Bottle Rocket - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bottle Rocket Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
I can't recommend the film -- it's too unwound and indulgent -- but I have a certain affection for it, and I'm looking forward to whatever Anderson and the Wilsons do next.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
January 1, 2000
Starts and finishes strong, but, somewhere in the middle, it loses its focus and its way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
David Hinckley
New York Daily News
March 4, 2014
Bottle Rocket was conceived as a low-budget family affair -- it has more Wilsons than the Beach Boys -- and outside of a few cult-intensive pockets of fandom, that's where it's likely to end up.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
A grueling, numbing black hole.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Daniel M. Kimmel
Worcester Telegram & Gazette
February 8, 2004
| Original Score: 1/5
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 1, 2000
[Inez] is the only character about whom I cared. I was kind of hoping the rest of them, especially Dignan would be run over by a truck.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
Maybe someone ought to think about culling this thing down into a sustainable short film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Barry Walters
San Francisco Examiner
January 1, 2000
Feels exactly like what it is -- a short stretched out to a feature.
Fred Topel
July 14, 2003
Uninvolving early Anderson movie. Why do we care about this guy's obsession with a maid? I don't get it.
| Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Bruce Diones
New Yorker
March 4, 2014
[Bottle Rocket] meanders pleasantly, like a road movie, with a seventies-style, anything-goes offhandedness that whisks the audience through the rough spots.
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
April 28, 2005
| Original Score: 4/5
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
December 5, 2002
| Original Score: 4/5
John Ferguson
Radio Times
March 4, 2014
[An] agreeably eccentric comedy crime drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
James Rocchi
November 7, 2002
Bottle Rocket is full of the kind of energy and style that more movies should aspire to attain.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Scott Weinberg
April 2, 2005
Dry, droll and really very funny.
| Original Score: 4/5
Stephen Hunter
Baltimore Sun
March 4, 2014
It's a little chaotic but director Wes Anderson and his young stars Owen C. Wilson (who co-wrote with Anderson), Luke Wilson and Bob Musgrave have a gift for the human comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Brian Gibson
Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)
July 2, 2014
It's only in the finale of Bottle Rocket, brimming over with poignant male self-delusion, that the flair and sizzle of Anderson's future promise returns.
Cole Smithey
March 13, 2006
| Original Score: 3/5
Sandie Angulo Chen
Common Sense Media
December 31, 2010
The first Anderson/Wilson offbeat, talky comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 4