• R, 1 hr. 49 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Rob Schneider
    In Theaters:
    Mar 24, 2009 Wide
    On DVD:
    Mar 24, 2009
  • Yari Film Group

Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
43% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

67% The Equalizer Sep 26
72% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

100% The Good Wife: Season 6
58% Madam Secretary: Season 1
—— Miss Marple: Season 6

New Episodes Tonight

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Big Stan Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Joly Herman
Common Sense Media

Prison rape comedy is offensive and a waste of time.

Full Review Source: Common Sense Media | Original Score: 1/5

December 19, 2010
Brian Orndorf
DVDTalk.com

A prison comedy that boldly confronts the "hilarity" of male rape, Big Stan isn't as offensive as it imagines itself to be, and nowhere near as silly as I'm sure Rob Schneider hoped for. It's a just a forgettable, unfunny waste of time.

Full Review Source: DVDTalk.com | Original Score: D

March 16, 2009
Ruth Hessey
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I wasted two valuable hours of my life on Big Stan -- don't make the same mistake.

Full Review Source: MovieTime, ABC Radio National

December 1, 2008
Jarrod Walker
FILMINK (Australia)

If you're not a fan, then this won't do much to convert you, unless you, like Schneider, have a dubious obsession with anal rape jokes.

Full Review Source: FILMINK (Australia)

December 1, 2008
Paul Byrnes
Sydney Morning Herald

This may be the first mainstream Hollywood comedy where the anus drives the movie -- and I don't mean that as a double entendre.

Full Review Source: Sydney Morning Herald | Original Score: 1.5/5

December 1, 2008
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)

2008 has, with one or two exceptions, been a diabolical year for American comedy, and Big Stan hits rock bottom.

Full Review Source: At the Movies (Australia) | Original Score: 0.5/5

December 1, 2008
Clint Morris
Moviehole

some good laughs to be had... Schneider's best film since The Hot Chick

Full Review Source: Moviehole | Original Score: 3.5/5

November 23, 2008
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile

If you leave all your grown up sensibilities at the door and fill up on popcorn while watching Big Stan, preferably in a crowd of your like-minded mates, you'll probably have a roaring good time.

Full Review Source: Urban Cinefile

November 20, 2008
Jonathon Valenzuela
Time Out Sydney

Whether you love him or hate him, your opinion of Rob Schneider will remain unchanged by the end.

Full Review Source: Time Out Sydney | Original Score: 3/6

November 19, 2008
Page 1 of 1
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile