Broken English Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Heather Huntington
ReelzChannel.com
August 22, 2008
Broken English surprised me all around: I didn't expect to be particularly impressed with it, and instead it turns out to be not only one of my favorite films I've see this year, but it will probably earn a spot in the all-time annals for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic
Andrea Gronvall
Chicago Reader
January 3, 2008
How Posey's neurotic, self-destructive heroine finds her way to healing is the core of this generous film, whose moral is that happiness can't begin unless you're open to its possibility.
Brandon Judell
New York Theatre Wire
November 22, 2007
Posey's admirers will experience a sensual intoxication that fans always experience when their film goddesses are at their very best.
November 21, 2007
This isn't the best independent film we've seen starring Miss Posey, but she is the reason this one works.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Don Willmott
Filmcritic.com
November 15, 2007
a tired retread of Sex and the City, with all the same preoccupations and issues but with none of the fun
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
S. Jhoanna Robledo
Common Sense Media
October 22, 2007
Edgy girl-meets-boy indie for older teens and up.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
August 16, 2007
When Nora decides to take yet another risk against her better judgment, the film leaves to you to judge it as quixotic, vexing, or fitting.
Larry Ratliff
San Antonio Express-News
August 10, 2007
You might be a little surprised or at least amused when the caustic, tired, joyous, frantic roller coaster stops.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
August 9, 2007
A likable but wan romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
John Thomason
Orlando Weekly
August 9, 2007
Ultimately, the only wisdom you leave with is the implausibly wise pocket philosophy gleaned from romantic strangers on the streets of an idealized France.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 8, 2007
...neither the story nor the well-acted characters quite engage our interest or sympathy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
August 3, 2007
...eventually jumps the shark by failing to consider a major character's professional competence
Full Review | Original Score: 81/100
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
August 2, 2007
Parker Posey is game in 'Broken English,' although the limited conception of her giggly insecure Nora Wilder is too thin for ninety-six minutes.
Shawn Levy
Oregonian
July 27, 2007
Posey gives a committed performance, and Justin Theroux is good as an overindulged movie star. But almost nothing that's said or done here is convincing. And the energy is set at near-coma level.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Peter Debruge
Miami Herald
July 27, 2007
Filmmaking is a family affair for the Cassavetes, and Zoe inherits the unpretentious, performance-driven style from her father, John, while delivering a love story that's accessible enough for mainstream audiences, a trick learned from her brother Nick.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Moira Sullivan
Movie Magazine International
July 22, 2007
Zoe Cassavetes' new film Broken English is a delight, and as a debut film shows that we can expect good things from her.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Bruce Westbrook
Houston Chronicle
July 20, 2007
Cassavetes supplies no easy answers or easy laughs, forgoing romantic-comedy beats in respect for Nora's desperation. Call this confection a romantic-dramedy with humor on wry.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
July 20, 2007
It's pretty clear where this is going from the first frame, though Posey's performance does keep you interested.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
July 20, 2007
Broken English establishes a sympathetic character, gets Parker Posey to make her real, and then grinds her in the gears of a plot we cannot believe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Michael Sragow
Baltimore Sun
July 20, 2007
[Cassavetes] treats cliches as fodder for comedy and nuances as the mainstays of a deeper, more beguiling sexual humor. What's engaging about this movie is that all the conventional trysts become low-key nightmare farce.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 4