Captain America: The Winter Soldier - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Captain America: The Winter Soldier Reviews

Page 1 of 558
Super Reviewer
½ December 3, 2014
I have never been able to hide my disdain for the first Captain America film, as its only purpose was to set up the backstory for "The Avengers." Besides that it was also really bad. The effects were sloppy, the nostalgia was off-putting, and the story and villain were lame. With the Russo brothers behind the wheel on this film, the action is ratcheted up quite a bit, and it's really quite entertaining and well-choreographed. The interchange between the characters is interesting, the conflict that furthers the plot is intriguing, and the mysterious winter soldier is both a complex villain and a surreptitious foil. The main villain is even complex and well played, brining political undertones to the narrative. The conspiracy concerning S.H.I.E.L.D. and the secretive Hydra makes for an intense power play between Captain America, Black Window, and the members of the elite organization. The plot swerves into the Bourne trilogy oeuvre for a while, but most of the film is pure superhero action. The thing that keeps this from being absolutely perfect is the same as the first film. The set up for the next "Avengers" film often leaves inconsistencies in the plot and a lack of resolution. Altogether this was a solid part of the "Avengers" canon and a decent set-up for the next film.
Super Reviewer
October 18, 2014
Pretty exciting although it would take a superhero to follow all the stuff going on at times. It's "in your face" Marvel....which is good. I'm just sayin'.
Super Reviewer
½ October 5, 2014
A winning sequel concerning the life of Steve Rogers, aka Captain America (Chris Evans), and how he tries to continue to conform to society in Washington D.C. However, when government actions force him into action again once Nick Fury's (Samuel L. Jackson) life is threatened by mysterious forces, he must abandon his hopes of ever living a normal life. Evans is once again a fantastic pick to play the role of Captain America, Scarlett Johansson is also great as Natasha Romanoff, and Robert Redford is a lot of fun as the villain. It is a typical summer popcorn movie that does not try to be anything special, but the plot is just so much better organized than the first film, with some nice twists thrown in for good measure. It does not come close to any kind of greatness, but it is a solid movie that deserves a view.
hunterjt13
Super Reviewer
½ September 7, 2014
Cap battles enemies with SHEILD with a new sidekick.
The most disappointing thing about this new wave of comic book films is how little substance remains behind the well-choreographed fights and ram-bam-slam-no-thank-you-ma'am special effects extravaganzas. Just on the basis of the premise -- a definition of super-hero -- means that the writer can investigate what we mean by "hero" and what we should celebrate. And as a character Cap could work in that vein, but he needs to be challenged. He needs to rise above a resistance and emerge from a conflict ideals stronger because they've been questioned.
Unlike the first installment of this franchise, this script gives Chris Evans the opportunity to play a character in conflict, but Evans's acting is like the special effects that surround him: fake and glitzy and false. What results is a character emerging from a conflict unsullied, unchallenged, and impermeable. The film could be a debate about security versus freedom, and this theme is buried deep in the film, but whether it's Evans's performance or the compromises necessary to get a film this big made, any theme of substance disappears, and Cap remains just as he was before the film's inciting action.
Overall, this film deserves credit for its potential but blame for all that it doesn't fulfill.
Super Reviewer
½ April 6, 2013
It beats the original in every way possible. A fine and spectacular example of what a superhero sequel should be. A stylish, whip-smart, intelligent and wickedly entertaining gargantuan thrill-machine. A spectacular action-packed adventure that is bigger, bolder, more epic and explosive than the first. It's a very entertaining and very well-directed movie. Directors, Joe and Anthony Russo make a great example of old-school conspiracy thriller mixed with modern day technology and a storyline that is more complex. compelling, edgy and utterly bad-ass. The best stand alone Marvel movie since the original Iron Man. It's just a really great movie. A roller-coaster of tremendous special effects and sizzling non-stop action. A gripping and mind-blowing great time at the movies. Chris Evans shines once again in the role of Cap, he gives a inspiring, good-natured and strong performance. Robert Redford is terrific. Scarlett Johansson is excellent. Frank Grillo, Sebastian Stan and Anthony Mackie are bad-ass all the way. An awesome and heart-pounding movie that's a real heat-seeking missal of excitement.
TomBowler
Super Reviewer
½ August 11, 2014
Perhaps the greatest achievement in a movie full of them is that The Winter Soldier makes Captain America more than just a super gymnast, it makes him a person. Full review later.
Super Reviewer
½ August 5, 2014
All this talk of the Avengers gets me thinking...where is Captain Britain Marvel?? Yes that's right my fellow movie forum dwellers and review hobgoblins, there is a character called Captain Britain and he is or has been part of the Avengers, amongst other super teams. Wouldn't it be kinda cool to see good old Captain USA fighting alongside Captain UK huh. Captain America fighting Hydra whilst Captain Britain battles all those bastards that take up two spaces in your local Tesco car park, don't get me started on the state of our roads! but I digress...

So whilst the rest of the Avenger team is...somewhere where they can't be reached apparently, the Captain and Black Widow must virtually save the entire world on their own. S.H.I.E.L.D. has been comprised as Hydra slowly takes over, no one can be trusted, not even the top levels. Three huge Star Destroyers are being finished and prepped ready to sale over the world and bring order out of chaos, but are they controlled by the good guys or the bad guys?

The very first action scene in this film reinforces some issues I have with this comicbook universe (not being a fanboy). A S.H.I.E.L.D. ship has been hijacked by French (French?) terrorists and are holding hostages. The Captain turns up with Widow and the S.T.R.I.K.E. team but basically goes off and takes down half the terrorists single handedly. Black Widow takes down plenty of guys too but these two simply exterminate them all without breaking sweat or having any makeup get smudged, how is there any crime in this universe when these heroes are so invincible?! Seriously the Captain could of killed everyone on the ship without help...also does that boomerang shield have a homing device or something?

What I did like about this film is the fact its a bit of espionage and all out action blended together with some political intrigue of sorts. This does make for a rousing experience no doubt, the other thing I liked was the surprising sidestepping of all out CGI set pieces and the actual use of real time stunts and destruction, plenty of it too. If you like destruction porn, mainly car destruction porn, then you're gonna like this movie that's for sure. I haven't seen so much vehicle ruination for a long time, explosions out the yang! guns fights blazing, fisticuffs errr fighting and a reasonable amount of violence too! They don't shy away from people getting gunned down which was cool, up and close neck breaking is hidden from view for the most part though.

You certainly get what you came for with this movie I kid you not, in fact Black Widow kinda upstages the Captain if you ask me...despite her iffy looking dye job and heavy tan makeup. Dunno what's happened there, in the first movie she has curly hair and is quite pale, obviously wasn't sexy enough first time around. I really don't wanna say it but at one point I actually thought there was too much action! yes that's right too much. There is so much stuff getting blown to pieces and so much extreme destruction...alongside characters that have wing jet packs and metal bionic arms, you could almost be forgiven for thinking you were watching the new G.I. Joe movie. The whole thing really looked more like a big toy advert than a Marvel flick at times, luckily the sight of the Captain keeps you in check.

After seeing a multitude of vehicles getting blown to shit we eventually reach the finale where basically...three huge Helicarriers must be blown to shit. I gotta say I agree with Robert Redford's character when this happens, it is such a waste of tech! geez! couldn't they try and just land them or something. The other thing that made me laugh at this point was the fact they are trying to stop these Helicarriers targeting and killing thousands of people. Yet when they all get blasted to pieces and come crashing down wouldn't that still kinda kill a hell of a lot of people on the ground? Sure not as many if Hydra's plan had come to fruition but still!

I'm not too sure how Marvel do it but somehow they are able to make a movie work with multiple characters right now, DC and Sony have kinda failed as have other folk in the past but Marvel has got this thing down to a tee. I can't really fault the cast here, everyone has good screen time, we know their performances now, the new guy portrayed by Stan looks a bit cliched with his bionic arm as does Falcon but hey ho its a comicbook adaptation. Cards on the table though...I thought Redford was a bit weak, didn't quite seem comfortable in his role, possibly his age.

So yeah there is still an abundance of CGI tomfoolery going on here but there is also some great old fashioned stunts and wreckin' going on too, so kudos. As usual the finale does tend to lose its grip a bit, things get a tad stupid like Falcon jumping out of a tall story building right into the waiting chopper below, yeah the characters reference how crazy it is which is cool...but it still seems too much despite everything else going on. Oh and surviving that fall with the parachute at the last minute? errrr! Also why do those Helicarriers have those glass dome things on their underside? and why would they house the most important electrical parts of the carrier (targeting system for one). While we're down here how the hell did the good guys know which one of the those electrical circuits to remove and replace??! there were loads of them in rows all looking the same! talk about a fiddly situation that might cause a panic attack sheesh!

The only real bit of action that didn't look too good for me was the short sequence where the Captain escapes from Triskelion and has to overcome one of those Sulaco drop ship things. It all looked a bit like a videogame sequence there I think, but there's always gonna be some hokey looking CGI in these films.

Some nice twists which I'm sure everybody knows about now, some setups for future adventures and new characters, two end credit scenes which poke at more crossovers and new characters. Hell its everything we've now come to expect from a standard Marvel superhero experience. This movie was on fire! it doesn't stop for a breather at all, devastation piled on top of obliteration. In the end virtually everything has been blown up, all that's left are the dark clouds of smouldering debris.
Super Reviewer
½ October 28, 2013
I didn't like the casting choice of Chris Evans as Cap and so was prepared to write off this arm of the ever expanding Marvel Universe. Now I have to eat my words. Storyline and presentation here are exemplary, and Cap begins to feel like a character worthy of his own merit.
With the Avengers a solid success and now the separate character franchises thriving one can only wonder how long can Marvel continue this Murderer's Row of multimillion dollar entertainment? Spider Man, Iron Man, Thor, Hulk ... they lack two things: a female and a minority lead (before someone else does it ... and someone will try). And then total market domination/saturation.
And the distinguished competition, longtime leaders in the field with years of top dog behind it? What about them?
ajaymuthecooldevils
Super Reviewer
July 20, 2014
I definitely can see why the critics and the audiences love it, Captain America has gone rough! Not only this is the shocking story in Marvel Cinematic Universe, but it completely change the way MCU works and people definitely want to see what will happen in 'The Avengers 2' in the following year.. For me, the bad-ass in this movie is the Russo's brothers with their rough directing style with the help of a great script to make one of the best superhero movies ever made.. And with some help from new cast such as Anthony Mackie, Scarlett Johansson, and Robert Redford, and quite performance from Samuel L. Jackson and Cobie Smulders with the main character still in the hands of Chris Evans and Sebastian Stan, 'Captain America : The Winter Soldier' definitely one of the best superheroes movie ever made.. But the question is why I only gave it 4 stars? Well, because movie about politics definitely not my thing so this is the best review I can give..
Movie Monster
Super Reviewer
July 6, 2014
After last year's Iron Man 3 and Thor: The Dark World, Phase Two of the Marvel Cinematic Universe unveils its third entry with Captain America: The Winter Soldier. The film serves as a sequel to Captain America: The First Avenger as well as an epilogue to the events of The Avengers and a lead-in to the events to that film's sequel which will be released next year. Captain America would have to be my second favorite Avenger. I say that because it's a tie between him and the Hulk. I really enjoyed the first Captain America movie and loved his presence in The Avengers. It's obvious that I was really looking forward to his next solo outing. After months of anticipation, I was really satisfied with this sequel.

Two years after the events in The Avengers, Steve Rogers a.k.a. Captain America is now working for S.H.I.E.L.D. as well as trying to adjust to modern life. If you were to awaken after being frozen for seventy years, you would have to catch up on a lot of things. He and Black Widow is the people that S.H.I.E.L.D. sends in order to carry out dangerous missions. When S.H.I.E.L.D. comes under attack from by a mysterious enemy known as The Winter Soldier, it's up to Cap, Black Widow, and the Falcon to take down The Winter Soldier as well as discover the dirty secrets the organization they work for holds.

Many people have praised this film for its political themes. To be honest, politics are not my thing. As I was walking into this movie, I was wondering if I would appreciate the political themes or they would just bore me. As a matter of fact, the political stuff kept me intrigued. The film brought up some issues that relevant today such as military paranoia and foreign policy. These two things made for an intriguing plot. If anything, the movie is a political thriller that just so happens to have superheroes in it. The film's plot is complex but it's easy to follow. There are also a lot of twists and turns that are sure to surprise the viewers. The film's first action sequence immediately grabs the audiences' attentions and prepares for the thrilling story that follows.

The cast in this film all does a good job. This is Chris Evans' third time playing the title character and by now, he has complete confidence in his role. A large portion of the film deals with Steve trying to find his place in the modern world. He sometimes feels lost in this world and you can't help but feel for him. I just love the patriotic, good-natured attitude Evans brings to the character. But Cap isn't always the all-American nice guy throughout this movie. There are times where he has to question his morality and step out of his comfort zone in order to defend the country he cares so much for. It made the character of Captain America a lot more fascinating. While I know that Cap has a lot of fans, I always felt that he was in the shadow of some of the other Avengers. This movie will make you appreciate the character even more.

Scarlett Johansson reprises her role of Black Widow and tags along with our main hero. Scarlett Johansson has always been great as Black Widow and she didn't disappoint here. Anthony Mackie plays Sam Wilson aka The Falcon and I really enjoyed his performance. By the end of the movie, I came to admire the character of The Falcon. I really hope we see him again in future films. I'm not the biggest fan of Nick Fury but I think Samuel L. Jackson did his performance as the character here. I grew to like him a lot more in this movie thanks to his performance. His character was well written. Robert Redford was a welcome addition to the cast and he did a great job. The person who played the Winter Soldier (it's best that you don't know who it is) did a fantastic job. I always felt that the Marvel Cinematic Universe lacked memorable villains. The only memorable villain in this franchise in my opinion is Loki. The Winter Soldier is the best villain in this franchise since Loki. He doesn't talk a whole lot but he is able to come off as menacing. I was on the edge of my seat every time he came on screen. I enjoyed Emily VanCamp in her small role as Sharon Carter. She's a good actress and a pretty one too. I liked her character and I hope we see more of her. The last cast member I want to talk about was Frank Grillo. He played a corrupt S.H.I.E.L.D. operative named Brock Rumlow. I thought Grillo did a good job playing an unlikable character. I have a feeling he will be a villain in a future film. When he came on screen, I felt like punching him in the face. I think the writers wanted to create a character that the audiences come to loathe. If that was their intention, then they succeeded.

The directors, Joe and Anthony Russo, decided to use practical effects for some of the action scenes as oppose to CGI. I thought this was a great decision. The action scenes were planned out very well and there was some impressive fighting and stunt work. Only the climax looked like it relied on CGI. The Russo Brothers establish a tone that is different from the first film. While Joe Johnston gave a great period piece with the first film, the Russo Brothers do a great job bringing Captain America into modern times. The script was also solid. The dialogue was sharp, the comedy was witty, and there is a good amount of emotion thrown in.

In my opinion, Captain America: The Winter Soldier is the best film in Phase Two of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I was impressed with the film's engaging plot, the performances from the cast, and the action sequences. The events in this film make a big impact on the Marvel Cinematic Universe and I can't wait to see how things unfold in this franchise. There are scenes during and after the credits that are sure to make Marvel fans hungry for more. Captain America: The Winter Solider is an entertaining superhero film with brains and brawn.

"I'm sorry. Did I step on your moment?"
Super Reviewer
½ May 13, 2014
The newest installment in the Marvel franchise offers a political edge and added suspense, but the overstuffed third act detracted from what seemed to make Winter Soldier a more unique Marvel film, and devolved into the same tried formula of more explosions, more shaky cam.
Super Reviewer
½ May 21, 2014
The best compliment I can pay "Captain America: The Winter soldier" is that it's so good and such a singular effort, that I was able to forget about it's mass-market, franchise connotations and enjoy it on it's own terms as an expertly staged political action thriller. That's not nearly enough praise for arguably Marvel Studio's best picture, both pre or post "Avengers." Oh, and yes... it's better than "The Avengers," and an overwhelming majority of modern action movies.
Super Reviewer
½ April 4, 2014
My favorite Marvel movie
Super Reviewer
½ May 17, 2014
First, I have to admit something: I have never been a fan of Captain America. In fact, he was on my list of lame superheroes, right next to Red Tornado and Bouncing Boy.

However, before anyone reading this ponders finding out where I live and plotting my demise, I also have to say that my opinion of Cap has "evolved," mostly thanks to Captain America: The First Avenger.

The First Avenger, with its old-fashioned cinematic gimmicks and cartoonish setups, took Cap to his comic book roots and developed his noble persona the way Jack Kirby had envisioned. I also loved the way the movie felt like a Saturday matinee serial. Plus, who would've thought Chris Evans could play Steve Rogers so organically?

Its sequel, however, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, is the exact opposite of the original, cinematically speaking. There is nothing old-fashioned or cartoonish about this one. In this film, Cap has been remade, modernized, and elevated to a James Bond-type character.

This sequel improves upon its predecessor by giving us a vibrant, fresh, and energetic political thriller disguised as a comic-book film. I dare to say that this might be one of the best superhero films of all time.

The plot revolves around the idea that S.H.I.E.L.D. has been compromised and that no one within the organization can be trusted. I wish I could say more, but I don't want to spoil it for those who have not seen it yet.

The action scenes, flowing to Alan Silvestri's rousing score, are exciting, flawlessly orchestrated, and - most importantly - never feel exhausting. At one point I thought the tension was going to give me seizures. Two actions sequences in particular stood out to me: one inside a glass elevator and the first car chase.

The cast never strikes a wrong note, and it is highly satisfying to see Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) and Maria Hill (Cobie Smulders) spring into action repeatedly. Unsurprisingly, Robert Redford, in an unusual performance, almost steals the show as Secretary Pierce.

It is almost incredible that this breathless film blossomed under the tutelage of directors Anthony and Joe Russo, whose credits to date only include the film You, Me and Dupree and several episodes of Community. I guess that explains Captain America: The Winter Soldier's sense of humor.

Make sure to stay seated for the mid-credits and end-credits scenes. Also, bring a towel: you, and those next to you, will thank me later!

Captain America is now officially off of my "lame superheroes list" and I have just added him to my "every-superhero-deserves-a-second-chance list," right next to The Atom (Ray Palmer) and Blue Beetle (Jaime Reyes). Maybe Cap will be upgraded to one of my favorite superheroes after Captain America 3!
Super Reviewer
½ April 1, 2014
Alright, so I enjoyed Winter Soldier quite a bit even though I'm not a huge fan of Captain America and the first film didn't quite enthrall me. This one was a certain improvement but there were so many suspension of disbelief moments that I just couldn't enjoy it as much as I could. Seriously, Captain America nor his buddies are immortal and there is no way they could survive half the action scenes in this movie. That being said, I did think the story being told was smart and relevant. Overall, an enjoyable action superhero movie.
sanjurosamurai
Super Reviewer
April 30, 2014
fantastic. with this film captain america has cemented itself, at least until the next avengers film, as the best of the marvel franchises. excellent use of characters and blend of action and storyline. i have some doubts about where the story will head next, but for now i can safely say that this is one of marvel's best movies.
Super Reviewer
April 28, 2014
The best part of "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" is the humorous chemistry between Chris Evans and Anthony Mackie. The provenance of the Winter Soldier isn't that complex or daunting, Scarlett Johansson as platonic, hottie-with-a-body is a bit bland, and Cobie Smulders is even blander with Maria Hill's sensible parade-rainers and one nonsensical attempt at a joke.
MANUGINO
Super Reviewer
½ December 3, 2013
In heroes we trust.

Very Good Marvel Movie! First off, the action and fight scenes in the movie are just awesome and there is plenty of action to keep you entertained throughout the entire movie. There is also enough humor to balance all this. The characters all had their own amazing moments and the acting is decent as well. You get to see more of Nick Fury, and he was awesome in this. Black Widow is used much more in this movie and as well as being badass, she brings out more of the Captain's story. Sam Wilson (the Falcon) is great and is involved in some great action scenes. The villains in this movie were awesome as well. Quite enjoyed the story as well. There were a few twists; some unexpected, some expected. And the reveal of the unexpected twists in the final third were epic. The story is not just about Captain America and the Winter Soldier, there are darker forces at play and causes the Captain to ask dangerous questions. This movie is very entertaining, the story is decent, the ending is awesome and satisfying and I would recommend watching this. Makes for a decent political thriller as well.

For Steve Rogers, awakening after decades of suspended animation involves more than catching up on pop culture; it also means that this old school idealist must face a world of subtler threats and difficult moral complexities. That comes clear when Director Nick Fury is killed by the mysterious assassin, the Winter Soldier, but not before warning Rogers that SHIELD has been subverted by its enemies. When Rogers acts on Fury's warning to trust no one there, he is branded as a traitor by the organization. Now a fugitive, Captain America must get to the bottom of this deadly mystery with the help of the Black Widow and his new friend, The Falcon. However, the battle will be costly for the Sentinel of Liberty, with Rogers finding enemies where he least expects them while learning that the Winter Soldier looks disturbingly familiar.
skactopus
Super Reviewer
April 20, 2014
Anthony and Joe Russo take it to the skies with Captain America: The Winter Soldier.Coming in at well over 2 hours, the mix of action and story works well from start to finish. The plot details reveal themselves as needed and the historical pieces of the story successfully mix in the grand scheme of things.The action is nicely choreographed and topped with some excellent CG. There is very little, if any, slow motion sequences when it comes to the action and this is a huge plus, leaving a good viewing experience.Chris Evans and Sebastian Stan are good counterparts for each other. Samuel L. Jackson has a little too much screen, while Cobie Smulders doesn't have enough. Anthony Mackie and Scarlett Johansson have solid supporting roles to work with.Captain America: The Winter Soldier exceeds expectations for a superhero action adventure. Easily recommendable.
Bathsheba Monk
Super Reviewer
April 16, 2014
Great action movie. My "Room 101" (for those of you familiar with "1984") is that the guys in the white hats turn out to be the bad guys and there's no where to hide. Besides the great action, there is a really sly heart-stopping message that everything you put on-line marks you as an enemy of the state who will be eliminated in order to achieve a peaceful coherent state. In the days of NSA listening to everyone's peevish rants, this idea isn't far-fetched: it's chilling. One other thing: this is an extremely violent movie and there were about 10 kids under the age of 13 in the theater (it was a small theater in the middle of nowhere and there were only about 10 adults total as well), but if anyone is wondering where kids get ideas about shoot-em-ups in real life, you don't have to go much further than the entertainment their parents allow them to watch. There's probably an accompanying video game too.
Page 1 of 558