Buffalo Soldiers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Buffalo Soldiers Reviews

Page 2 of 29
August 24, 2015
boring movie didn't care much about it
½ June 3, 2015
No longer Rivers little bro,Joaquin show the goods in this entertaining quirky dark comedy.
½ April 5, 2015
Maybe I'm the only one, but I found the satire in this film, while decent enough, to be a little outdated. This film was scheduled for released in 2001, but was delayed due the 9/11 attacks, before seeing release in 2003. Apparently, and this has carried all through to 2015, in some people's minds, saying anything negative about the military makes you an unpatriotic commie bastard. The military is above criticism and reproach. As if they were to be worshiped as gods instead of treated as, just exactly what they are, human beings who make mistakes. I can see that being the only reason this was delayed. And the funny thing is that the satire, while criticizing U.S foreign policy, isn't as particularly biting or edgy as the film believes itself to be. Dr. Strangelove, a film that is FIFTY-ONE years old, still comes across as more relevant and biting than this movie does. I don't know what it is, but it just doesn't work as well as it pretends it does. I still think the movie is good enough. It is well-written and the characters, while not particularly likable, are certainly interesting. Sometimes the most unlikable of characters make the most interesting. If you don't believe that then you clearly have never seen Arrested Development. I just found the entire film to be clumsily structured. I just think the story covers too many elements and characters that don't really come together in an overly cohesive fashion. It's not even that funny, in my honest opinion. The only thing I honestly enjoyed about the entire movie would be some of the character progression. Everything else left a lot to be desired. Maybe I was just in a crummy mood and I couldn't see the forest for the trees, so to speak. But I honestly didn't think this movie was that good. It tries and everything, but it just falls short of the mark. I would say that this is average at best and it's probably gonna be a bigger hit with others than it was with me, so there's that. Watch at your own risk I guess.
½ August 5, 2014
I was expecting an almost historical fact based drama of US soldiers stationed in cold war Germany. What i got was another flippant 'Jarhead' style expose into the boredom that comes with modern war. Although i nearly switched off after 20 and 40 minutes, i'm glad i stuck it out. Took me a long time to warm to Joaquin phoenix character and the movie too. I got the dark humour, but It was all just that little bit too wayward for me.
½ July 9, 2014
Bored soldiers good subject for entertaining comedy... American Buffalos in German Prairies--Like Pornography for your Morals!!
February 20, 2014
Script is just bad in my opinion.
December 27, 2013
Vicious, smug, and controversial war satire was shelved but explores a criminal side of the military we only hear occasionally. This isn't father's M*A*S*H, this is a film made for a sceptical, transgressive generation. Still loose and sketchy in places though.
½ October 28, 2013
Hi. I'm a movie that tries way too hard. I'm very poorly made with hackneyed dialogue and hamfisted directing. I try to hide this by being semi-political and timely, when actually I'm more sophomoric and predictable.

Trite, you say? You betcha! I'm also way too over the top and ignore any semblance of realism. I guess I just need attention. Goddamn... I'm barely watchable.
October 25, 2013
Buffalo Soldiers is a darkly comic movie with fine performances but fails to evoke sympathy for for the anti-hero attitudes of the characters
½ July 7, 2013
Buffalo Soldiers is a decent film. It is about the criminal subculture operates among U.S. soldiers stationed in West Germany just before the fall of the Berlin wall. Joaquin Phoenix and Ed Harris give good performances. The screenplay is a little slow in places. Gregor Jordan did an alright job directing this movie. I liked this motion picture because of the drama.
½ June 7, 2013
Interesting film, although I don't really see it on a par with M*A*S*H, which was a much funnier film with a lot more to say. But this one was still entertaining, and did show th corruption in the military.
April 24, 2013
with some funny moments.. but in general quite boring movie..
½ May 5, 2012
Arrrrgggh...bland and boring
January 19, 2013
Talk about bad timing, the movie opened on September 9, 2 days before September 11, it killed all the chances this movie had if any, actually besides Joaquin's great performance, the story line is not much to write about.
March 11, 2010
Delightfully irreverent and sarcastic. I was very entertained. Joaquin is the man as usual.
November 8, 2007
A underrated darker-than-night satire that generates equal parts humor and tension and benefits from a sharply-written script. Unfairly maligned during its initial release as "anti-American" due to its less-than-positive take on certain aspects of the U.S. military (the original release date for this film was just days before the 09/11 attacks; not surprisingly, it sat on the shelf for a couple of years before it finally saw the light of day in 2003), this film has thankfully found an audience but its still relatively obscure. I would stop short of calling Buffalo Soldiers brilliant but it's still very funny and, like any good dark comedy, it manages to successfully cull most of its humor from less-than-savory material (people often get killed as part of the punchline to several of the movie's gags); and towards the second half of the film when the proceedings start to morph into more of a thriller, it manages to be suspenseful without completely jettisoning the more comedic material. To put it another way, try and imagine what the results would be if M*A*S*H were re-written and directed by someone like Quentin Tarantino and that should give you a fair approximation of what to expect here. By the admission of Aussie writer-director Gregor Jordan, who adapts Robert O'Connor's novel here (which I haven't yet read as of this writing), Buffalo Soldiers was intended to be a "blackly-comic Cold War thriller" and that is exactly how it comes across. The tone is pretty cynical (a fact that is reinforced by the often dark and gritty cinematography) but there are still plenty of laughs to be had, provided your expectations are in the right place.

