Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
59% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
42% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
83% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
89% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
34% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
—— Haven: Season 5
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— The League: Season 6
56% Legends: Season 1
24% The Mysteries of Laura: Season 1
59% Red Band Society: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Call Me Kuchu Reviews

Keith Staskiewicz
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The film is impassioned and powerful but not frenzied, riling the viewers' emotions without giving in to them itself.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: A-

October 4, 2013
Geoff Pevere
Globe and Mail
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Stirring, heartbreaking and thoroughly infuriating ...

Full Review Source: Globe and Mail | Original Score: 3/4

August 16, 2013
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Both Senyonjo and Kato light up the screen.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times | Original Score: 4/5

June 20, 2013
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic IconTop Critic

This alternately harrowing and inspirational doc puts a human face on the fight for gay rights in Uganda.

Full Review Source: Hollywood Reporter

June 14, 2013
Ella Taylor
NPR
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Horrific and uplifting ...

Full Review Source: NPR

June 14, 2013
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I'll be surprised if any other movie this year affects me as much.

Full Review Source: Salon.com

June 13, 2013
Stephen Holden
New York Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A scary but inspiring film with real heroes and villains.

Full Review Source: New York Times | Original Score: 5/5

June 13, 2013
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The very best - and, alas, the very worst - of human nature is captured in this heartbreaking and inspiring documentary from Katherine Fairfax Wright and Malika Zouhali-Worrall.

Full Review Source: New York Daily News | Original Score: 4/5

June 13, 2013
Mike D'Angelo
AV Club
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Apart from its laudable goal of raising awareness, the film doesn't have much to offer.

Full Review Source: AV Club | Original Score: C+

June 13, 2013
Ernest Hardy
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Equally gut-wrenching and inspiring, the documentary Call Me Kuchu beams right from Uganda, the global hypocenter in the ongoing and intensifying struggle over LGBT rights.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

June 11, 2013
Sam Adams
Time Out New York
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It's far too soon for a happy ending, but in praising Kato's bravery, Call Me Kuchu at least points to the potential for one.

Full Review Source: Time Out New York | Original Score: 4/5

June 11, 2013
Robert Koehler
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

While a local filmmaker's perspective may have brought more dimensions, the coverage of events here is impressive and on the mark.

Full Review Source: Variety

January 22, 2013
Ben Walters
Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic

[A] shocking, moving, enthralling and enraging doc ...

Full Review Source: Time Out | Original Score: 4/5

October 30, 2012
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile