• R, 1 hr. 30 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Cheech Marin
    In Theaters:
    Aug 21, 1987 Wide
    On DVD:
    Apr 7, 1998
  • Universal Pictures

Opening

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
85% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
88% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
85% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— 7500 Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
50% Forever: Season 1
95% Gotham: Season 1
34% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
80% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Born in East L.A. Reviews

Page 1 of 14
ScoopOnline
ScoopOnline

Super Reviewer

December 15, 2009
A Comedy Bordering On Insanity
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 28, 2009
Nice idea, not a brilliant film but I do like Cheech, he's entertaining and very watchable!
Lafe F

Super Reviewer

August 8, 2007
Somewhat funny, but Cheech keeps hammering the title point "Born in East L.A." over our heads until it's annoying.
Jason S

Super Reviewer

February 26, 2007
Funny flick. I liked this one and my brother and I always watched it.
sanjurosamurai
sanjurosamurai

Super Reviewer

January 22, 2007
pretty good movie
Juan C

Super Reviewer

April 27, 2011
easily cheech marin's hillarious and best performance he's been since up in smoke. A+
Donna D

Super Reviewer

November 13, 2008
Kinda cheesy, but Cheech Marin is so funny in this crazy comedy, as he plays Rudy, who accidently get's deported into Mexico when he forget's his ID at home. Funny scenes. ;)
iLeo
iLeo

Super Reviewer

April 12, 2007
Funny!
December 2, 2010
i'll remember i seen this movie in the theater i was about 7 and i'll remember i was an afraid with rudy (cheech marin) in tattoo scene. so now im so enjoy this movie of cheech marin the starring, written, and the director this film.

this is a good funniest comedy movie of with cheech marin did great role as rudy of the character. this is the good opening credit with the red-hair female walking by. i wish tommy chong appear an cameo and tommy is to turned it down and i wish myself that he should an cameo (sadly). so this is the funny plot and paul rodriguez (javier) also starring and funniest character also role as rudy's cousin.
December 3, 2008
I watched this movie at the prompting of my somewhat senile Dad. It's as low budget and low brow as it gets, but still couldn't help but find some parts pretty funny.
April 22, 2008
I can not count the times I have seen this movie! quite possibly my all time favorite fall back classic.
April 4, 2007
A great and funny film with Cheech Marin as a Hispanic-American mistaken for an illegal alien and gets deported to Tijuana, Mexico. Daniel Stern also stars in this film as a smuggler who ends up helping Cheech get back to the States.
Ida K

Super Reviewer

February 19, 2007
"If you want to be cool, first you pull your headband into the cool position. Then you just lean back, put this hand in your pocket and then you wave this hand behind you like you just cut one and you're trying to shoo away the steeench."
Ilovejrock
February 12, 2007
^^ hehehe this movie so funny!!!!!! Didn't get to see it all though *sobs* (It said the "F" word 6 times to many for my family to handle =P*
splittailluvr
October 6, 2006
A funny Cheech without a Chong but we have Daniel Stern as his sidekick this time around. Teaching the barrio slang to the Chineese guys is just plain crazy and funny and Kamala Lopez is one hot Latin in this movie.
July 6, 2007
The original poster for this was brilliant. I can barely remember the film though.
August 10, 2009
One of my "guilty pleasure" movies.
Juan C

Super Reviewer

April 27, 2011
easily cheech marin's hillarious and best performance he's been since up in smoke. A+
March 19, 2011
I watched this movie as a 14 year old on VHS. Even then, it kind of sucked. Fortunately, I was only 14, and easily amused, so I watched it 4 more times before we took the tape back to the video store. Sucked every time.
dick h.
January 29, 2010
a hilarious movie by Cheech Martin 82%
Page 1 of 14
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile