Brewster McCloud - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Brewster McCloud Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
July 30, 2012
I can't say that I regret watching Brewster McCloud, but I also can't say that I'd sit through it again.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Vincent Canby
New York Times
May 9, 2005
It's imitation hip.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5

May 24, 2003
30 years on, the swipes at materialism seem mild, and the narrative -- if it can be called that -- introduces ideas and actions which go unexplained.
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
October 21, 2002
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
October 23, 2004
We get the sense of a live intelligence, rushing things ahead on the screen, not worrying whether we'll understand.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
July 23, 2010
The film is so odd and freewheeling that it probably should have become a cult classic, if not for the fact that it has been so hard to find on video.
Top Critic
Variety Staff
June 9, 2008
A sardonic fairy tale for the times, extremely well cast and directed.
Shane Burridge
August 15, 2001
Altman's running joke through this movie is that it is a birdwatching film
Full Review
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
March 20, 2013
A wacko funny pic.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Carol Cling
Las Vegas Review-Journal
November 14, 2003
| Original Score: 5/5
Jake Euker
F5 (Wichita, KS)
October 30, 2004
| Original Score: 3/5
Ryan Cracknell
Movie Views
August 24, 2010
There is something delightful in the absurdity and chaos of the movie that kept my interest even as I struggled to pinpoint exactly what it was that I was watching.
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
November 5, 2002
Weird, weirdly poetic early Altman
| Original Score: 4/5
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
July 14, 2010
Anyone who cherishes Robert Altman's work definitely needs to see this defiantly kooky comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Dave Kehr
Chicago Reader
January 1, 2000
One of Robert Altman's most charming exercises in cabaret humor and off-the-cuff modernism.
Eric Lurio
Greenwich Village Gazette
December 12, 2003
Altman's best movie. No s---.
| Original Score: 5/5
Emanuel Levy
December 18, 2004
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic

Time Out
February 9, 2006
Altman's unexpected follow-up to MASH is pitched fairly successfully between escapist fantasy and satirical comment on the same.
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
May 7, 2011
Page 1 of 1