• R, 1 hr. 36 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Tom Brady
    In Theaters:
    Sep 9, 2011 Wide
    On DVD:
    Jan 17, 2012
  • Sony Pictures

Opening

64% Hercules Jul 25
59% Lucy Jul 25
16% And So It Goes Jul 25
—— The Fluffy Movie Jul 25
89% A Most Wanted Man Jul 25

Top Box Office

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $36.3M
55% The Purge: Anarchy $29.8M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $17.5M
19% Sex Tape $14.6M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $9.8M
23% Tammy $7.4M
85% 22 Jump Street $4.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $3.9M
49% Earth to Echo $3.3M
49% Maleficent $3.2M

Coming Soon

100% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
46% Child Of God Aug 01

New Episodes Tonight

—— The Almighty Johnsons: Season 1
61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
—— The Legend of Korra: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

25% Black Box: Season 1
100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star Reviews

Page 1 of 48
YodaMasterJedi
YodaMasterJedi

Super Reviewer

August 24, 2012
three stars
Matt G

Super Reviewer

August 2, 2011
DID YOU EAT ONE OF MY GRAPES?!
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

February 23, 2012
If funny is feeling sick and not laughing, this film is hilarious. Congratulations and welcome to my top 11 worst films of all time list, Mr. Bucky Larson!
KJ P

Super Reviewer

September 7, 2011
Okay, I'll admit, there were a few scenes in "Bucky Larson: Born To Be A Star" that had me laughing out loud, but mostly it was because of how stupid the movie is. I have never seen a movie try so hard to make a story work before. So an idiot with over-exagerrated buck teeth tries to become a porn star with his parents. The comedy is that he has a small penis, which makes his very popular. Funny right? No, it's not funny at all, but for some reason, some of the secondary characters in the film seem very funny at times, particularly Kevin Nealon, who puts a roof over Bucky's head. That being said, this film is in no way funny and it is easily one of the worst of 2011. Every joke that the filmmakers force on you seems like a penis joke every 20 minutes, followed by someone making fun of his buck teeth. Cristina Ricci helps to hold whatever is left of the movie, on it's feet. This film is a great big pile of garbage that made me laugh once or twice!
Everett J

Super Reviewer

December 31, 2011
Wow, this movie is bad. Not bad in a "Troll 2" so bad it's good kind of way, but bad in a "Gigli" kind of way. Nick Swardson is usually hilarious and a real bright spot in Adam Sandler's movies, but here he is god awful. He stars as Bucky Larson an idiot from Iowa who finds out his parents used to be porn stars. Upon learning he decides it's his destiny to be in porn and moves to Hollywood to fulfill his dream. I think I may have chuckled once during this and it was at a Nick Turturro line. This is probably the worst Happy Madison movie ever. Worse than "Jack and Jill", "Dickie Roberts", "Benchwarmers", and anything with Rob Schneider. I don't know why I thought this would be ok(my hopes weren't high, but I expected to at least laugh some), but this is a big letdown. If your a Swardson fan, just pop in a dvd of his stand up instead. This is the kind of movie that could make him lose fans.
Shawn M

Super Reviewer

May 9, 2012
best part was the Chewbacca appearance, tolerable movie, but was very average. Expected more from Happy Madison but they've gone so down hill with ideas the last few flicks.
Cameron W. Johnson
Cameron W. Johnson

Super Reviewer

April 15, 2012
Nick Swardson co-writes and stars in this Happy Madison gross-out comedy about the biggest dork ever entering the adult film industry. ...Man, do I even need to make a "How can this go wrong?" joke? I can think imagine that plenty of people out there are thinking, "No need, because seeing as it's a Happy Madison production, we already know that you like it." Hey, I'm just going ahead and speaking for the readers, because although I neither liked nor disliked the other Happy Madison films of 2011, considering that this is the internet, all anyone is going to remember is the "didn't dislike" part, and I can understand, because I'm giving these films more credit than they deserve by calling them "borderline" bull. Okay, ladies and gentlemen, in all fairness, compared to this film, I almost love those other Happy Madison productions. ...Yeah, I'm waiting for the part where I say, "Okay, maybe that's going a bit too far", but that's not going to happen, because this film is absolutely unpalatable. Okay, maybe it's not as bad as I though, in as much as I was going in expecting an unparalleled, unholy experience of horrible pain while watching this abomination of desolation torture me in fashions that make the stuff they do in Guantanamo Bay look like getting slapped in the arm with a thin rubber band, when really, all I got was just a mental scar, because, make no mistake, this film is still pretty blasted awful, and yet the torture still goes toned down just a slight smidge by... hot chicks... and that's just about it.

