Bless Me, Ultima Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Eric D. Snider
About.com
July 13, 2013
A thoughtful, sentimental fable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Todd Jorgenson
Cinemalogue.com
March 29, 2013
... bogged down by its deliberate pace, reliance on Catholic symbolism, and its one-dimensional characters.
Sean Axmaker
Seattle Weekly
March 23, 2013
[Director Carl] Franklin is sensitive to the way boys interact, bump chests, bicker, and bond-just as he is to how adults justify their hypocrisy and excuse their failures.
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
March 7, 2013
Erring only slightly on the Hallmark side.
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
March 7, 2013
Aassured, sensitive, and commendably unpretentious.
Jamie S. Rich
Oregonian
March 5, 2013
The low-level magical realism never gels with the coming-of-age drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mike Scott
Times-Picayune
March 1, 2013
It knows exactly what kind of film it is -- unfortunately, what kind of film it is, is an unimaginatively directed coming-of-age tale with hardly any narrative momentum.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Randy Cordova
Arizona Republic
February 26, 2013
The lyrical book is filled with touches of magical realism. On the other hand, the movie is sorely lacking in both magic and realism. It's all very empty and blah.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Andrea Chase
Killer Movie Reviews
February 24, 2013
a profound story told in a deceptively simple way. Deceptive, but curiously suitable for a film about identity, belief, and the nature both good and evil in all their guises.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeanne Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
February 24, 2013
Based on the novel of the same name by Rudolfo Anaya, "Bless Me, Ultima" is a magical compilation of family, life, death, religion and the meaning of it all.
David Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
February 24, 2013
"Bless Me, Ultima" is a beautifully photographed film, but it has a lot of problems...sketchy character development, but the bigger issue is the film's disjointed flow.
John Wirt
Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA)
February 22, 2013
The choice to include a ponderous narration violates that basic rule of storytelling: Show rather than tell.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Christian Toto
Big Hollywood
February 22, 2013
Bless Me, Ultima creates a wholly original coming of age story by blending mysticism with conventional Catholicism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Stephen Farber
Hollywood Reporter
February 22, 2013
An offbeat slice of Americana will intrigue thoughtful moviegoers.
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
February 22, 2013
Theater firebrand and big-screen presence Miriam Colon portrays Ultima with a minimum of fuss and a gorgeous supply of elder authority.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
February 22, 2013
Writer-director Carl Franklin offers up a tone of heightened reverence that weighs down the material, but there are small, lovely moments when the magic realism approaches the magical.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
February 22, 2013
Although Bless Me, Ultima can feel a bit overstuffed, it's an honest and naturalistic kids' story about growing up Mexican-American.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
February 21, 2013
A deeply satisfying feat of storytelling, "Bless Me, Ultima" makes a difficult task look easy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
John Hartl
Seattle Times
February 21, 2013
Here's a coming-of-age movie that feels both generic and personal.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
February 21, 2013
Bless Me, Ultima has its earnest heart - and setting - in the right place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 2