• R, 1 hr. 30 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Cheech Marin
    In Theaters:
    Aug 21, 1987 Wide
    On DVD:
    Apr 7, 1998
  • Universal Pictures

Opening

63% Hercules Jul 25
60% Lucy Jul 25
16% And So It Goes Jul 25
90% A Most Wanted Man Jul 25
56% The Fluffy Movie Jul 25

Top Box Office

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $36.3M
56% The Purge: Anarchy $29.8M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $17.5M
18% Sex Tape $14.6M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $9.8M
23% Tammy $7.4M
85% 22 Jump Street $4.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $3.9M
49% Earth to Echo $3.3M
49% Maleficent $3.2M

Coming Soon

100% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
46% Child Of God Aug 01

New Episodes Tonight

—— The Almighty Johnsons: Season 1
61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
—— The Legend of Korra: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

25% Black Box: Season 1
100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Born in East L.A. Reviews

Page 2 of 14
April 30, 2014
awful. his best work will always be cheech and chong's next movie.
May 28, 2013
the attempts to get back to the states is pretty damn funny. But the truth is so sad.
July 6, 2007
The original poster for this was brilliant. I can barely remember the film though.
September 20, 2012
This is a enjoyable movie ....but no Chong it's still a good watch
August 10, 2009
One of my "guilty pleasure" movies.
April 6, 2012
Seen it a long time ago, can't remember if I liked it or not
scott g

Super Reviewer

April 3, 2012
A good vehicle for cheech martin about a U.S citizen of Mexican heritage getting mistakingly sent to mexico as a deporte and having to try to get back in but also living the Mexican way for a while, there are some entertaining moiments and comments about Mexican imigration, Marin is likeable and while not everything comes of well, and certainly at times brags up the american way, its a enjoyable watch from the 80s and makes me want to seek out more Marin
October 11, 2011
doesn't look interesting enough to me
sweeeetmikey
August 17, 2011
This is a enjoyable movie ....but no Chong it's still a good watch
Juan C

Super Reviewer

April 27, 2011
easily cheech marin's hillarious and best performance he's been since up in smoke. A+
March 19, 2011
I watched this movie as a 14 year old on VHS. Even then, it kind of sucked. Fortunately, I was only 14, and easily amused, so I watched it 4 more times before we took the tape back to the video store. Sucked every time.
December 2, 2010
i'll remember i seen this movie in the theater i was about 7 and i'll remember i was an afraid with rudy (cheech marin) in tattoo scene. so now im so enjoy this movie of cheech marin the starring, written, and the director this film.

this is a good funniest comedy movie of with cheech marin did great role as rudy of the character. this is the good opening credit with the red-hair female walking by. i wish tommy chong appear an cameo and tommy is to turned it down and i wish myself that he should an cameo (sadly). so this is the funny plot and paul rodriguez (javier) also starring and funniest character also role as rudy's cousin.
Corey n

Super Reviewer

November 9, 2006
A decent enough comedy. It stars Cheech Marin who gets deported to Mexico. Now he must get back to the States and back to East LA where he lives. Some funny moments in the film. Kind of low brow comedy but still funny. Not a great comedy but still worth maybe a one time watch for Cheech Marin fans.
BUDDYANNABELLE
May 11, 2010
it was ok i liked it
dick h.
January 29, 2010
a hilarious movie by Cheech Martin 82%
ScoopOnline
ScoopOnline

Super Reviewer

December 15, 2009
A Comedy Bordering On Insanity
Dr.Sabotage
October 24, 2009
Nothing to funny but good old Cheech brings some laughs.
Brody M

Super Reviewer

October 23, 2009
I really like this movie but the DVD I bought had a big chunk of the movie cut out.I wonder why????
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 28, 2009
Nice idea, not a brilliant film but I do like Cheech, he's entertaining and very watchable!
Page 2 of 14
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile