a truly unique film. I mean, it's about finding a portal inside the mind of actor John Malkovich, so there's no way for it to really be "normal". The story revolves around a weird puppeteer (John Cusack) with a weird wife who owns a pet shop (Cameron Diaz). He also works a weird office filled with weird people that have weird secrets about weird stuff. So yeah, this movie's pretty weird. Luckily, this weirdness pays off in the best way possible.

I won't being doing a full review here, so I'll just highlight a few key elements. Firstly, the film, while very disturbing, is quite hilarious. John Malkovich gives an awesome performance as John Malkovich, and really makes this film the strange little thing it is. Spike Jonze directs Being John Malkovich with utter precision, and proves yet again why he's one of the best young directors out there today.

So yeah, Being John Malkovich is weird, but trust me that's a good thing. I highly suggest you see it, as there's nothing else out there truly like it.
Lex J ½ June 27, 2013
It had originality but it didn't appeal to me.
Timothy S January 12, 2008
Malkovich. Malkovich Malkovich Malkovich, Malkovich Malkovich Malkovich Malkovich. Malkovich, Malkovich Malkovich Malkovich Malkovich Malkovich Malkovich, Malkovich Malkovich Malkovich!
Juli N August 20, 2014
I absolutely adore John Malkovich! So when I got a load of this uniquely bizarre film I was in Malkovich Heaven!
Ashley V ½ August 10, 2014
This movie is beyond imaginative and is pure brilliance.
Victor T August 10, 2014
Spike Jonze´s directorial debut and Charlie Kaufman´s breakthrough was undeniably one of the best films of 1999, which was a phenomenal year for cinema with films like "Fight Club", "American Beauty" and "The Matrix" to mention some. "Being John Malkovich" managed to succeed and to be memorable in this year full of cult classics.
Craig Schwartz is an unemployed puppeteer married with a pet obsessed woman called Lotte; Craig manages to get a clerk job in the strange floor 7 1/2 of the Mertin-Flemmer Building, with coworker Maxine who Craig falls in love with despite the fact Maxine shows no interest. Craig discovers a small door that sends him inside the mind of actor John Malkovich, his able to see and sense anything Malkovich does for fifteen minutes before been ejected, he tells Maxine and Lotte about his discovery with each having its own plans for the portal.
With the title "Being John Malkovich" you know that you´re about to see a bizarre and original film but I'm glad to say that's not the only elements this film has. The acting in this film is just amazing thanks to the actors giving everything to make this weird concept work and they succeed with, obviously, John Malkovich being the greatest of them all and kudos for playing along; the characters are quite varied going from unlikeable to a sympathetic victim, are well written and have their own story arcs; Spike Jonze directing is creative, effective, stylish, engaging and even enhances the story in a remarkable way; and finally, the script is just marvelous and has everything: Originality, intelligence, it has some hilarious moments, its unpredictable, good pacing, striking scenes and a variety of well done and strong themes. It should have won the Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay.
"Being John Malkovich" is a fascinating film filled with originality and greatness, thanks to Jonze and Kaufman. It must be said that this film is not for everyone because of it's a bizarre concept and as the films goes on it becomes more and more weird but still is a masterpiece and undeniably one of the best films of 1999 and my personal runner up film of that year. A must see film.
Jesse H April 15, 2014
In movies like this one, (eg "Trainspotting") where incredibly depressing and disturbing stories are mixed with wacky humor, I cannot help but feel the urge to gag. Every line is a desperate cry for help. There is no humor, no justice. Going the gritty/realistic route is fine, as long as the movie is presented as gritty and realistic, rather than hiding under the guise of a quirky comedy. There is nothing to be gained here. It is sadistic mental torture porn. I would rather watch "A Serbian Film" than this manipulative and grotesque piece of garbage, from a rather smart director who I think has potential to make movies that DON'T make me want to gouge my eyes out. Please, don't show this movie to me again, or I might become blind. Please.
ElCochran90 ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
½ July 4, 2007
A smart and original comedy, great to close a full century of filmmaking. When you have a genius of screenwriting working behind the camera of a talented director, you get these marvels to behold. The meta-film concept reversed in a brilliant manner.

