Boogie Nights Reviews

Page 2 of 4
Margaret A. McGurk
Cincinnati Enquirer
October 15, 2002
Director Paul Thomas Anderson is unsparing with his deluded characters and their giddy, chaotic age -- but he is never cruel.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
October 11, 2002
If it weren't for the porn, drugs, and violence, this would be an ideal movie to take the kids to. It's all about belonging, and sticking with your family.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kevin N. Laforest
Montreal Film Journal
September 10, 2002
Boogie Nights features an impressive ensemble cast, and there's not a supporting actor whose performance is less than impeccable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
June 18, 2002
With Boogie Nights we know we're not just watching episodes from disparate lives but a panorama of recent social history, rendered in bold, exuberant colors.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Shlomo Schwartzberg
Boxoffice Magazine
June 5, 2002
A well-crafted, well-acted entertainment but one that doesn't dig too deep into its subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
May 31, 2002
Os diálogos são afiadíssimos, e Paul Thomas Anderson permite que seus atores se sintam livres para interpretar, sem preocupações com questões técnicas.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jeremy Heilman
March 5, 2002
Boogie Nights is a shockingly well-made film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 27, 2001
Anderson, a director who makes no secret of his admiration for both Scorsese and the similarly iconic Robert Altman is clearly talented but here, rather than being his own man, he only succeeds in flattering his idols.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 15, 2001
I want to write a long essay on this because it's a complicated film experience but it's really great! The acting is great, the review (this one) is poorly written
| Original Score: 5
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
February 14, 2001
The film is bemused and entertained, as we are, by this pack of sexual extremists, and the eye it casts on them is both benevolent and wry.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
January 1, 2001
A searing indictment of not only the adult entertainment industry, but the whole value-free Hollywood lifestyle of the late 1970s and 1980s. At the same time it has a certain sympathy for its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
January 1, 2000
I understand what Anderson is trying to show -- that none of these folks are likely to meet with a good end -- but the last hour or so of the film drags on and on, violently and eventually pointlessly.
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 1, 2000
With fewer characters, tighter editing, and a more focused story, it would have been much more palatable and enjoyable. At the theater I was in, the audience all looked exhausted when they left.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Widgett Walls
January 1, 2000
This film is proof positive that there should be an Oscar for ensemble acting.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
January 1, 2000
On top of some preposterous and near-fatal plotting errors, Anderson makes the mistake of creating too many characters (supporting stars Graham and Cheadle don't get enough to do, while William H. Macy is wasted for the sake of a punchline).
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Bryant Frazer
Bryant Frazer's Deep Focus
January 1, 2000
Seldom have I taken such an active dislike to a widely acclaimed picture.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
January 1, 2000
I didn't dislike it, but it didn't do much for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Scott Renshaw
January 1, 2000
Cautionary story-telling rarely gets this grim, electrifying and compelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
Boogie Nights at heart is the story about a group of characters and the de facto family that emerges from their relationship. A stunning ensemble of actors is essential to creating this seamless world.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Edward Johnson-Ott
NUVO Newsweekly
January 1, 2000
What makes this film transcendent is Anderson's vast talent and the sheer exhilaration of his vision. Each of us is blessed with one special gift and Anderson certainly has discovered his.
Page 2 of 4