If I have nothing else to say about this film, then it's the fact that... um... I'm at least glad that the ridiculously over-the-top offensive hick town that the Bucky Larson character comes from is in the Midwest and not the South, because if it took place in Alabama, then I'd be just about ready to kill somebody. No, but seriously though, although I would have probably actually spent money to have Nick Swardson hurt horribly if he was taking shots at sweet home Alabama, I feel genuinely offended on behalf of those poor buck-toothed, Dutch-accented weat farmers in Iowa - you bet ya -, mostly because it's a joke that's so startlingly unfunny (Yes, even less funny than the Iowa joke I just made), as opposed to about, I think three jokes that are actually pretty good, as much as I hate to admit it. Okay, now, there are points where timing and absurdity fluke and create a quick gut punch that evokes a chuckles, and that would be the John Mayer joke that Kevin Nealon practically introduces himself with, and that's about it. Okay, fine, after that, the film makes a few undeniable flukes, and yet, what really keeps this film from falling so far under the radar that it's untracable has to be those moments where the film stops being so over-the-top and fall back into being that kind of Happy Madison down-to-earth, where things are still exaggerated, but mediocrely so. Of course, even that tonal shift is a glaring flaw in the film, because this film's dance between over-the-top and relatively down-to-earth is so inorganic and incompetent, making the film tonally inconsistent. Still, those inconsistent moments are far and few between, because this film mostly rests on one type of tone, and as much as I wish I could say the frequent tone is the mediocre, relatively down-to-earth, I've got too many scars from the awful over-the-top to know that's not the case. I really don't know what to say; this film is just an absolute embarassment, and yet, I just have to bite the bullet and go into detail, because if you're thinking that there's even a mild glimmer of hope, I have to educate you before you see this film and hurt yourself beyond any repair, emotionally, mentally and, well, physically, because watching this film made my muscles almost instinctively jump out of me to try and get away.

Even during it's mediocre, relatively down-to-earth moments, the film is cheesy and somewhat obnoxious, and yet, it's hard to not beg for more of that when the film jumps back to the over-the-top that is more prominent throughout the film, because the torturous "humor" that this foundation is practically built upon is anything but palatable. Fish-out-of-water humor, alone, is enough to drive me up a wall, as it stands among my absolute biggest pet peeves in comedy; right up there with over-the-top, gross-out raunchy. Put those two pieces of "humor" together, and you've an unrelenting barrage of horrorible, consistently fall-flat humor that's obnoxious enough at a slow and steady deliver, let alone when it's delivered with the kind of frenetic loudness that can be found in this film. Now, the film isn't as relentlessly, frantically vulgar and loud as something like "Freddy Got Fingered", or else I probably would have bailed by the hour mark, but believe me, this film is still loud and annoying in its totally unreasonable and unfunny gross-out scenarios. However, through all of that lack of intelligence and wit, this film still boasts volumes of pretense in its atmosphere, as if the swill it's spouting is comedy gold. It's a problem with most films of this type, and this film isn't as intense in its pretense as something like a Friedberg/Seltzer movie, or the aforecited "Freddy Got Fingered", the film still stands with its chest in the wind as it pokes at you over and over again, silently exclamining, "Isn't this funny, you stupid, money-making movie-gore?" It's a problem I often have with Nick Swardso, who, I must admit, isn't as terrible and unlikable as I expected, but is still so very obnoxious, showing that even when he's at his best, he's still an annoying, pretentious little idiot in this powerful testament to his lack of talent, as well as how "not" to make a performer vehicle, much less a movie.

To shut down this star, credit to the ever so occasional fluke in humor, as well as those moments where the film tonally inconsistently, but still relievingly tones down the over-the-top and stands as simply mediocre; yet on the whole, this film wishes it could be as good as mediocre, and I don't just mean that figuratively, as this film, with an overbearing pretense, delivers one wildly offensive, repulsively disgusting and obnoxiously frantic fall-flat joke of a joke after another as it self-righteously pushes and pushes for any kind of positive reaction, when really, the only reactions it gets and deserves to get are overwhelmingly negative, thus making "Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star" to collapse as an insufferable, mean-spirited onslaught of unbearable raunch that, like all the other atrocities of its type, haunts, scars and gives both comedy and filmmaking, in general.

1/5 - Awful
Sean G

Super Reviewer

September 10, 2011
Pretty bad.
Nathan C

Super Reviewer

September 20, 2011
When you movie hop in a theater with absolutely no one else watching, you know you're in for a treat :P Well, Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star is anything but a treat, it feels like a turd wrapped in a peppermint wrapper. It tries to be funny, but I swear, I only gave a light chuckle about 3 times throughout the entire 1 hour 36 minutes I was sitting there. While the character of Bucky Larson (Nick Swardson) is likable for his naivete and stupidity, he is not funny and doesn't carry the film whatsoever and his antics wear thin really, really quickly. Overall, if you have that thought in the back of your mind that says this movie might suck, that's the right way to think about this. There are funnier films on DVD right now (Bridesmaids, Paul, etc.), but look on the bright side, this movie will win lots of awards. Golden Raspberry Awards.
Philip P

Super Reviewer

July 4, 2011
I had to see how bad it actually was. The thing is, I actually enjoy most of Sandler's buddies work. Yea, "Grandma's Boy" wasn't that great but after repeat viewings it would grow on you. Sadly, I don't even think I will give "Bucky Larson" the opportunity of repeat viewings. I mean, I think Nick Swardson is a funny guy. I own both of his stand up albums and could put them on repeat, but this just isn't the kind of star vehicle he needs to be heading up. Instead of going for slapstick silliness here the second string Sandler's go for the R-rated raunch that dominates but the difference between this and "Bridesmaids" is that the latter has a wit to it, real sense, realistic characters and relatable situations. "Bucky Larson" is all teeth and no substance. Though Swardson does his best and there are admittedly a few scenes and lines that Swardson delivers with an earnest midwestern accent that had me laughing, this does not make up for the rest of the film. Why is Christina Ricci here and who came up with her downright stupid story line? There almost seems no hope for the film at all but then Kevin Nealon redeems hope every few minutes by popping up and yelling cuss words and Don Johnson gives a rather absurd performance as a porn director. Stephen Dorff makes a career misstep here and this shows just how low Pauly Shore has sunk. The real disappointment here though, at least for me, is that Swardson landed a stinker. He did supporting work in "30 Minutes or Less" that showed good chemistry with the likes of comic actors such as Danny McBride despite that film also lacking the zing it should have had. Those are the tyope of folks he needs to be working with though, expanding his circle rather than regrouping with Sandler and his usual gang who just seem to hang out and make up junk like this on the spot. It may seem like a good idea at the time but I'm sure even Sandler himself (who co-wrote the script) will look back and realize what a stupid idea this was.
Juan C

Super Reviewer

December 3, 2011
of all my years of watching movies, i have never seen a film so stupid, so insulting, so unfocused, that it makes alvin and the chipmunks a national phenomonan! it's an insult to the good name of comedy, even the lowest type of comedy! it is also an insult to filmmaking! it gave me such a headache, that i nearly got a migram! it so god awfully bad, that it nearly, nearly changed my view on seeing movies! i hated this movie, hated it, hated it, hated it with all my heart! and that's saying a mouthful, but it's the truth! this is without a doubt and unexcusingly the worst movie i have seen in my entire life! F
Sarah P

Super Reviewer

June 17, 2012
Of course it was weird and a little gross, but it was still funny!
Sunil J

Super Reviewer

June 22, 2011
Not even Ricci can save this one.
Jason R

Super Reviewer

September 12, 2011
Wasn't worth my time or money.
February 23, 2014
Hahahaha, almost no one liked this, which doesn't surprise me, you actually have to have a sense of humor and not be afraid of.....shhhh, s e x.....for this one. If you like sex, masturbation, porn and flying cum humor, you WILL enjoy this. The first masturbation scene had me breathless and farting uncontrollably. Breathless from laughing, not from the stench. Christina Ricci is hot, as always, and Kevin Nealon is great in a tiny, supporting role. Swardson's performance was brilliant and exactly as it was intended, way over the top and extraordinarily stupid. Bucky is an inspiration to needle dicks everywhere!
January 17, 2013
Ok, Its least common denominator stuff But it has some pretty funny moment. If you like nick at all its worth the spin.
November 7, 2012
I usually love dumb comedies with exaggerated characters, but this is just a total miss. Even though this is the type of movie with a high frequency of jokes, most of them fail. There is almost no plot to speak of and even though some movies can be funny enough to overcome a flimsy plot, a little more story than this would be nice. The main character of Bucky tires very quickly and wears on you for most of the movie. Even though things go his way overall, he takes the brunt of too much ridicule making the movie come off as mean spirited. I hate to see this blemish Nick Swardson's career so badly. It is his first shot at a lead role and while I do not think he is first billed material, I do think is capable of better than this. Dumb comedy can be great but this ventures past dumb to full out retarded.
nafnosseb1
August 26, 2012
Only rarely does one find such groundbreaking comedic genius. To me, one of the funniest movies of all time.
October 28, 2011
The only reason I saw this movie was to get the satisfaction that my prediction of it being an absolute pathetic mess was correct. Nick Swardson and his views towards comedy are completely different from what I find to be humorous.
Page 1 of 48
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile