Borderline

Borderline

No Score Yet
  • Unrated, 1 hr. 50 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:    Lyne Charlebois
  • In Theaters:    Feb 8, 2008 Wide
  • On DVD:    Jun 17, 2008
  • TVA Films

Borderline Reviews

Page 2 of 9
blackcecily blackcecily ½ May 9, 2010
Interesting movie. I am assuming they are talking about Borderline Personality Disorder in this movie, at least that is what it seemed like when I watched it. I have done a lot of research on the topic and it kind of made me sad to see it acted out. Great movie though! (French with Subtitles.)
annapashkovsky annapashkovsky February 8, 2012
I wan tot se this movie ! how can i do that i though this site helps you with that
Jackson A December 29, 2010
Ã"timo filme, recomendo!
Janice :
Super Reviewer
February 9, 2008
If I wanted to see a porno, I would rent one.
Otherwise, an okay film for fans of the genre.
Minna S ½ September 19, 2009
I only saw the latter half of it but I grasped the big picture. The idea of looking back to different times is interesting but sadly the humour is quite constrained, although I can't judge the film very thoroughly.
ariane l ½ May 1, 2009
Isabelle Blais est en total abandon dans ce film dans lequel elle se découvre dans tous les sens du thème. Quelle interprétation solide de ce mal de vivre qui la ronge.
Julien B ½ January 11, 2009
Un super film québécois!! Isabelle Blais est génial dans ce long métrage!!
JohnSilver JohnSilver
Super Reviewer
½ June 23, 2008
Et bien .... que pourrais-je bien dire sur se film? Très long, je ne l'ai pas tout écouté, car c'était trop long et sans but jusqu'à se moment. Après 1heure de visionnement, nous avons comprit sa situation familiale, sont enfance, mais rien de l'histoire n'est encore enclenché.

Autre que faire du sexe à gauche et à droite dans son adolescence et jeune vie d'adulte, de couché avec son professeur de maitrise et d'avoir tout pleins de flashback (dont plusieurs très inutile, exemple lors qu'elle va chercher son chien chez sa grand-mère. Un 3 minutes pour rien dire et nous mélangé d'avantage) IL N'Y A RIEN DANS SE FILM AUTRE QUE DU SEXE !!!

Avec tout ces flashback et une histoire inexistante qu'on n'essaie tous de trouver, je crois que se film se résume comme cela : "Elle fait juste fourrer et pour nous faire comprendre ce sentiment, ils nous fourre en sortant un film comme celui là !"

P.S.: Ça ne vaut même pas une location, faite juste regarder la boite sur la tablette du club vidéo et vous avez toute ce que vous pouvez tirer de ce film.
jderome1 jderome1 ½ May 11, 2008
Aurait au moins pu contenir la musique citée dans les deux romans. Intégration de tout l'oeuvre de la réalisatrice en un film.
Jimmy C ½ April 12, 2008
A lot of ideas are incredible, the interpretations are great most of the time and the strange and anormal story can be touching, but as everything goes, it becomes a little bit long.. But overall it,s a great trip :-)
Hugo S
Super Reviewer
March 15, 2008
BORDERLINE (2008)
directed by Lyne Charlebois
starring Isabelle Blais, Angèle Coutu, Jean-Hugues AngladeKiki is a sex addict. She sleeps with her teacher who is 23 years and 2 months older than her. She writes a book inspired by her troubled life, her crazy mom and her grandmother who raised her. She has to cope with her demons but she is barely able to do it cause she is emotionally unstable.Borderline was written by Marie-Sissi Labrèche, inspired by two her her novels, that were kind of based on her own life, even though it was all romanced. Isabelle Blais is great at catching Labrèche's mannerism and sometimes misconnection with reality. She looks great, she has too, cause she bares it all many times in the film, making it very raw, in some way.Lyne Charlebois's directorial debut deals with interesting issues and tackles them seriously, without judging her main character, which would have been easy to do. It could have fallen into heavy melodrama, and that wouldnt have been good, but Charlebois keeps the focus at the right place. The sex scenes are quite graphic and the entire film seems to be shot with an eye for trashy poetry, which is often the case with movies in Quebec. There are some very clever transitions between the flashbacks, what the character writes in her chapters and her actual life, something, bringing all three worlds in the same shot.The acting is quite good, as I mentionned already, Isabelle Blais is great, but thats no surprise. She is totally commited to her characters and delivers the good. Sylvie Drapeau as her crazy mom is a bit over the top and sometimes laughable, but in the other hand, Angèle Coutu is amazing as the grandmother. Jean-Hugues Anglade does a pretty good job as the University teacher and Pierre-Luc Brilliant is great, as usual, showing all his range, in a smaller but important part.Borderline is kind of plotless cause we dont care wether she'll get to write her book or not, what we care about is for the character to overcome her fears and start living better. There is a lot of full frontal nudity in the film, its never exploitive but a bit explicit,after a while it gets a bit uncomfortable and that would actually be my only complain about this film along with some of the editing. I did enjoy it very much. Good cinematography.
Janick L March 10, 2008
Plutôt mauvais. Mauvaise direction d?acteurs. Sylvie Drapeau surjoue et Isabelle Blais « sourjouie ». Blague à part elle a un jeu très inégal et je crois que ça vient de la réalisatrice. . Lyne Charlebois nous fait encore le coup des mots imprimés sur le décors et les gens comme dans ses clips, je suis parti à rire. Le montage est affreux, en particulier dans la scène du party - l'escalier.
Clara B ½ March 9, 2008
One of the best Québécois films I've seen in a while :) I really recommend it. Now I want to read all the books!
Burpblog Burpblog ½ February 17, 2008
Tres bien mis en scene et en images par Lyne Charlebois.
tiger0kniff tiger0kniff February 11, 2008
Suffisamment réaliste pour nous tourmenter. Un jeu touchant avec un certain manque de compassion.
Page 2 of 9