The acting performances are solid all around. Joaquin Phoenix, who was fresh off of an Oscar nomination (his first of two to date) for his villainous role in Gladiator back when this film was originally due for release, isn't quite the standout here that he was in the 2000 Best Picture winner (or more recently in Walk The Line for which he earned the second nomination), but he's still good enough to sell us on Ray Elwood, the somewhat duplicitous but still likable protagonist in this film. His running voice-over commentary, in particular, is laced with just the right amount of scathing commentary and self-deprecation. The more interesting performances belong to Ed Harris (who plays against type as a rather spineless commanding officer) and Scott Glenn (who plays to type as the hard-nosed new commander who comes in to clean things up around the base). Glenn, in particular, is almost frightening with the kind of intensity he radiates as Sergeant Lee. If you wanna cross this guy, you'd better do it right! On the other hand, Harris is far more laid back that were used to seeing from him but he manages to pull of his part as the milquetoast Colonel Berman quite well, which is a testament to his range as an actor. Solid support is provided by Elizabeth Govern as Berman's adulterous wife, the underrated Anna Paquin, who plays Elwood's love interest and Sergeant Lee's daughter, Gabriel Mann who plays Elwood's roommate, and finally Leon and Michael Pena, who play Elwood's partners in crime.

The film's taut pacing is also worth mentioning; at just over an hour and a half, Buffalo Soldiers doesn't come close to wearing out its welcome and it manages to sustain it's momentum for nearly all of the running time. This is not a perfect movie by any means (in particular, the movie does fall prey to some rather unfortunate and easy-to predict "twists" near the end) but overall, it's an above-average comedy-thriller that has the capacity to entertain anyone who's willing to take a chance. It definitely deserves far more attention than it has gotten over the years.
September 6, 2012
Directed by Gregor Jordan (Two Hands (1999) and Ned Kelly (2003)), this is based on a book by 1993 novel by Robert O'Connor. This is an amusing black comedy which is cut from similar cloth to M*A*S*H (1970) and Catch-22 (1970), which shows what U.S. Soldiers do when there's no war to fight. It was delayed for two years, but it's a good satire showing a confused time in the world's history. It's 1989, and soldier Ray Elwood (Joaquin Phoenix) is station at an army barracks in West Germany, and he's bored. The Cold War with East Germany and the Soviets is nearly at an end, and there's no war to fight. So, he sells drugs on the black market, cooking heroin for the German Military Police. But, Elwood is posing as a model soldier, right under the nose of Colonel Berman (Ed Harris), whose wife (Elizabeth McGovern) is sleeping with Elwood. However, things take a change when Sergeant Robert E. Lee (Scott Glenn), takes command of Elwood's team, and punishes him. Things get worse when Elwood starts dating Lee's daughter Robyn (Anna Paquin), and a cache of weapons go missing. It's a good satire on war, best known for a tank going through a small German town, but it came perilously close to not being seen at all when 9/11 happened, and then producer FilmFour briefly went under. But, Phoenix has fun in the role of Elwood, and is able to keep his cool when shit happens in this barracks. Jordan should be making more films, he showed promise with this.
August 17, 2012
Un soldado condenado por el juez a cumplir servicio militar obligatorio que se las ha arreglado para hacer de (C)ste un floreciente mercado negro, en mayor medida para matar el aburrimiento que por ambición.
August 13, 2012
bija san uvjeren da nisan ovo gleda,al svako malo ovo mi je poznato pa ono mi je poznato i 15min od kraja skuzin da san ipak gleda :D
½ May 2, 2012
Fun soundtrack and an impressive cast of Joaquin Phoenix and Anna Paquin - but I lost interest in the story and its characters far too many times throughout the film...kind of a serious adaptation of Stripes and MASH.
Page 2 of 29