Opening

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
85% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
88% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
92% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— 7500 Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
54% Forever: Season 1
94% Gotham: Season 1
36% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
80% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Bring Me the Head of Alfredo Garcia Reviews

Page 3 of 27
January 1, 2013
Warren Oates is one of my favorites. Another one of a kind film experience.
December 30, 2012
Probably Peckinpah's best, and a personal all time favorite. Its a harsh, and violent film about the lives of desperate people in a fucking hard world. Forget about not pulling punches, this movie just brutalizes from start to finish. A powerfully raw film, that's got no time for anyone's bullshit. Its also hauntingly savage and at times overwhelmingly beautiful. This is it. One of the all time TRUE classics of cinema. Warren Oates' best work. It also has this alcoholic surrealism to it, which you'll identify with if you've ever been at the wrong end of a bottle, for a sufficient period of time. Simply no compromises here, the purest dirty film you will EVER see.
December 16, 2012
It's got that great grindhouse feel with blockbuster action. It's so much fun. Greatest title in the world by the way.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

April 19, 2008
It's Peckinpah, so it'll having something good about it.
July 5, 2007
There's something really interesting in this strange Peckinpah flick.
jarrad b.
April 17, 2012
not bad but just a movie.
October 11, 2012
Not a movie for everyone but one that Peckinpah fans will appreciate as there is no talent lost here.
Warren Oats stars as the main character seeking the head of a man who seduced the daughter of a wealthy mexican willing to pay one million dollars.
Gruesome and filled with sickly revolting detail, obsessed by violence Peckinpah delivers a stomach churning film with psychoanalysis.
October 9, 2012
It will remind you of the shitty things you've done, or wanted to do. Shitty deeds, shitty repercussions, shitty regret, even shitty redemption. It's just a shitty, shitty movie. Well worth a watch.
William Samuel
September 19, 2012
Sam Peckinpah's Bring Me the Head of Alfredo Garcia is one the most bleakest, most violent, and most depressing movies I have ever seen. It chronicles a cycle of violence and destruction that kills all who are sucked into it. There is no hero in this story, and no one remotely likeable, with the exception of a middle aged whore. It was hated by critics and audiences upon its release, and I can't blame them. But I don't agree with them either. This is a good movie.

It's not a good movie because it's easy to watch, or because we like the people in it, or because it carries some important message. If it even has a message, it's that nothing matters and everybody dies. It's a good movie because it is one of the most powerful expressions of disillusionment and nihilism ever produced. It's a good movie because it has no illusions about itself. It knows that it's about rotten people and wretched deeds, and refuses to shy away from the ugliness or make excuses for the things that happen. And it's a good movie because it's absolutely fascinating.

The reason that anyone wants Señor Garcia's head is that he had the poor judgment to impregnate the daughter of a wealthy crime boss, who now offers a million dollars to the man who will deliver his head. There are many who wish to claim the bounty, but no-one knows where he is. No-one except Benny, a poor bartender who learned from his girlfriend that Alfredo is already dead and buried after a fatal car accident. Now all he has to do to claim part of that reward is dig up his old friend and cut off his head. Or so he thinks.

At this point, the sheer futility and pointlessness of everything that will happen should be perfectly clear. A million dollars is being offered so that an evil old man can have his revenge, but what's the point if he's already dead? And it only becomes bitterer and more cynical from there. Benny never had anything against Alfredo. His girlfriend once loved the man. But if desecrating an old friend's grave will get him $10,000 then he'll do it. Because that head is his ticket out the slums. He's been stuck in a dead end existence without prospects, without hope, far too long to let anyone or anything stop him.

And there will be many who try. Lots of people want that head. Some are driven by the same greed as Benny. Others have more personal reasons. But none of them will back down, and none of them have anything resembling scruples, or the slightest bit of mercy. And so the bullets will fly, and the body count will rise. And the fighting and killing will continue long after there's any reason for it, past the point where money is on the line, until anger and killing have become ends unto themselves.