89/100
Tim S ½ August 6, 2014
Roger Ebert said that Being John Malkovich was the best film of 1999, and with praise that high, you can't really ignore the film and must seek out. Spike Jonze had some recent success with Her, and that film owes more to this film than even it realizes. Charlie Kaufman's strange yet bold story of an out-of-work puppeteer turned office temp worker who finds a door that leads into the mind of John Malkovich was a tough sell back in the 90's, even at a time when the indie film scene was burgeoning with new ideas and fresh approaches. It's one of those films that's almost impossible to explain to someone who hasn't seen it. Most would call it a romantic comedy with a twist, but it's more complicated than that, and it raises a few issues in your own mind about identity, love and loss, as well as making you think a lot more than you would in a traditional romantic comedy. It plays around with a lot conventions and turns them on their head. The cast is pretty interesting as well, including John Cusack, Cameron Diaz, Catherine Keener, and of course, John Malkovich himself. They all give terrific performances. It's just a terrific piece of filmmaking overall, and one that just seems to get fresher and fresher upon further viewings.
Kate O. Kate O. August 3, 2014
What a movie!!! Now not a new movie, but it is still fresh and unlike any other movie. I loved it! I would like to have a portal into the mind of the writer of this incredibly absurd, original and totally entertaining movie. Half a floor, a portal into someone's mind?? Who could have conjured these story lines?? I have loved John Malkovich since I saw him in Dangerous Liaisons. He is just so cool and I completely understand how he was not only the inspiration for this movie but that he agreed to do it.
MacKenzie P ½ July 20, 2014
Insanely original, characters can be nonsensical to the point that the film has a bit of an Alice in Wonderland type feel, but the thought provoking plot and conflict make it a must see for the existentialist. Incredibly strange and brilliant plot give viewers the same effect as the plot of The Truman Show has.
Kyle R July 17, 2014
Very weird one ... Lots of symbolism and philosophical themes. Being John Malkovich certainly is different and a unique filming experience. Probably a little too out there for most. (Including me)
Brandon P ½ July 16, 2014
A weird movie that is surprisingly great. Probably one of the greatest screenplays and most original stories of all time really propelled Spike Jonze as a film director and a great writer. And John Malkovich is superb in this film. He was amazing and very intense performance from him that bounced his career back into Hollywood.
Simonhardinguk Simonhardinguk July 13, 2014
Being John Malkovich is probably one of the most bizarre films I have seen in recent memory. A film which consists of a portal which allows you to see what acclaimed actor John Malkovich sees is a unique premise. The script is inventive and is hilarious throughout. There are some really clever moments features which will never fit in with any other film.
What makes this film successful is the fact that the actual John Malkovich is prepared to spoof himself. Malkovich naturally does not have the look of someone who would be so willing to parody himself, but he really lets go here. Seeing the actor jump around a room like a puppet is something you will have never seen him do before. When he decides to enter his own portal, you are presented with a scene which is unbelievable and a must-see.
Away from Malkovich, the film showcases many great talents. John Cusack is excellent as the struggling puppeteer and Orson Bean is surprisingly funny. Catherine Keener was nominated for an Oscar for her performance, and whilst she can't be faulted, I believe that Cameron Diaz should have got the mention instead. Unrecognisable to her usual look, Diaz plays one of the more complex characters in a performance not normally seen from her. There are also many cameos from Hollywood Stars with Charlie Sheen providing some of the films best laughs.
Being John Malkovich should have gained more recognition as there are so many great things about it. Spike Jonze has really created something unique which is not seen very often on film.
Pablo Eterovic Pablo Eterovic July 8, 2014
Para mi, John Malkovich es uno de los mejores actores de las últimas 2 décadas. Por eso, una película que invite a entrar a su mente, debe por concepto ser notable. Otra obra maestra de Spike Jonze, que incluso logra obtener buenas actuaciones de 2 actores de muy bajo nivel, como Cameron Diaz y John Cushak. Recomendable.
Page 2 of 583