And that is what fascinates me. Most of the people who die in this movie didn't have to die. Benny didn't have to fight them. But he doesn't know how to stop fighting. He's lost too much, and his anger has consumed him utterly. When he started out he was already desperate, impatient, and unhappy, and as his journey becomes ever more miserable he's gotten closer to the edge, until killing is the only thing left to him.

There's a section in the middle where he's retrieved the head and is driving back alone in his battered car. And the head is sitting in the car next to him, wrapped in bloody cloth and surrounded by files. And he's talking to it, almost shouting at it, telling it how none of this was worth it and it's his fault that so many have died. It's like the Wilson scenes in Castaway, only a hundred times more demented. And it stands out because it so perfectly sums up the madness, desperation, and sense of decay that permeate the entire film. It's just hard to believe that there can be a world that is so devoid of happiness or meaning, where so few people have so few morals, where the 'hero' will shoot a dead man "Just because it feels so good." And that Peckinpah can make it so engaging, and achieve such purpose out of futility, is the most amazing thing of all.
October 30, 2011
A real cornerstone in terms of Grindhouse cinema, but thats all it is.
August 6, 2007
Great film.Warren Oates best performance.Peckinpah's best film other then Starw Dogs and The Wild Bunch.The forbearer of Tarantino and Lynch style black comedy/action film. Absolutely bleak, Peckinpah's "Touch of Evil"
July 10, 2012
Magnificent, bleak, filled with action and incident. The movie info sums up what the film's about very well, but there's so much more to it than that - the treatment of women, the sense of doom overlaying every action...it's one of the best films I've seen in a very long time.
Pierluigi P

Super Reviewer

June 27, 2007
Only as dark as Peckinpah's own notions of life. This man's tarnished soul is reflected by a superb Warren Oates, his misogyny, a hopeless "Hobbesian" view of society, but also a strong honor code that always leads his characters to attain lost honor by suicidal glory. That raw facade conceals noble motifs, never more evidently than his feelings for the prostitute, Elita. Bloody Sam's most personal, and one of his best.
June 11, 2012
A strange, glorious, sprawling masterpiece, bullet-strewn and grotesquely unflinching in it's tale of immorality, violence and the evolution of the conscience. Warren Oates is unpredictable, off-beat and superb.
April 9, 2012
Hard boiled perfection
evtr
November 21, 2011
It could be a so much better film, but I just couldn't stand the first part of it.
May 10, 2012
Warren Oates. That is all I need to say.
Will Errickson
July 10, 2009
Reviled by many, considered by some to be San Peckinpah's masterpiece, this existential modern-day western Mexican manhunt features the always-welcome Warren Oates. It revels in cruelty, grunginess, misogyny--indeed, misanthropy--slow-motion death, and some terrific lines. Shoving off goons hanging around a cemetery: "Don't look at me with your goddamn fuckin' eyes!" To an already-dead body as he shoots it: "Why? Because it feels so damn good!" And to his prostitute girlfriend who objects to gathering up the head of a man dead and buried: "The church cuts off the feet, fingers, any other goddamn thing from the saints, don't they? Well, what the hell? Alfredo's our saint. He's the saint of our money, and I'm gonna borrow a piece of him." Also contains the classic bit, perhaps a cinematic anomaly, of trying to kill crabs with tequila. Yes, those kinds of crabs. There is nothing Warren Oates cannot do.
April 16, 2012
The first 1 hr. 35 minutes is TRASH. The last 15 or so are decent.
April 28, 2012
Warren Oates' toothy marmot face and bitchy movements are despicable. This film is full of small minded stereotypes about Mexicans. It has the stink of roadkill, something too beaten down and rotten to be what it wants to be. If the dry-rot that runs through Alfredo Garcia seemed intentional for an instant then it might have been interesting. But the 'grittiness of it seems to come largely from poor acting, hackneyed dialogue, and the kind of direction only a syphilitic whore with amphetamine psychosis could produce.
But for some reason, I want to see it again as soon as possible.
Bring me Bring me the Head of Alfredo Garcia.
Page 3 of 27
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile